Walter Pfeiffer – Bildrausch. Drawings | 1966 – 2018
492 pages, 22.7 x 32 cm , 2790 g.
Walter Pfeiffer – Bildrausch. Drawings | 1966 – 2018
N° 249
€78.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
Walter Pfeiffer is now a world-renowned photographer. Although he began his artistic career as a draftsman, Pfeiffer’s drawings are known to precious few.

So this book is an overdue overview of his graphic work, continually engaged in a fertile dialogue with his photographic work. In the early 1970s Pfeiffer produced large-scale hyper-realistic pencil drawings that served as points of departure and even working models for his photographs. This style gave rise to personal works as well as Pfeiffer’s legendary posters for the Zürich Filmpodium, magazine illustrations and commissioned portraits.

Beginning in the 1980s and especially in the ‘90s, Pfeiffer gave up photography for a time to focus on drawings in China ink, colored pencils and watercolors, in which the elegant free play of lines and colors moves into the foreground: intimate portraits of beautiful boys and the artist’s close women friends, still lifes and flowers. These pictures are characterized by a cheerful, wakeful sensuality, sure lines and alternation between graphic reduction and a taste for rich ornamentation.

This publication is not a conventional retrospective, but a stand-alone artist’s book in which to discover the vivacity of his drawings and a new Walter Pfeiffer.

Walter Pfeiffer (b. 1946 in Beggingen) is a Zürich-based photographer and graphic designer. He spent a great many years photographing for the underground gay zine scene. His breakthrough didn’t come till the turn of the millennium, however, particularly after his book Welcome Aboard – Photographs 1980 – 2000 was published by Edition Patrick Frey in 2001. Pfeiffer’s works can now be found at the Kunsthaus Zürich, Fotomuseum Winterthur and Bundeskunstsammlung Bern as well as in the Windsor Collection and Sir Elton John Photography Collection, among others.
PublisherEdition Patrick Frey
CoverHardcover
LanguageEnglish
NoteDesign: Marietta Eugster
 More
ISBN978-3-906803-49-4
ContributorsMartin Jaeggi
Article IDart-19648

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

€480.00 €298.00  
Photographs, Drawings and Photomontages
€39.90 €14.95  
1891–1991
€45.00  
1969-1990
€85.00  
Personal Structures Art Projects Number 05
€75.00 €39.95  
Works 1983 to 2011
€36.00 €15.00  
50 Times Bonami and Obrist by Teller
€25.00

Walter Pfeiffer – Bildrausch. Drawings | 1966 - 2018
492 Seiten, 22,7 x 32 cm , 2790 g.
Walter Pfeiffer – Bildrausch. Drawings | 1966 - 2018
N° 249
78,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Walter Pfeiffer ist als Fotograf mittlerweile weltberühmt. Das zeichnerische Werk des Künstlers kennen freilich nur wenige, dabei begann Pfeiffer seine künstlerische Laufbahn als Zeichner.

Das Buch bietet einen überfälligen Überblick über sein zeichnerisches Schaffen, das in einem reichen Dialog mit seinen fotografischen Arbeiten steht. In den frühen 1970er-Jahren schuf Pfeiffer grossformatige, hyperrealistische Bleistiftzeichnungen, die auch Ausgangspunkt seines fotografischen Schaffens waren, da er dafür Vorlagen brauchte. In diesem Stil entstanden freie Arbeiten, aber auch Pfeiffers legendäre Poster für das Zürcher Filmpodium, Zeitschriftenillustrationen und Auftragsportraits.

Ab den 1980ern und vor allem in den 90er-Jahren, als Pfeiffer vorübergehend das Fotografieren aufgab, folgten Zeichnungen in Tusche, Farbstift und Wasserfarben, in denen das elegante, freie Spiel der Linien und Farben in den Vordergrund tritt – intime Portraits von schönen Jungs und engen Freundinnen, Stillleben und Blumenbilder. Sie sind geprägt von Heiterkeit und wacher Sinnlichkeit, sicherem Strich und dem Oszillieren zwischen zeichnerischer Reduktion und der Lust an ornamentaler Fülle.

Das Buch ist kein konventioneller Werkschau-Band, sondern ein eigenständiges Künstlerbuch, das den Zeichnungen ihre Lebendigkeit und die Betrachter einen neuen Walter Pfeiffer entdecken lässt.

Walter Pfeiffer (*1946 in Beggingen) ist ein Schweizer Fotograf und Grafiker, der in Zürich lebt und arbeitet. Er zählte lange Jahre zu den Untergrund-Fotografen im Umfeld schwuler Zines. Seinen Durchbruch als Fotograf erlangte Pfeiffer erst zu Beginn dieses Jahrhunderts, insbesondere nach dem Erscheinen seines Buchs Welcome Aboard. Photographs 1980 – 2000 in der Edition Patrick Frey im Jahr 2001. Werke Pfeiffers befinden sich heute u.a. im Kunsthaus Zürich, im Fotomuseum Winterthur, in der Berner Bundeskunstsammlung, in der Windsor Collection oder in der Sir Elton John Photography Collection.
VerlagEdition Patrick Frey
EinbandartFester Einband
SpracheEnglisch
BemerkungDesign: Marietta Eugster
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-906803-49-4
Beiträge vonMartin Jaeggi
Artikel IDart-19648

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

38,00 € 18,00 €  
Werke 1980-2008
39,80 € 19,95 €  
Bilderhaus Schattenraum
38,00 € 15,00 €  
36,00 € 15,00 €  
35,00 € 5,00 €  
Photographs, Drawings and Photomontages
39,90 € 14,95 €  
Collected Works
48,00 € 30,00 €  
1891–1991
45,00 €  
1969-1990
85,00 €