Bruce Weber – Affairs of the Heart
200 pages, 24 x 30.5 cm , 1600 g.
Bruce Weber – Affairs of the Heart
All - Americia XIV
Was €98.00 €28.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
The All-American series is a curiosity cabinet of the contemporary American vernacular, seen through the lens of one of its quintessential image makers. Compelling for current collectors of the series, as well as admirers of contemporary photography.

Over the past thirteen years, the photographer and filmmaker Bruce Weber has published the book series All-American, an independent portfolio of work by artists, photographers, essayists, poets, and personalities whose lives and accomplishments warrant celebration.

The latest edition of Bruce Weber’s annual arts journal explores the emotional framework behind a wide spectrum of human endeavor. With its characteristically eclectic cast of talented subjects, All-American XIV: Affairs of the Heart considers the deeply personal motivations at the heart of a creative and committed life.

This fourteenth edition of Weber’s journal presents two original commissions. In the first, photographer and filmmaker Poppy de Villeneuve returns to the small town of Harbor Springs, Michigan to document daily life and reflect on the town’s evolution from her early experiences there as a child. In the second, Lisa Eisner and John Scott visit The Thacher School in Ojai, California to investigate the institution’s unique equestrian program. Bruce Weber offers three original photo essays–a portfolio of Tibetan Mastiffs, the rare and mysterious dog breed; a spread dedicated to the work of ex-pat artist Kris Ruhs, accompanied by a conversation with the artist Michele Oka Doner; and a profoundly moving testimonial from retired NYPD detective William Fischer.

The inspiration that Bruce Weber takes from Italian cinema is celebrated through two stories rooted in the neoclassical era: A portfolio of incredible photographs by the little-known Italian photographer Paolo di Paolo, and a collection of images taken on the set of Antonioni’s counterculture classic Zabreskie Point by Bruce Davidson—presented here with an interview Bruce Weber conducted with the film’s star, Daria Halprin. The book also features tributes to two very different American literary talents who passed away this year–Peter Matthiessen and Rene Ricard.

PublisherteNeues
Year
CoverSoftcover in decorative slipcase
LanguageEnglish
 More
ISBN978-3-8327-9859-8
Article IDart-24035
More books from Bruce Weber view all

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

.. of Richard Avedon, Charles Moore, Martha Rosler, and Philip-Lorca diCorcia
€65.00 €20.00  
Photography from The Walther Collection
€85.00 €25.00  
Books on Books #19
€42.00 €29.95  
A Photographic Record of New York's Most Notorious Watering Hole
€32.00 €10.00  
€98.00  
€98.00  
€59.00 €25.00  
All - Americia XIII
€98.00 €28.00  
The Photography of Horace Poolaw
€45.00 €10.00  
(Book + signed Print)
€375.00

Bruce Weber – Affairs of the Heart
200 Seiten, 24 x 30,5 cm , 1600 g.
Bruce Weber – Affairs of the Heart
All - Americia XIV
Statt 98,00 € 28,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Die All-American-Reihe ist ein Kuriositätenkabinett der modernen amerikanischen Alltagssprache, gesehen durch das Objektiv eines ihrer vollkommensten Bildermacher. Unwiderstehlich für aktuelle Sammler der Reihe und Liebhaber zeitgenössischer Fotografie.

Seit 13 Jahren veröffentlicht der Fotograf und Filmemacher Bruce Weber die Buchreihe All-American, ein unabhängiges Portfolio mit Werken von Künstlern, Fotografen, Essayisten, Dichtern und Persönlichkeiten, deren Leben und Erfolge zu Recht gefeiert werden.

Die neueste Ausgabe von Bruce Webers Buchreihe für Kunst und Literatur widmet sich dem emotionalen Gerüst, das eine ganze Bandbreite menschlicher Bestrebungen stützt. Mit der für Weber typischen eklektischen Auswahl an talentierten Individuen erforscht All-American XIV: Affairs of the Heart die zutiefst persönlichen Beweggründe, die den innersten Kern eines kreativen und engagierten Lebens ausmachen.

Die mittlerweile vierzehnte Ausgabe von Webers Reihe präsentiert zwei Originalfotoaufträge. Im ersten Beitrag kehrt die Fotografin und Filmemacherin Poppy de Villeneuve in das kleine Städtchen Harbor Springs in Michigan zurück; einem Ort ihrer Kindheit. Sie dokumentiert das tägliche Leben und reflektiert die Entwicklung der Stadt. Im zweiten Beitrag besuchen Lisa Eisner und John Scott The Thacher School im kalifornischen Ojai, um das einzigartige Pferde- und Reitprogramm des Internats vorzustellen. Bruce Weber steuert drei Foto-Essays bei: Ein Portfolio widmet sich den Tibetdoggen, einer seltenen und mysteriösen Hunderasse. Eine Fotostrecke wendet sich dem US-amerikanischen Künstler Kris Ruhs zu, der mittlerweile in Europa lebt und arbeitet – abgerundet durch ein Gespräch mit der Künstlerin Michele Oka Doner. Den Abschluss bildet ein zutiefst bewegendes Portrait des pensionierten NYPD-Detectives William Fischer.

Das italienische Kino ist eine Inspirationsquelle für Bruce Weber – und das wird in zwei Beiträgen gefeiert, die in der neorealistischen Filmära verwurzelt sind: einem Portfolio mit unglaublichen Fotografien des kaum bekannten italienischen Fotografen Paolo di Paolo sowie einer Sammlung von Bildern, die Bruce Davidson am Set von Antonionis Klassiker der Gegenkultur Zabriskie Point aufgenommen hat – ergänzt durch ein Interview, das Bruce Weber mit Daria Halprin, dem Star des Films, geführt hat. Das Buch zollt zudem zwei sehr unterschiedlichen US-amerikanischen Autoren Tribut, die dieses Jahr verstorben sind: Peter Matthiessen

VerlagteNeues
Jahr
EinbandartBroschur im Schmuckschuber
SpracheEnglisch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-8327-9859-8
Artikel IDart-24035
Weitere Bücher von Bruce Weber alle ansehen

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

Photography from The Walther Collection
85,00 € 25,00 €  
(English edition)
38,00 € 10,00 €  
1919 – 1953
28,00 € 10,00 €  
98,00 €  
98,00 €  
All - Americia XIII
98,00 € 28,00 €  
(Book + signed Print)
375,00 €  
(George Eastman Museum)
50,00 € 15,00 €