Tomeu Coll – Badlands
160 pages, 16.5 x 22.5 cm , 898 g.
Tomeu Coll – Badlands
Raised by Bones
€30.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
»For more than a decade, while not travelling around the world, Tomeu Coll has captured the unfathomable and almost unreal territories of his island: Mallorca (Balearic Islands) in the middle of the Mediterranean Sea.

Badlands is not too far away. It’s located just a few meters away from where the turbines of airplanes, crowded with tourists that only search for sun and beaches, pass by skimming the surface. Although they land very close, most people won’t even see it. The stories from the Badlands float, like those of every suburb, apart from what seems important to the rest of the world. The Badlands will never be seen in official pictures, tourist guides or postcards from the island. It’s what the locals call a »lloc malsa«, drowned with darkness, fear, malaria and its own past. In addition, it’s also his home, the photographer’s house, the weirdest and most complicated place, one where it’s hard to survive and return. A place impossible to leave completely.« (From the text by Celtia Traviesas)

Tomeu Coll, born 1981 in Mallorca, has been the recipient of several photojournalism and documentary photography awards, including the Illes Balears Photojournalism Award. He was featured as an Emerging Photographer by Smithsonian Magazine (USA) for his project Badlands, and has had solo shows at the Winter Festival of Sarajevo, curated by Ellen James, and at La Nacional Gallery in New York. Coll currently shoots for Stern, Der Spiegel, L'Illustre and other international publications.
PublisherKehrer
Year
CoverHardcover
LanguageEnglish
 More
ISBN978-3-86828-965-7
Article IDart-28578

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

Books on Books #7
€42.00 €29.95  
€45.00 €15.00  
€39.80 €14.95  
(Second printing)
€65.00  
(Book + signed Print)
€298.00

Tomeu Coll – Badlands
160 Seiten, 16,5 x 22,5 cm , 898 g.
Tomeu Coll – Badlands
Raised by Bones
30,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
In seinem ersten Buch stellt Tomeu Coll eine düstere und mythische Betrachtung der Badlands, der »males terres« der Insel Mallorca vor, die sonst besser für ihre sonnigen Strände und betuchten Touristen bekannt ist.

»Wenn er nicht gerade irgendwo anders auf der Welt fotografierte, hat Tomeu Coll mehr als ein Jahrzehnt lang die unergründlichen und beinahe unwirklichen Regionen seiner Heimatinsel festgehalten: Mallorca (Balearen) im Mittelmeer.

Die Badlands sind nicht allzu weit weg. Sie liegen nur ein paar Meter entfernt von dort, wo die Turbinen der Flugzeuge, vollgeladen mit Touristen auf der Suche nach Sonne und Stränden, im Vorbeifliegen die Erdoberfläche zu streifen scheinen. Obwohl sie ganz in der Nähe landen, werden die meisten Menschen sie überhaupt nicht wahrnehmen. Die Geschichten aus den Badlands sind, wie die der meisten Vororte, weit weg von dem, was dem Rest der Welt wichtig erscheint. Man wird die Badlands niemals in offiziellen Bildern, Touristenführern oder auf Postkarten der Insel sehen. Sie sind, was die Einheimischen einen »lloc malsa« nennen, getränkt in Finsternis, Furcht, Malaria und der eigenen Vergangenheit. Sie sind außerdem die Heimat des Fotografen, hier, am merkwürdigsten und kompliziertesten Ort, an dem das Überleben ebenso schwer fällt wie das Zurückkehren, steht sein Haus. Ein Ort, den man niemals ganz verlassen kann.« (Aus dem Text von Celtia Traviesas)

Tomeu Coll, geboren 1981 in Mallorca, wurde mit zahlreichen Preisen für Fotojournalismus ausgezeichnet, darunter der Illes Balears Photojournalism Award. Das Smithsonian Magazine (USA) stellte ihn für das Projekt Badlands als Emerging Photographer vor und er hatte Einzelausstellungen in Sarajevo und in New York. Coll arbeitet für Stern, Der Spiegel, L'Illustre und andere internationale Publikationen.
VerlagKehrer
Jahr
EinbandartFester Einband
SpracheEnglisch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-86828-965-7
Artikel IDart-28578

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

Facing the Sixties
39,80 €  
45,00 € 15,00 €  
(sign.)
38,50 €  
98,00 €  
35,00 € 10,00 €  
(English Edition)
35,00 €  
52,00 €  
(Book + signed Print)
375,00 €