Gustave Courbet
200 pages, 25.4 x 31 cm , 1320 g.
Gustave Courbet
(Deutsche Ausgabe)
Was €49.80 €19.95
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
The life and work of Gustave Courbet (1819–1877) were defined by his rejection of the academic painting tradition and conservative politics in France. His work marks the beginning of a development that continues to shape our understanding of art today.

Courbet’s ability to play with the expectations of the viewer, his accents of color, his use of hidden references to clas­sical iconography, and, above all, the emphasis that he placed on his individuality as an artist have made him a key figure in the period of transition from tradi­tional to modern painting.

His famous work, L’origine du monde (The Origin of the World, 1866), is the focus of this opulent volume, and it is framed by no less spectacular self-portraits, depictions of women, land­scapes, seascapes, and winter images dating from later in his career. Examining the broad spectrum of Courbet’s oeuvre, the publication includes the most recent research on the artist’s strategy of ambiguity and his revolutionary use of color.
EditorUlf Küster
PublisherHatje Cantz
Year
CoverHardcover
LanguageGerman
 More
ISBN978-3-7757-3862-0
Illustrationswith 131 col. ills
ContributorsStéphane Guégan, Michel Hilaire, James H. Rubin et al.
Type of bookExhib'publication
Museum / PlaceFondation Beyeler
Article IDart-14685
More books from Gustave Courbet view all

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

(English edition)
€49.80 €20.00  
€29.95 €12.95  
George Caleb Bingham and the River
€38.00 €10.00  
€55.00 €25.00  
€55.00 €25.00  
€38.00 €17.95  
Das Rätsel der »Schleuse im Tal von Optevoz«
€21.90 €5.00  
Erotische Aquarelle | Aquarelles érotiques
€39.80 €19.80  
Complete Paintings 1886-1890
€85.00 €45.00

Gustave Courbet
200 Seiten, 25,4 x 31 cm , 1320 g.
Gustave Courbet
(Deutsche Ausgabe)
Statt 49,80 € 19,95 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Leben und Œuvre von Gustave Courbet (1819–1877) stehen ganz im Zeichen der Auflehnung gegen die akademische Maltradition sowie die konservative Politik in Frankreich und so am Anfang einer Entwicklung, die bis heute unser Kunstverständnis prägt.

Courbets Spiel mit den Erwartungen des Betrachters, seine Akzentuierung der Farbe und die versteckten Bezüge seiner Werke zur klassischen Ikonografie der Kunstgeschichte, vor allem aber die Betonung seiner Individualität als Künstler machen ihn zu einer Schlüsselfigur im Übergang von der Tradition zur Moderne.

Sein berühmtes Gemälde L’origine du monde (1866) bildet den Mittelpunkt des vorliegenden opulenten Bandes, gerahmt von nicht minder spektakulären Selbstbildnissen, Frauendarstellungen sowie Landschaften, Seestücken und späten Winterbildern. So wird Courbets Schaffen in seinem gesamten Spektrum sichtbar und vor dem Hintergrund neuester Forschungen zur Strategie der Mehrdeutigkeit und dem revolutionären Umgang mit Farbe besprochen.
HerausgeberUlf Küster
VerlagHatje Cantz
Jahr
EinbandartFester Einband
SpracheDeutsch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-7757-3862-0
Abbildungenmit 131 farb. Abb
Beiträge vonStéphane Guégan, Michel Hilaire, James H. Rubin et al.
BuchtypAusst'publikation
Museum / OrtFondation Beyeler
Artikel IDart-14685
Weitere Bücher von Gustave Courbet alle ansehen

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

(English edition)
49,80 € 20,00 €  
29,95 € 12,95 €  
George Caleb Bingham and the River
38,00 € 10,00 €  
(3 vols.)
400,00 € 200,00 €  
55,00 € 25,00 €  
38,00 € 17,95 €  
Das Rätsel der »Schleuse im Tal von Optevoz«
21,90 € 5,00 €  
Erotische Aquarelle | Aquarelles érotiques
39,80 € 19,80 €  
48,00 € 24,00 €  
Complete Paintings 1886-1890
85,00 € 45,00 €