Dirk Alvermann – Algeria
224 pages, 11 x 18 cm , 232 g.
Dirk Alvermann – Algeria
(English edition)
Was €18.00 €7.95
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
When he went to Algeria in the 1950s Dirk Alvermann was only eighteen, a rebellious West German teenager thrilled by the struggle for freedom by the Algerian people against French colonial rule. Together with a unit of the Algerian liberation army, he found a way to cross the hermetically sealed border from Tunisia into the Eastern Algerian war zone, determined to keep a photographic record of the events unfolding there. After his return to West Germany he set about planning the publication of his work in the most accessible form available.The book should go from hand to hand like a political manifesto.

In 1950 German publishing house Rowohlt had introduced its pocket book series, known by the name rororo – an ideal format for the book Alvermann intended to produce. At first, Rowohlt agreed to publish the book but later canceled it when any partisanship with the Algerian resistance seemed inappropriate. The book was finally published by the East-Berlin publishing house Rütten & Loening in 1960 as a hardcover, contrary to Alvermann’s vision for the project.

Steidl’s new edition of this important and classic book gives voice to the artist’s original intentions, adopting the rororo format and softcover finish. The photographs are accompanied by historical documents, quotes taken from French military sources, and from pamphlets, newspapers and magazines. More than fifty years after its first publication, the book is as relevant as ever as it tells the story of a people rising up against oppression and despotism: against European colonialism or, like today, against homemade dictatorial regimes.
PublisherSteidl
Year
CoverSoftcover
LanguageEnglish
 More
ISBN978-3-86930-255-3
Illustrationswith 162 b/w ills
Article IDart-11041

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

Bildreportagen und Theaterfotografie
€29.80 €19.95  
The Legacy of War
€58.00 €25.00  
(Deutsche Ausgabe)
€18.00 €5.00  
€45.00 €10.00  
1919 – 1953
€28.00 €9.95  
403 Polaroids with 36 Stories
€44.00  
All - Americia XIII
€98.00 €28.00

Dirk Alvermann – Algeria
224 Seiten, 11 x 18 cm , 232 g.
Dirk Alvermann – Algeria
(English edition)
Statt 18,00 € 7,95 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Dirk Alvermann war ein rebellischer junger Mann, als er sich in den 1950er Jahren, begeistert vom Freiheitskampf des algerischen Volkes, von Tunesien aus mit der algerischen Befreiungsarmee in das ostalgerische Kriegsgebiet durchschlug, um das dortige Geschehen fotografisch zu dokumentieren.

Zurück in Westdeutschland wollte Alvermann seine Bilder möglichst vielen Menschen zugänglich machen, und dafür war das Format der seit 1950 erscheinenden rowohlts-rotationsromane ideal. Eine Publikationszusage des Rowohlt Verlags wurde jedoch zurückgezogen. Der Algerien-Krieg und der Kampf der algerischen Befreiungsfront FLN war ein zu heikles Thema für die Adenauer-Republik, die sich die deutschfranzösische Aussöhnung auf die Fahnen geschrieben hatte. Das Buch erschien schließlich 1960 im Ost-Berliner Verlag Rütten & Loening, allerdings nicht in der von Alvermann gewünschten Taschenbuchausgabe, sondern als Hardcover.

Die nun vorliegende Neuauflage von Algerien geht auf die ursprüngliche Idee des Fotografen zurück: Das Buch ist im traditionellen rororo-Format gestaltet, hat den gewünschten Kartoneinband und entspricht im Inhalt bis ins Detail dem ersten Entwurf. Politische Zeitdokumente, Zitate aus französischen militärischen Quellen, aus Flugschriften, Zeitungen und Magazinen begleiteten die Fotografien. Das Buch ist heute aktueller denn je, denn es erzählt vom Aufbegehren eines Volkes gegen Unterdrückung und Willkür: sei es gegen den europäischen Kolonialismus, sei es wie heute gegen hausgemachte diktatorische Regime.
VerlagSteidl
Jahr
EinbandartBroschur
SpracheEnglisch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-86930-255-3
Abbildungenmit 162 s/w Abb
Museum / OrtGöttingen
Artikel IDart-11041

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

The wonderful years of photographer James Abbe
40,00 € 20,00 €  
The Photographs
40,00 € 15,00 €  
Bildreportagen und Theaterfotografie
29,80 € 19,95 €  
38,00 € 14,95 €  
75,00 €  
The Legacy of War
58,00 € 28,00 €  
The Afghanistan Wars 1993–2012
78,00 € 29,95 €  
(Deutsche Ausgabe)
18,00 € 5,00 €  
35,00 € 15,00 €  
Romancière
15,00 €  
45,00 € 15,00 €  
(French edition)
55,00 € 20,00 €