Say it isn't so
260 pages, 19 x 27 cm , 1198 g.
Say it isn't so
Naturwissenschaften im Visier der Kunst
Was €30.00 €7.95
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
The sciences have always provided a fount of inspiration for artists. William Turner dabbled in geology, Georges Seurat derived ideas from physics studies and Wassily Kandinsky was fascinated by new discoveries in atomic physics.

Since the end of the last millennium, a conspicuous number of artists have again been inflamed by an interest in the natural science. They botanize plants, typify cow spots, build observation stations for insects, try in open laboratory situations to communicate with frogs, or conduct experiments in which they try to arouse feelings of joy in their subjects.

The present publication traces this phenomenon and shows that contemporary art is by no means increasingly converging with science, let alone merging with it, but is rather standing beside it with a coolly appraising eye. The presented artists are e.g. Brian Collier, Mark Dion, Carsten Höller, John Isaacs, M+M, Carsten Nicolai, Olaf Nicolai, Tyyne Claudia Pollmann and as special guests Marcel Duchamp, Nikolaus Lang and Bruce Nauman.
PublisherKehrer
Year
CoverHardcover
LanguageEnglish, German
 More
ISBN978-3-939583-30-1
ContributorsPeter Friese, Guido Boulboullé, Susanne Witzgall er al.
Type of bookExhib'publication
Museum / PlaceWeserburg, Bremen
Article IDart-19990

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

€39.80 €5.00  
€28.00 €5.00  
€49.95 €20.00  
Kunst und Pressebild, von Warhol bis Tillmans / Art and the press image, from Warhol to Tillmans
€39.80 €10.00  
Spiegel und Spiegelungen in der zeitgenössischen Kunst
€36.00 €6.95  
Towards a Collection of Western Contemporary Art
€45.00 €15.00  
Surveillence, Art and Photography
€38.00 €15.00  
Contemporary Art in California
€36.00 €10.00  
€35.00 €10.00  
€49.95 €14.95  
€34.00 €10.00

Say it isn't so
260 Seiten, 19 x 27 cm , 1198 g.
Say it isn't so
Naturwissenschaften im Visier der Kunst
Statt 30,00 € 7,95 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Die Wissenschaften waren seit jeher für Künstler Thema und Inspirationsquelle. William Turner interessierte sich für Geologie, Georges Seurat ließ sich von physikalischen Studien anregen und Wassily Kandinsky faszinierten neue Entdeckungen in der Atomphysik.

Seit Ende des letzten Jahrtausends sind auffällig viele Künstler von einem erneuten Interesse an den Naturwissenschaften entflammt. Sie botanisieren Pflanzen, typisieren Kuhbefleckungen, bauen Beobachtungsstationen für Insekten, versuchen in offenen Laborsituationen mit Fröschen zu kommunizieren oder bei Probanden in Experimentalanordnungen Glücksgefühle zu erwecken.

Diese Publikation geht diesem aktuellen Phänomen nach und zeigt, dass die zeitgenössische Kunst sich keineswegs der Wissenschaft immer weiter annähert oder gar in ihr aufgeht, sondern sich mit taxierendem Blick neben sie stellt. Die Künstlerliste umfasst u. a. Brian Collier, Mark Dion, Carsten Höller, John Isaacs, M+M, Carsten Nicolai, Olaf Nicolai, Tyyne Claudia Pollmann und als "Special Guests" Marcel Duchamp, Nikolaus Lang und Bruce Nauman.
VerlagKehrer
Jahr
EinbandartFester Einband
SpracheEnglisch, Deutsch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-939583-30-1
Beiträge vonPeter Friese, Guido Boulboullé, Susanne Witzgall er al.
BuchtypAusst'publikation
Museum / OrtWeserburg, Bremen
Artikel IDart-19990

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

Photographes, artistes et écrivains en guerre
69,00 € 29,95 €  
28,00 € 5,00 €  
32,00 € 5,00 €  
49,95 € 20,00 €  
Kunst und Pressebild, von Warhol bis Tillmans / Art and the press image, from Warhol to Tillmans
39,80 € 10,00 €  
39,00 €  
Spiegel und Spiegelungen in der zeitgenössischen Kunst
36,00 € 6,95 €  
Towards a Collection of Western Contemporary Art
45,00 € 15,00 €  
Surveillence, Art and Photography
38,00 € 15,00 €  
Contemporary Art in California
36,00 € 10,00 €  
35,00 € 10,00 €  
58,00 € 20,00 €  
34,00 € 10,00 €