Sean Scully – Figure Abstract
200 pages, 24.5 x 30.7 cm , 1398 g.
Sean Scully – Figure Abstract
Was €39.80 €19.95
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
Scully’s early figurative works in dialogue with his abstract oeuvre

Sean Scully (* 1945 in Dublin) is considered one of the most significant abstract painters of our time. For decades he has produced a wealth of variations on his core theme of lines and stripes, creating works with a fascinating range of tone and expression from the romantic to the melancholic.

Early on in his ca­reer Scully did figural work, to which he still feels in­debted; “To this day my paintings retain a sense of the body, and the feeling of a physical relationship with the world.” He considers German Expressionism one of his sources of inspiration and specifically cites the influence of artists André Derain, Henri Matisse, Karl Schmidt-Rottluff, and Ernst Ludwig Kirchner.

The stroke of the brush is a visible component of his paint­erly abstractions. The edges of his fields of color are delineated by hand, which lends his compositions a haptic quality. Presenting surprising new perspec­tives on the artist’s work, this publication is the first study on the interplay between figuration and ab­straction in Scully’s oeuvre.
PublisherHatje Cantz
Year
CoverPaperback
LanguageEnglish, German
 More
ISBN978-3-7757-3900-9
ContributorsMarc O'Sullivan, Beate Reifenscheid, Sean Scully
Type of bookExhib'publication
Museum / PlaceKunsthalle Rostock
Article IDart-15883

 

Other books with these keywords:

Vol. I: Paintings | Vol. II: Sculpture
€350.00  
Nicknames of Maitre D's & Other Excerpts from Life
€75.00  
€49.95 €9.95  
€49.95 €19.95  
€60.00 €25.00  
(Deutsche Ausgabe)
€49.95 €19.95  
€19.80 €9.95  
€95.00 €35.00  
1950 — 1976
€64.00 €59.00  
€59.95

Sean Scully – Figure Abstract
200 Seiten, 24,5 x 30,7 cm , 1398 g.
Sean Scully – Figure Abstract
Statt 39,80 € 24,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Die figurativen Arbeiten aus dem Frühwerk im Dialog mit den abstrakten Gemälden

Sean Scully (* 1945 in Dublin) gilt als einer der bedeu­tendsten zeitgenössischen abstrakten Maler. Seit Jahrzehnten ringt er seinem Kernthema der Linien und Streifen eine Fülle von faszinierenden Variationen ab, deren Ausdruck von romantisch bis melancho­lisch reicht.

Zu Beginn seiner Karriere arbeitete Scully gegenständlich, und dem sieht er sich auch jetzt noch verpflichtet: »Bis heute enthalten meine Bilder etwas Körperliches, das Gefühl einer physischen Be­ziehung zur Welt.« Er nennt unter anderem den deut­schen Expressionismus als wichtige Einflussquelle und darüber hinaus die Künstler André Derain, Henri Matisse, Karl Schmidt-Rottluff und Ernst Ludwig Kirchner.

So bleibt in seinen malerischen Abstraktio­nen der Pinselduktus erkennbar, die Kanten seiner Farbbahnen sind von Hand gezogen, die Gesamtwir­kung ist haptisch. Die Veröffentlichung geht erstmals diesem Wechselspiel zwischen Figuration und Abs­traktion in Sean Scullys Œuvre nach und eröffnet da­mit überraschende neue Perspektiven auf sein Werk.
VerlagHatje Cantz
Jahr
EinbandartPappband
SpracheEnglisch, Deutsch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-7757-3900-9
Beiträge vonMarc O'Sullivan, Beate Reifenscheid, Sean Scully
BuchtypAusst'publikation
Museum / OrtKunsthalle Rostock
Artikel IDart-15883

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

Vol. I: Paintings | Vol. II: Sculpture
199,00 € 99,00 €  
43,00 € 20,00 €  
39,00 € 20,00 €  
Collected Works
48,00 €  
1907-1998
39,80 €  
Illuminated by Multicolored Swamp Gas. Deodorized Mass with Satellites
35,00 € 14,95 €  
A Conditional Art
58,00 € 15,00 €  
Künstlerpaare – Künstlerfreunde / Dialogues d'artistes
30,00 € 10,00 €  
22,00 € 8,00 €