John Baldessari – The Städel Paintings
176 pages, 28.5 x 28.5 cm , 1494 g.
John Baldessari – The Städel Paintings
Was €45.00 €19.90
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
John Baldessari is an important American conceptual artists and the last member of the American post-war avant-garde. His large collages, created for the Frankfurt exhibition, draw on masterpieces at the Städel, from Lucas Cranach the Elder to Maria Lassnig. A multifaceted opposition and juxtaposition of old and new art is revealed by the texts and photographs.

By destroying all of his paintings created from 1953 to 1966 in 1970, John Baldessari (*1931) paved the way for an independent and unmistakeable pictorial style between painting and photography, text and image. He employs classic Modernist pictorial strategies such as montage and the integration of everyday elements in order to confront these with artistic practices of the post-war avant-gardes, such as discourses on consumerism and the media.

Baldessari intertwines media and materials and thereby combines entirely distinct groups of artistic subjects. In the process, the unambiguousness of the pictorial language has given way to a multi-layered readability.
EditorMartin Engler
PublisherHirmer
Year
CoverHardcover
LanguageEnglish, German
 More
ISBN978-3-941399-53-2
Type of bookExhib'publication
Museum / PlaceStädel Museum, Frankfurt am Main
Article IDart-15720

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

Werke 1980-2008
€39.80 €20.00  
€38.00 €10.00  
Arnulf Rainer, Dieter Roth & die Wiener Künstlerbohème der Siebziger
€28.00 €10.00  
Published on the occasion of the exhibition "Archive"
€38.00 €10.00  
€810.50 €195.00  
(English edition)
€39.80

John Baldessari – The Städel Paintings
176 Seiten, 28,5 x 28,5 cm , 1494 g.
John Baldessari – The Städel Paintings
Statt 45,00 € 9,95 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
John Baldessari ist einer der wichtigsten Vertreter der amerikanischen Konzeptkunst. Seine anlässlich der Frankfurter Ausstellung entstehenden großformatigen Bildcollagen greifen Meisterwerke des Städels von Lucas Cranach d. Ä. bis Maria Lassnig auf. In Kombination von Text und Fotografie wird ein vielschichtiges Gegen- und Miteinander alter wie neuer Kunst sichtbar.

Indem John Baldessari (* 1931) alle seine zwischen 1953 und 1966 entstandenen Gemälde 1970 vernichtete, ebnete er den Weg für einen neuen Bildbegriff. In unverwechselbarer Verknüpfung von Malerei und Fotografie, Text und Bild verwendet er, Bildstrategien der klassischen Moderne wie der Montage oder der Integration von Alltagselementen, um diese mit den Diskursen der Nachkriegsavantgarde zu konfrontieren.

In seinem jüngsten Werkzyklus für das Städel vollzieht er eine überraschende und  konsequente Weiterentwicklung der seit den 1960er-Jahren in seinem Werk vielfach wiederkehrenden Diptychen aus Text- und Bildelementen. Dabei eröffnen sich verschiedenste metaphorische Bedeutungsebenen.
HerausgeberMartin Engler
VerlagHirmer
Jahr
EinbandartFester Einband
SpracheEnglisch, Deutsch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-941399-53-2
BuchtypAusst'publikation
Museum / OrtStädel Museum, Frankfurt am Main
Artikel IDart-15720

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

38,00 € 15,00 €  
28,00 € 10,00 €  
Der Amerikanische Maler der Zeichen/The American painter of signs
29,50 € 10,00 €  
1950-1960. Die Familienjahre
46,00 € 14,95 €  
1950-1960. The Family Years
46,00 € 14,95 €  
Hollywood Boulevard 1973-2004
120,00 € 58,00 €  
Volume One: 1956-1974
198,00 € 69,95 €  
A Journey from Mathematics to Shakespeare
39,80 € 17,95 €  
29,95 € 14,95 €  
Photographs, Drawings and Photomontages
39,90 € 14,95 €