Sebastião Salgado – Genesis
520 pages, 24.3 x 35.5 cm
Sebastião Salgado – Genesis
€60.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
Sebastião Salgado’s haunting black-and-white photographs from the GENESIS project record landscapes and people unchanged in the devastating onslaught of modern society and development. Taken over the course of an epic eight-year expedition, the images are divided into five broad geographic chapters: Planet South, Sanctuaries, Africa, Northern Spaces, Amazonia, and Pantanal.

What does one discover in GENESIS? The animal species and volcanoes of the Galápagos; penguins, sea lions, cormorants, and whales of the Antarctic and South Atlantic; Brazilian alligators and jaguars; African lions, leopards, and elephants; the isolated Zo’é tribe deep in the Amazon jungle; the Stone Age Korowai people of West Papua; nomadic Dinka cattle farmers in Sudan; Nenet nomads and their reindeer herds in the Arctic Circle; Mentawai jungle communities on islands west of Sumatra; the icebergs of the Antarctic; the volcanoes of Central Africa and the Kamchatka Peninsula; Saharan deserts; the Negro and Juruá rivers in the Amazon; the ravines of the Grand Canyon; the glaciers of Alaska... and beyond. Having dedicated so much time, energy, and passion to the making of this work, Salgado calls GENESIS “my love letter to the planet.”

Whereas the limited Collector’s Edition is conceived like a large-format portfolio that meanders across the planet, this unlimited book presents a selection of photographs arranged in five chapters geographically: Planet South, Sanctuaries, Africa, Northern Spaces, Amazonia, and Pantanal. Each in its own way, this book and the Collector’s Edition—both edited and designed by Lélia Wanick Salgado—pay homage to Salgado’s triumphant and unparalleled GENESIS project.
EditorLélia Wanick Salgado
PublisherTASCHEN
Year
CoverHardcover
LanguageGerman
 More
ISBN978-3-8365-4259-3
ContributorsSebastião Salgado, Lélia Wanick Salgado, Irina Bokova
Article IDart-20478

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

€58.00 €10.00  
Photographs 1982-2011
€50.00  
The City´s Edge 1993/94
€34.00  
N° 291 | Aus dem fotografischen Nachlass der Anne-Marie von Wolff
€58.00

Sebastião Salgado – Genesis
520 Seiten, 24,3 x 35,5 cm
Sebastião Salgado – Genesis
60,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Sebastião Salgados eindringliche Schwarz-Weiß-Fotografien aus dem Projekt GENESIS zeigen Völker und Landschaften, die vom verheerenden Ansturm moderner Gesellschaft und Entwicklung unberührt blieben. Die Aufnahmen, entstanden im Verlauf einer epischen Acht-Jahres-Expedition, sind in sechs umfassende geografische Kapitel aufgeteilt: Planet South, Sanctuaries, Africa, Northern Spaces, Amazonia und Pantanal.

GENESIS entführt uns in die archaische Vulkanlandschaft der Galapagosinseln, zeigt uns die Seelöwen, Kormorane, Pinguine und Wale in der Antarktis und im Südatlantik, die Alligatoren und Jaguare des brasilianischen Urwalds und das Großwild Afrikas. Wir begegnen dem isoliert lebenden Volk der Zo’é im Dschungel Brasiliens, den Korowai in West-Papua, dem Nomadenvolk der Dinka im Sudan, den Nenzen mit ihren Rentierherden am Polarkreis und den Bewohnern der Mentawaiinseln westlich von Sumatra. Mit Salgado stehen wir vor den Eisbergen der Antarktis, den Vulkanen Zentralafrikas und der Kamtschatka-Halbinsel, an den Flussläufen des Negro und Juruá im Amazonasgebiet, vor den Schluchten des Grand Canyon und den Gletschern Alaskas. All die Zeit, Energie und Leidenschaft, die in die Entstehung dieses Werkes geflossen sind, machen GENESIS zu Sebastião Salgados „Liebeserklärung an unseren Planeten“.

Anders als die Collector’s Edition, die als großformatiges Portfolio ohne strenge thematische Gliederung erscheint, präsentiert dieses Buch eine abweichende Auswahl an Bildern, geografisch geordnet in fünf Kapiteln: Im Süden des Planeten, Zufluchtsorte, Afrika, Nördliche Weiten, Amazonien und Pantanal. Beide Publikationen wurden von Lélia Wanick Salgado gestaltet und herausgegeben und sind faszinierende Dokumente eines fotografischen Abenteuers, das es in diesen Dimensionen noch nie gegeben hat: Salgados GENESIS-Projekt.
HerausgeberLélia Wanick Salgado
VerlagTASCHEN
Jahr
EinbandartFester Einband
SpracheDeutsch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-8365-4259-3
Beiträge vonSebastião Salgado, Lélia Wanick Salgado, Irina Bokova
Artikel IDart-20478

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

Photographs 1952-2008
150,00 €  
45,00 € 10,00 €  
95,00 €  
Two American Photographers in Britain and Ireland
65,00 € 25,00 €  
Photographs of Prison Life with the Letters and Drawings of Billy McCune #122054
59,95 € 25,00 €  
1969–1974
9,50 €  
A Retrospective Selection of Photographs, 1964-2009
225,00 € 78,00 €