Migropolis – Venice/Atlas of a Global Situation
1344 pages, 18.4 x 25.5 cm , 3955 g.
Migropolis – Venice/Atlas of a Global Situation
Was €128.00 €98.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
In winter 2006, under the aegis of philosopher Wolfgang Scheppe, a collective of students from theIUAV University in Venice fanned out to subject their city to a process of forensic structural mapping. Out of this field work, conducted in the Situationist tradition, there developed a three-year urban project that produced an enormous archive comprising tens of thousands of photographs, case studies, movement profiles, and statistic data.

In this archive, Venice, the place of longing at the junction of three migration corridors, emerges as a front-line European city and an exemplary prototype of the increasingly globalized city in which a decimated inner-city population meets armies of tourists and a parallel economy supported by illegal immigrants.

In a map cleverly branching out into essays, visual arguments, data visualizations, and interviews, the globalized territory of Venice is microscopically dissected and defined as an urban metaphor: the city becomes an “atlas of a global situation.”

"In the present-day reality, the city's unique history is a mere sales pitch for local tourism. Its laws, however, which affect the daily lives of everyone who still lives in Venice, are entirely determined by the mechanisms of globalization. Even though traces and signs of this are omnipresent, it is kept out of sight of the tourist. That's why this work is both a visual education, as well as a map, for today's flaneur."
Wolfgang Scheppe
PublisherHatje Cantz
Year
CoverHardcover in slipcase
LanguageEnglish
 More
ISBN978-3-7757-2485-2
Illustrationswith 2078 ills & 158 notational systems
Article IDart-12542
More books from Wolfgang Scheppe view all

 

Other books with these keywords:

Kunst. Wahrheit. Wirklichkeit
€34.00 €8.00  
Gebaute Träume und Sehnsüchte
€45.00  
Sammlung Graber / Graber Collection
€39.80 €19.95  
€32.00  
25 Years in 200 Pivotal Artworks
€69.95 €39.80  
40th Anniversary Edition
€25.00  
42 Jahre unabhängiger Film
€19.80  
The Art of Everyday Life in the DPRK
€29.95 €19.80

Migropolis – Venice/Atlas of a Global Situation
1344 Seiten, 18,4 x 25,5 cm , 3955 g.
Migropolis – Venice/Atlas of a Global Situation
Statt 128,00 € 98,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Im Winter 2006 schwärmte ein Kollektiv von Studenten der IUAV Universität in Venedig aus, um ihre Stadt unter der Ägide des Philosophen Wolfgang Scheppe einer forensisch-strukturellen Kartierung zu unterziehen. Aus diesen Feldforschungen in der Tradition des Situationismus entwickelte sich ein urbanistisches Projekt, in dessen dreijährigem Verlauf ein gigantisches Archiv aus zehntausenden Fotos, Fallstudien, Bewegungsprofilen und statistischen Daten entstand.

Der Sehnsuchtsort Venedig - am Kreuzungspunkt dreier Korridore der Migration - erscheint darin als europäische Frontstadt und exemplarischer Prototyp für die Eskalation der globalisierten Stadt, in der eine dezimierte innerstädtische Bevölkerung mit dem Millionenheer des Tourismus und einer Parallelökonomie illegaler Immigranten zusammentrifft.

In einer raffiniert verzweigten Landkarte aus Essays, Bildargumentationen, Datenvisualisierungen und Interviews wird das globalisierte Territorium Venedigs mikroskopisch seziert und als urbanes Gleichnis erklärt: Die Stadt wird zum »Atlas einer globalen Situation«.

Prämiert von der Stiftung Buchkunst: Eines der schönsten Bücher Deutschlands.


"In der heutigen Wirklichkeit der Stadt ist ihre historische Besonderheit nurmehr ein Verkaufsargument der lokalen Tourismuswirtschaft. Ihre Gesetze aber werden im Alltag aller, die in Venedig noch leben, ganz von den Mechanismen der Globalisierung bestimmt. Deren Spuren und Zeichen, obgleich omnipräsent, bleiben dem touristischen Blick verschlossen. Deshalb ist dieses Werk auch eine Sehschule und Landkarte für den Flaneur der Gegenwart."
Wolfgang Scheppe
VerlagHatje Cantz
Jahr
EinbandartFester Einband im Schuber
SpracheEnglisch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-7757-2485-2
Abbildungenmit 2078 Abb & 158 Diagrammdarstellungen
Artikel IDart-12542

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

Cristiano Bianchin, Yoichi Ohira, Laura de Santillana
49,80 € 19,95 €  
29,80 € 9,95 €  
Amerikanische Kunst aus Schweizer Privatsammlungen und dem Kunstmuseum Winterthur
49,00 € 10,00 €  
58,00 € 29,95 €  
250,00 € 99,95 €  
Experiencing the art of the 21st century
28,00 € 9,95 €  
Zeichnungen der Minimal Art aus der Sammlung des Museum of Modern Art, New York
25,00 € 10,00 €  
Architecture & Identity
25,00 € 5,00 €  
The ICP Triennial
45,00 € 14,95 €  
Kunst und Pressebild, von Warhol bis Tillmans / Art and the press image, from Warhol to Tillmans
39,80 € 19,95 €  
(Deutsche Ausgabe)
70,00 € 19,95 €