Bas Princen – Cavern (Chapel) | special edition
60 pages, 40 x 50 cm , 2200 g.
Bas Princen – Cavern (Chapel) | special edition
Book "Reservoir" + Print "Cavern (Chapel)"
Was €680.00 €300.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
Special edition: Book "Reservoir" (signed) + C-Print "Cavern (Chapel)", trim size 40 x 50 cm, image 35 x 44 cm, signed by Bas Princen, numbered (edition of 20 + 4 e.a.).

Bas Princen (*1975 in Zeeland, the Netherlands) belongs to a generation of photographers who in their very own way make reference to so-called New Topographics. This is a group of what in the meantime consists of ten big-name landscape photographers, including Robert Adams, Lewis Baltz, Stephen Shore, and of course Bernd and Hilla Becher, who had their first big international success in 1975 with an exhibition of the same name at George Eastman House in Rochester.

While they distanced themselves from subjectively-tinged photography in an attempt to render stark reality as faithfully as possible, Princen objectifies urban space in a comparable way, but with an ironic twist. Seen through Princen's lens, anonymous urban architecture assumes an almost magical and slightly surrealist air.

This Collector’s Edition provides a frank perspective of an astonishing piece of architecture: a small, white chapel is fit carefully into a heavy, gray cliff, which juts out over it in a half-threatening, half-protective way.

Explanatory note from artbooks: Please be informed that this limited edition comes without the frame and super safely packed. However, there is no devorative box, which houses both print and book, as you may have seen for similar sets. It is not missing, it has never been there.
EditorMoritz Küng
PublisherHatje Cantz
Year
CoverSoftcover
LanguageEnglish
NoteSigned book "Reservoir" + Print "Cavern (Chapel)", signed and numbered
 More
Article IDart-23569
More books from Bas Princen view all

 

Other books with these keywords:

Book + Print "Big Bang Theory"
€480.00 €240.00  
The demise of the Quarry Hill Flats
€225.00

***SIGNED***                    
Bas Princen – Cavern (Chapel) | special edition
60 Seiten, 40 x 50 cm , 2200 g.
Bas Princen – Cavern (Chapel) | special edition
Book "Reservoir" + Print "Cavern (Chapel)"
Statt 680,00 € 300,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Vorzugsausgabe: Buch "Reservoir" (signiert) + C-Print "Cavern (Chapel)", Blattformat 40 x 50 cm, Bildformat 35 x 44 cm, signiert von Bas Princen, nummeriert (Auflage 20 + 4 e.a.).

Der holländische Fotograf Bas Princen (*1975 in Zeeland) gehört zu einer Generation von Fotografen, die auf ganz eigenwillige Weise Bezug auf die sogenannten New Topographics nehmen. Dieser Gruppierung von zehn mittlerweile großen Namen der Landschaftsfotografie, zu denen Robert Adams, Lewis Baltz, Stephen Shore und natürlich Bernd & Hilla Becher gehören, gelang 1975 der internationale Durchbruch mit der gleichnamigen Ausstellung im George Eastman House in Rochester, USA, und dem begleitenden Katalog. Sie distanzierten sich von der subjektiv gefärbten Fotografie und versuchten, die nackte Wirklichkeit so realistisch wie möglich wiederzugeben.

Bas Princen objektiviert den öffentlichen Raum auf vergleichbare Weise, allerdings mit einer ironischen Brechung. Durch seine Linse gesehen, bekommt anonyme Architektur eine fast magische und leicht surreale Aura.

Diese Collector’s Edition gibt den Blick auf ein erstaunliches Stück Architektur frei: Eine kleine weiße, genau eingepasste Kapelle duckt sich unter einen schweren grauen Felsüberhang, der sie halb bedrohlich, halb schützend überragt.

Anmerkung von artbooks: Bitte beachten Sie, dass diese Vorzugsausgabe ohne Rahmen und absolut transportsicher verpackt geliefert wird. Es gibt aber keine Schlagkassette, in der Print und Buch luxuriös verpackt sind – gab es vom Verlag aus aber auch nicht.
HerausgeberMoritz Küng
VerlagHatje Cantz
Jahr
EinbandartBroschur
SpracheEnglisch
BemerkungSigniertes Buch "Reservoir" + Print "Cavern (Chapel)", signiert und nummeriert
 Mehr
Artikel IDart-23569
Weitere Bücher von Bas Princen alle ansehen

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

Book + Print
380,00 €  
20th Century European Battlefields
39,80 € 19,95 €  
The demise of the Quarry Hill Flats
225,00 €  
(2022 edition)
65,00 € 45,00 €  
*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*
The demise of the Quarry Hill Flats
68,00 € 45,00 €  
The Monograph
48,00 € 9,95 €