Tom Hunter – The Way Home | Collector's Edition
200 pages, 48.3 x 40.4 cm , 2000 g.
Tom Hunter – The Way Home | Collector's Edition
Book + Print "Girl in the Bus"
€750.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
Collector's Edition: Book "The Way Home" (unsigned) + C-Print "Girl in the Bus" 2009, trim siize 40,4 x 48,3 cm, motif 30,2 x 37,7 cm, signed by Tom Hunter and numbered (edition of 25 + 3 a.p.).

The meticulously composed, painterly tableaux of Tom Hunter (*1965 in Dorset) operate on various levels: for one, he references important paintings from art history; for another, he tells us stories of our time—stories that all take place in the London borough of Hackney, where Hunter lives. What is perhaps his best-known photograph is of a young woman in a setting that alludes to Vermeer’s Girl Reading a Letter at an Open Window. However, Hunter’s photo portrays a Woman Reading a Possession Order—a neighbor from the squatter’s scene who has just received an eviction notice. The work attracted so such attention from the media that the eviction ultimately never took place.

With his eye for the unusual and exotic in everyday life, Hunter succeeds in capturing striking, remarkable snapshots of life in Great Britain today.Two of Hunter’s most popular motifs are offered in a small edition: one is the Girl in the Bus, from the Traveller Series, which made the artist internationally famous in the late 1990s. The picture features the inhabitant of a trailer-home; her cute one-room dwelling shows us how exorbitant today’s expectations actually are. The other piece, The Death of Coltelli, is more recent. In it, a model in plush, bourgeois surroundings poses like the doomed concubine from Eugène Delacroix’s scandalous painting, Death of Sardanapalus. The excessive decadence and opulence of the original painting is amusingly counteracted in Hunter’s version—this is Hackney, after all.

Explanatory note from artbooks: Please be informed that this limited edition comes without the frame and super safely packed. However, there is no devorative box, which houses both print and book, as you may have seen for similar sets. It is not missing, it has never been there.
PublisherHatje Cantz
Year
CoverHardcover
LanguageEnglish
NoteBook + signed and numbered C-Print
 More
ContributorsGeoff Dyer, Tom Hunter & Michael Rosen
Article IDart-27682

 

Other books with these keywords:

C-Print, sign, num.
€380.00  
Special Edition A (sign.)
€2,500.00  
Special Edition B (sign.)
€2,500.00  
Book + Print "The Death of Coltelli"
€750.00  
Book + C-Print "Chelsea Intro" (ed. of 100)
€450.00  
Henri Cartier-Bresson & Martin Parr (sign.)
€55.00

Tom Hunter – The Way Home | Collector's Edition
200 Seiten, 48,3 x 40,4 cm , 2000 g.
Tom Hunter – The Way Home | Collector's Edition
Book + Print "Girl in the Bus"
750,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Vorzugsausgabe: Buch "The Way Home" (unsigniert) + C-Print "Girl in the Bus" 2009, Blattformat 40,4 x 48,3 cm, Bildformat 30,2 x 37,7 cm, signiert von Tom Hunter und nummeriert (Auflage: 25 + 3 a.p.).

Tom Hunter (*1965 in Dorset) funktionieren auf verschiedenen Ebenen: Zum einen bezieht sich der britische Fotograf auf bedeutende Gemälde der Kunstgeschichte, zum anderen erzählt er uns Geschichten von heute. Geschichten, die zumeist in Hackney spielen, dem Londoner Stadtviertel, in dem Hunter lebt: Das vielleicht bekannteste seiner Bilder zeigt eine junge Frau in einer Komposition, die sich auf Jan Vermeer van Delfts Brieflesendes Mädchen am offenen Fenster bezieht. Allerdings porträtiert Hunters Foto Woman Reading a Possession Order eine Nachbarin aus der Hausbesetzerszene, die eben eine Räumungsklage erhalten hat. Die Arbeit erregte so große mediale Aufmerksamkeit, dass es zu der Räumung nie kam.

Mit seinem Blick für das Ungewöhnliche und Exotische im Alltag gelingen Tom Hunter eindrückliche und überraschende Momentaufnahmen aus dem Großbritannien von heute.

Zwei von Hunters beliebtesten Motiven können wir Ihnen in einer Kleinauflage anbieten: Zum einen das Girl in the Bus aus der Traveller Series, die den Künstler Ende der 1990er-Jahre international bekannt machte. Die abgebildete Bewohnerin einer Wagenburg beweist mit ihrer hübschen Einraum-Wohnung, wie überzogen hiesige Ansprüche eigentlich sind. Die andere Arbeit, The Death of Coltelli, ist jüngeren Datums. In ihr nimmt ein Modell in plüschig-bürgerlichem Ambiente die Pose einer der todgeweihten Konkubinen aus Eugène Delacroixs Skandalbild Tod des Sardanapal ein. Die jede Grenze sprengende Dekadenz und Opulenz der Vorlage wird in Hunters Version auf amüsante Weise konterkariert – this is Hackney, after all.

Anmerkung von artbooks: Bitte beachten Sie, dass diese Vorzugsausgabe ohne Rahmen und absolut transportsicher verpackt geliefert wird. Es gibt aber keine Schlagkassette, in der Print und Buch luxuriös verpackt sind – gab es vom Verlag aus aber auch nicht.
VerlagHatje Cantz
Jahr
EinbandartFester Einband
SpracheEnglisch
BemerkungBuch + C-Print, sign. num.
 Mehr
Beiträge vonGeoff Dyer, Tom Hunter & Michael Rosen
Artikel IDart-27682

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

Book + C-Print "Chelsea Intro" (ed. of 100)
450,00 €