Mary Frey – Real Life Dramas
128 pages, 28.5 x 25 cm , 1106 g.
Mary Frey – Real Life Dramas
€58.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
The rediscovery of a great American photographer.

When Mary Frey’s book READING RAYMOND CARVER was released in 2017, many people rubbed their eyes in astonishment: Why don’t I know Mary Frey? What happened, that more than 30 years had to pass before these grandiose pictures are publicly shown?

It’s not exactly like that. For the black-and-white photographs taken at home and in her immediate vicinity in Massachusetts between 1979 and 1984 Mary Frey has been awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship. 1987 and 1991 her color photographs on the same subject were shown in New York at the MoMA. And then? Silence. Mary Frey has continued to photograph, she taught at several Universities, some museums and collectors have her pictures in their collections, famous photographers have been inspired by her work, but she never took care to push her own career as an artist.

But now something is happening. Mary Frey is the rediscovery of the moment, her pictures too good to be overlooked. Photographed in large format on film, technically perfect, between snapshot and enactment, intimacy and distance. Charged banalities with children, adolescents and adults, middle class, USA, 35 years ago. No reportage, a psychogram. Funny, sad, true and hyperreal.
PublisherPeperoni Books
Year
CoverCloth
LanguageEnglish
 More
ISBN978-3-941249-27-1
ContributorsTim Carpenter
Museum / PlaceForum für Fotografie / Cologne
Article IDart-20469

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

A Photographic Record of New York's Most Notorious Watering Hole
€32.00 €10.00  
€45.00 €15.00  
The Photography of Horace Poolaw
€45.00 €10.00  
€65.00 €20.00  
Print: The Death of Coltelli
€680.00 €300.00  
Print: Girl in the Bus
€680.00 €300.00

Mary Frey – Real Life Dramas
128 Seiten, 28,5 x 25 cm , 1106 g.
Mary Frey – Real Life Dramas
58,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Eine große Amerikanische Fotografin wird wiederentdeckt.

Als 2017 Mary Frey’s Buch READING RAYMOND CARVER erschien, haben sich viele verblüfft die Augen gerieben und gefragt: Warum kenne ich die nicht? Was ist passiert, dass mehr als 30 Jahre vergehen mussten, bis diese grandiosen Bilder öffentlich gezeigt werden?

Ganz so ist es tatsächlich nicht. Für die Schwarz-Weiß Bilder, die Mary Frey zwischen 1979 und 1984 zu hause und in ihrer unmittelbaren Umgebung in Massachusetts fotografiert hat, wurde sie mit einer Guggenheim Fellowship ausgezeichnet. 1987 und 1991 wurden ihre Farbfotografien zum gleichen Thema in New York im MoMA gezeigt. Und dann? Funkstille. Mary Frey hat weiter fotografiert und als Dozentin gearbeitet, ein paar Museen und Sammler haben ihre Bilder in ihrer Kollektion, berühmte Fotografen und Fotografinnen wurden von ihr inspiriert, eine Karriere hat sie liegen gelassen.

Aber jetzt ist Mary Frey die Wiederentdeckung der Stunde, ihre Bilder zu gut, um übersehen zu werden. Fotografiert im Großformat auf Film, technisch perfekt, an der Schnittstelle zwischen Snapshot und Inszenierung, Intimität und Distanz, zeigen sie aufgeladene Alltäglichkeiten mit Kindern, Jugendlichen und Erwachsenen, Middle Class, USA, vor 35 Jahren. Keine Reportage, ein Psychogramm. Komisch, traurig, wahr und hyperreal.

VerlagPeperoni Books
Jahr
EinbandartLeinen
SpracheEnglisch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-941249-27-1
Beiträge vonTim Carpenter
Museum / OrtForum für Fotografie / Cologne
Artikel IDart-20469
Weitere Bücher von Mary Frey alle ansehen

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

Self-Portraits 1958-2011
65,00 € 20,00 €  
48,00 €  
19,95 € 10,00 €  
58,00 € 29,95 €  
Print: The Death of Coltelli
680,00 € 300,00 €  
Print: Girl in the Bus
680,00 € 300,00 €