Migropolis: Venice / Atlas of a Global Situation
1344 pages, 17.3 x 24.7 cm , 3300 g.
Migropolis: Venice / Atlas of a Global Situation
Was €58.00 €35.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
Since its publication, the four-year study on the globalized city conducted by the philosopher Wolfgang Scheppe at the Università Iuav de Venizia has achieved the status of being a standard reference.

The intricately structured two-volume book, in which the movement patterns of migration and tourism intersect, looks at Venice as an exemplary case of urbanity under the control of globalization. By means of the documentation of Situationist dérives, critical tools for data visualization and multilayered maps, the broadly conceived work permits immersing oneself in the city almost down to a microscopic layer. Thousands of photographs alternate with individual case studies on illegal immigrants as well as people on pleasure trips.

One focus is on the conflicts of exclusion, which are brought about by Europe’s border regimes or by the shadow economy both compelled and criminalized by European legislation. The reasons for the break-up of the metropolitan context into a split “dual city” lie in such contradictions. The publication provides a unique and comprehensive basis for the current debate on the refugee movement from the battlefields of Western alliances and the zones of the world that have been pauperized by the globalized economy.
EditorWolfgang Scheppe
PublisherHatje Cantz
Year
CoverSoftcover
LanguageEnglish
 More
ISBN978-3-7757-4111-8
ContributorsGiorgio Agamben, Valeria Burgio
Article IDart-27734

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

Ernsting Service Center
€29.50 €7.95  
Idée et matière
€45.00 €15.00  
€39.00 €14.95  
€15.00

Migropolis: Venice / Atlas of a Global Situation
1344 Seiten, 17,3 x 24,7 cm , 3300 g.
Migropolis: Venice / Atlas of a Global Situation
Statt 58,00 € 35,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Seit ihrem Erscheinen hat die durch den Philosophen Wolfgang Scheppe an der Universität für Architektur in Venedig (IUAV) unternommene vierjährige Studie zur globalisierten Stadt den Rang eines Standardwerks erreicht.

Das komplex strukturierte zweibändige Buch betrachtet Venedig als exemplarischen Fall von Urbanität unter der Herrschaft der Globalisierung. In ihr kreuzen sich die Bewegungsmuster der Migration und des Tourismus. Die breit angelegte Arbeit erlaubt durch Dokumentationen situationistischer »dérives«, bildkritische Datenvisualisierungen und vielschichtige Kartografien ein Eintauchen in die Stadt bis hinunter auf eine geradezu mikroskopische Ebene. Tausende von Fotos wechseln sich ab mit individuellen Fallstudien zu illegalen Immigranten wie zu Vergnügungsreisenden.

Ein Schwerpunkt liegt auf den Konflikten des Ausschlusses, die vom Grenzregime Europas oder der durch die europäische Gesetzgebung ebenso erzwungenen wie kriminalisierten Schattenwirtschaft hervorgebracht werden. In solchen Widersprüchen liegen die Gründe für das Zerbrechen des metropolen Zusammenhangs in die zweigeteilte Dual City. Die gegenwärtige Debatte zur Fluchtbewegung aus den Schlachtfeldern der westlichen Allianzen und den von der globalisierten Wirtschaft pauperisierten Zonen der Welt findet hier eine einzigartig materialreiche Grundlage.
HerausgeberWolfgang Scheppe
VerlagHatje Cantz
Jahr
EinbandartBroschur
SpracheEnglisch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-7757-4111-8
Beiträge vonGiorgio Agamben, Valeria Burgio
Artikel IDart-27734

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

58,00 € 24,00 €  
Storia, guerra, politica (Italian edition)
49,00 € 20,00 €  
N° 205 deutsche Ausgabe
52,00 €  
The Garden Suburb and the Modern City
95,00 € 29,95 €  
48,00 € 20,00 €  
Idée et matière
45,00 € 15,00 €  
39,00 € 14,95 €  
Im Café sitzen von A-Z
7,80 €