About Trees
184 pages, 19.5 x 27 cm , 994 g.
About Trees
Was €34.00 €10.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
Peter Fischer and his team have gathered about 100 works for the exhibition and the volume ABOUT TREES. Be it the huge rags stumps by Berlinde De Bruyckere, shimmering waxen and wrapped in giant rags, or the oil painting of a sparse forest with fragments of a Corbusier building in the background by Peter Doig; the mighty, upside-down black-and-white photograph of an oak tree by Rodney Graham or the picture of a detonated fruit tree by Michael Sailstorfer: these works of art always depict the tree as a diversely interpretable motif.

In particular, it is about how the subject tree in a symbolic way »may raise fundamental questions of existence«. Art, in contrast to natural sciences and religion, has an advantage as it only has to raise questions, not give answers. Thus, it can reveal the tree as »a symbol, mirror and object of projection«, demonstrate how it represents life and/or death. Trees, however, are also suitable as a theme for »clashes and inspirations«, since it is lends itself to trace the story of human relationship with nature in an exemplary way, while, at the same time, pointing out that the dichotomy between nature and culture need not necessarily lead to destruction.

Artists: Carlos Amorales, Louise Bourgeois, Berlinde De Bruyckere, Mark Dion, Peter Doig, Valérie Favre, Wiliam Kentridge, Anselm Kiefer, Paul Klee, Ana Mendieta, Shirin Neshat, Pipilotti Rist, Wolfgang Tillmans, Shinji Turner-Yamamoto a.o.
EditorPeter Fischer, Brigitt Bürgi
PublisherSnoeck
Year
CoverHardcover
LanguageEnglish, German
 More
ISBN978-3-86442-146-4
ContributorsRobert Macfarlane, Maria Bremer, Simone Büsch-Küng et al.
Type of bookExhib'publication
Museum / PlaceZentrum Paul Klee, Bern
Article IDart-21774

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

(English edition)
€49.80  
€28.00 €5.00  
Self-Portrait and Self-Invention. Works from the Pinault Collection
€30.00 €10.00  
(Deutsche Ausgabe)
€39.95 €7.95  
Kunst und Pressebild, von Warhol bis Tillmans / Art and the press image, from Warhol to Tillmans
€39.80 €10.00  
Spiegel und Spiegelungen in der zeitgenössischen Kunst
€36.00 €6.95  
Towards a Collection of Western Contemporary Art
€45.00 €15.00  
€22.00 €8.00  
Sammlung Graber / Graber Collection
€39.80 €10.00  
Contemporary Art in California
€36.00 €10.00  
€35.00 €10.00

About Trees
184 Seiten, 19,5 x 27 cm , 994 g.
About Trees
Statt 34,00 € 10,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Über 100 Arbeiten hat Peter Fischer mit seinem Team für die Ausstellung und den Band ABOUT TREES zusammengetragen. Ob nun die wächsern schimmernden, mit riesigen Lumpen umwickelten Baumstümpfe von Berlinde De Bruyckere, das Ölbild eines lichten Waldstücks mit Fragmenten eines Corbusier-Gebäudes im Hintergrund von Peter Doig, die mächtige, auf dem Kopf stehende S/W-Fotografie einer Eiche von Rodney Graham oder das Foto eines in die Luft gesprengten Obstbaums von Michael Sailstorfer, stets bilden die künstlerischen Arbeiten den Baum als vielfältig deutbares Motiv ab. Konkret geht es darum, wie das Thema Baum »sinnbildlich grundlegende Fragen der Existenz« aufwerfen kann.

Die Kunst ist dabei gegenüber Naturwissenschaften und Religion im Vorteil, sie hat Fragen aufzuwerfen, keine Antworten zu geben. So kann sie den Baum als »Sinnbild, Spiegel und Projektionsobjekt« vorführen, zeigen, wie er für das Leben und/oder den Tod steht. Der Baum eignet sich aber auch als Thema für »Clashes und Inspirationen«, lässt sich doch an ihm exemplarisch die Geschichte vom Umgang des Menschen mit der Natur nachzeichnen; womit zugleich hervorgehoben wird, dass die Dichotomie von Natur und Kultur nicht zwangsläufig in Zerstörung münden muss.

Künstler*innen: Carlos Amorales, Louise Bourgeois, Berlinde De Bruyckere, Mark Dion, Peter Doig, Valérie Favre, Wiliam Kentridge, Anselm Kiefer, Paul Klee, Ana Mendieta, Shirin Neshat, Pipilotti Rist, Wolfgang Tillmans, Shinji Turner-Yamamoto u.a.
HerausgeberPeter Fischer, Brigitt Bürgi
VerlagSnoeck
Jahr
EinbandartFester Einband
SpracheEnglisch, Deutsch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-86442-146-4
Beiträge vonRobert Macfarlane, Maria Bremer, Simone Büsch-Küng et al.
BuchtypAusst'publikation
Museum / OrtZentrum Paul Klee, Bern
Artikel IDart-21774

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

„Natur“ in der Kunst der Gegenwart
34,00 € 10,00 €  
(English edition)
49,80 €  
28,00 € 5,00 €  
65,00 € 19,95 €  
Self-Portrait and Self-Invention. Works from the Pinault Collection
30,00 € 10,00 €  
(Deutsche Ausgabe)
39,95 € 7,95 €  
Kunst und Pressebild, von Warhol bis Tillmans / Art and the press image, from Warhol to Tillmans
39,80 € 19,95 €  
Spiegel und Spiegelungen in der zeitgenössischen Kunst
36,00 € 6,95 €  
Towards a Collection of Western Contemporary Art
45,00 € 15,00 €  
22,00 € 8,00 €  
25,00 € 10,00 €  
Sammlung Graber / Graber Collection
39,80 € 9,95 €  
35,00 € 15,00 €