Giorgio di Noto – The Iceberg
16.5 x 24 cm , 757 g.
Giorgio di Noto – The Iceberg
N° 239
€70.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
The Internet can be regarded as an iceberg: the tip is the so-called surface web, the digital terrain we know and surf by means of search engines, social networks, blogs and news sites. The submerged part, roughly 90% of the iceberg, is the so-called deep web. Under the surface web that we use day in, day out, lies an encrypted and constantly evolving network of total anonymity, beyond the reach of search engines. This darknet is a lawless no-man’s land, only accessible using specific software, where anything goes and nothing is traceable, and where illicit online business, especially in contraband, proliferates. The Iceberg features a selection of stock images and original photographs drawn from the myriad ads for drug sales on the dark web designed to catch the consumer’s eye.

The original photographs, probably taken with small cameras or smartphones, often look surreal and abstract due to the mysterious, exotic aesthetic of the subject-matter, on the one hand, and the low quality of the photos or inferior skills of the drug-pushing photographers themselves, on the other. Unlike the stock pictures, these original photographs are invisible in The Iceberg under normal light: printed in invisible ink, they can only be viewed under ultraviolet light – the same light drug enforcers use to look for traces of narcotics. Anonymously uploaded and probably designed to self-erase once they’ve served their function, these pictures are not traceable or visible on the surface web, and only exist temporarily in this dark, secret space on the deep web

Giorgio di Noto (b. 1990 in Rome) studied photography at the Centro Sperimentale di Fotografia Adams and learned darkroom and printing techniques from professional printers in Italy. He is currently studying philosophy at La Sapienza University in Rome.
PublisherEdition Patrick Frey
Year
LanguageEnglish
NoteDesign: Nicolas Polli
 More
ISBN978-3-906803-39-5
Article IDart-18251

 

Other books with these keywords:

La última palabra
€59.00  
€55.00 €19.95  
(Steidl Book Award Asia)
€35.00 €19.95  
40th Anniversary Edition
€25.00  
The Last Hurrah
€44.00 €10.00  
Why me
€6.90 €3.50  
€28.00

Giorgio di Noto – The Iceberg
16,5 x 24 cm
Giorgio di Noto – The Iceberg
N° 239
70,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Man könnte das Internet als Eisberg auffassen: dessen Spitze bildet das sogenannte surface web oder Oberflächen-Netz, die uns vertraute digitale Welt, in der wir uns mit Suchmaschinen, in sozialen Netzwerken, Blogs und Nachrichtenportalen bewegen. Der Teil unter Wasser, etwa 90 Prozent des Eisbergs, ist das sogenannte deep web, das tiefe Netz. Unter dem Oberflächen-Netz, das wir tagein tagaus nutzen, liegt ein verschlüsseltes, in stetiger Entwicklung begriffenes Netz, das vollkommen anonym ist und sich dem Zugriff der Suchmaschinen entzieht. Dieses dunkle Netz ist ein gesetzloses, nur mit besonderer Software zugängliches Niemandsland, wo alles möglich ist und nichts zurückverfolgt werden kann; hier blüht das illegale Online-Geschäft, namentlich der Handel mit Schmuggel- und Fälscherware. The Iceberg zeigt eine Auswahl sogenannter Stockfotos und Originalfotografien aus der Flut von Drogenanzeigen im dunklen Netz, die das Interesse der Konsumenten wecken sollen.

Die vermutlich mit Kleinkameras oder Smartphones aufgenommenen Originalfotos wirken häufig surreal und abstrakt, einerseits aufgrund der geheimnisvollen, exotischen Ästhetik des Sujets und andrerseits aufgrund ihrer schlechten Qualität oder des mangelnden fotografischen Könnens der Drogenhändler. Im Gegensatz zu den Stockfotos sind diese Originalbilder in The Iceberg bei Normalbeleuchtung nicht zu erkennen: Sie sind in unsichtbarer Farbe gedruckt und werden erst unter Ultraviolettlicht sichtbar – demselben Licht, das Drogenfahnder auf der Suche nach Rauschgiftspuren einsetzen. Diese anonym ins Netz geladenen Bilder, die wahrscheinlich so programmiert sind, dass sie sich nach Erfüllung ihres Zwecks selbst löschen, sind im Oberflächen-Netz weder sicht- noch nachweisbar. Sie existieren lediglich vorübergehend in diesen dunklen, geheimen Tiefen.

Giorgio di Noto (*1990 in Rom) studierte Fotografie am Centro Sperimentale di Fotografia Adams und machte sich bei diversen italienischen Profis und Spezialisten mit den Dunkelkammer- und Drucktechniken vertraut. Gegenwärtig studiert er Philosophie an der Universität La Sapienza in Rom.

VerlagEdition Patrick Frey
Jahr
SpracheEnglisch
BemerkungGestaltung: Nicolas Polli
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-906803-39-5
Artikel IDart-18251

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

La última palabra
59,00 € 20,00 €  
Romancière
15,00 €  
Tillmans | Tillmans Burg | Truth Study Centre
30,00 €  
49,95 € 14,95 €  
English edition
45,00 € 20,00 €  
signiert | signed
15,00 €  
35,00 € 10,00 €