Stephan Erfurt – On The Road
252 pages, 19.5 x 24 cm , 1154 g.
Stephan Erfurt – On The Road
€35.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
In the years between 1980 and 2000, Stephan Erfurt published numerous photo spreads in various magazines, thus establishing his international reputation. He created an oeuvre full of story-telling and poetry, at times melancholic and tender, at other times as harsh depictions of reality. Erfurt often concentrates on the atmospherically dense detail; as a curious world observer, his work is akin to that of an essayist.

One of his specialties is photographing in twilight, shortly before sunrise or after sunset. His private and professional move to Berlin in the mid-1990s leads to completely different images, such as the famous close-ups of the television tower on Alexanderplatz. In 1978, the then 20-year-old Erfurt fled from the confinement of his hometown of Wuppertal. In Paris, he discovered the medium of photography. He then studied photography in Essen and, beginning in the mid-1980s, worked primarily from his new residence in New York.

When the FAZ Magazin, which had become Erfurt’s most important medium of distribution, was discontinued in 1999, he simultaneously also more or less stopped shooting his own photographs. A short while later, he founded C/O Berlin together with two friends, which quickly became an internationally networked photo institution.
EditorMatthias Herder, Felix Hoffmann
PublisherKehrer
Year
CoverHalfcloth
LanguageEnglish, German
 More
ISBN978-3-86828-809-4
ContributorsFlorian Illies, Jordan Mejias
Article IDart-21176
More books from Stephan Erfurt view all

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

N° 205 deutsche Ausgabe
€52.00  
N° 206 english Edition
€52.00  
€50.00  
Neue Fotografie – Moderne Farbdias
€85.00

Stephan Erfurt – On The Road
252 Seiten, 19,5 x 24 cm , 1154 g.
Stephan Erfurt – On The Road
35,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
In den zwei Jahrzehnten zwischen 1980 und 2000 realisiert Stephan Erfurt zahlreiche Bildstrecken in unterschiedlichen Magazinen, die seine internationale Reputation begründen. Ein Werk voller Narration und Poesie entsteht, mal melancholisch-zart, mal in harter Realitätsschilderung. Erfurt konzentriert sich häufig auf das atmosphärisch dichte Detail, als neugieriger Weltbeobachter formuliert er wie ein Essayist.

Eine Besonderheit ist das Fotografieren im Zwielicht, also kurz vor Sonnenaufgang oder kurz nach Sonnenuntergang. Die Verlagerung von Leben und Arbeit nach Berlin ab Mitte der 1990er-Jahre lässt ganz andere Bilder entstehen, etwa die berühmte Nahaufnahme des Fernsehturms am Alexanderplatz. Stephan Erfurt entflieht 1978, 20-jährig, der Enge seiner Heimatstadt Wuppertal. In Paris entdeckt er das Medium Fotografie für sich. Anschließend studiert er in Essen Fotografie, und ab Mitte der 1980er-Jahre arbeitet er in erster Linie von seinem neuen Lebensmittelpunkt New York aus.

Als das FAZ-Magazin, das zu Erfurts wichtigstem Distributionsmedium geworden ist, 1999 eingestellt wird, stellt auch er mehr oder weniger die eigene Fotografie ein. In Berlin gründet er mit zwei Freunden nur kurze Zeit später C/O Berlin, das sich zu einer international vernetzten Fotoinstitution entwickelt hat.
HerausgeberMatthias Herder, Felix Hoffmann
VerlagKehrer
Jahr
EinbandartHalbleinen
SpracheEnglisch, Deutsch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-86828-809-4
Beiträge vonFlorian Illies, Jordan Mejias
Artikel IDart-21176
Weitere Bücher von Stephan Erfurt alle ansehen

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

48,00 € 18,00 €  
Deutschlandbilder
24,50 € 10,00 €  
45,00 € 10,00 €  
Poesie der Bahnhöfe
20,00 € 10,00 €  
N° 205 deutsche Ausgabe
52,00 €  
N° 206 english Edition
52,00 €  
50,00 €  
New Photography—Modern Color Slides
85,00 €  
The City´s Edge 1993/94
34,00 €