Annie Leibovitz – The Early Years
180 pages, 21.6 x 27 cm , 1003 g.
Annie Leibovitz – The Early Years
1970 - 1983
€40.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
The catalogue to an installation at the LUMA Foundation in Arles, France, Annie Leibovitz: The Early Years, 1970–1983 returns to Leibovitz’s origins. It begins with a moment of artistic revelation: the spontaneous shot that made Leibovitz think she could transition from painting to photography as her area of study at the San Francisco Art Institute. The meticulously and personally curated collection, including contact sheets and Polaroids, provides a vivid document both of Leibovitz’s development as a young artist and of a pivotal era.

Leibovitz’s reportage-like photo stories for Rolling Stone, which she began working for when she was still a student, record such heady political, cultural, and counter-cultural developments as the Vietnam War protests, the launch of Apollo 17, the presidential campaign of 1972, Richard Nixon’s resignation in 1974, and the Rolling Stones on tour in 1975. Then, as now, Leibovitz won the trust of the prominent and famous, and the book’s pages are animated by many familiar faces, among them Muhammad Ali, Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Ken Kesey, Patti Smith, Bruce Springsteen, Joan Didion, and Debbie Harry, as well as John Lennon and Yoko Ono, captured in their now iconic embrace just hours before Lennon was assassinated.

Throughout the book, the portraits and reportage are linked to images of cars, driving, and even a series on California highway patrolmen. In many ways, it’s a celebration of life on the road—the frenetic rhythms, the chance encounters, the meditative opportunities. And with its rich archival aspects, it is also a tribute to an earlier time and a young photographer enmeshed in a culture that was itself in transition.
PublisherTASCHEN
Year
CoverHardcover
LanguageGerman, French, English
 More
ISBN978-3-8365-7189-0
Author(s)Luc Sante, Jann S. Wenner
Article IDart-28872

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

Nothing Personal (Deutsche Ausgabe)
€60.00 €20.00  
Photographs 1982-2011
€50.00  
€58.00 €28.00  
€38.00 €15.00

Annie Leibovitz – The Early Years
180 Seiten, 21,6 x 27 cm , 1003 g.
Annie Leibovitz – The Early Years
1970 - 1983
40,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Annie Leibovitz: The Early Years, 1970–1983, der Katalog zu einer Installation in der LUMA Foundation in Arles, kehrt zu Leibovitz’ Ursprüngen zurück, als sie noch am San Francisco Art Institute Kunst studierte und eher zufällig zur Fotografie fand. Die von Leibovitz persönlich zusammengestellte Sammlung, die auch Kontaktbögen und Polaroidfotos enthält, dokumentiert Leibovitz’ Entwicklung als junge Fotografin und ist zugleich Porträt einer faszinierenden, bewegten Ära.

Leibovitz’ Fotoreportagen für den Rolling Stone, für den sie bereits während ihrer Studienzeit zu arbeiten begann, dokumentieren aufregende politische und gesellschaftliche Ereignisse und Verwerfungen wie die Proteste gegen den Vietnamkrieg, den Start von Apollo 17, den Präsidentschaftswahlkampf von 1972, Richard Nixons Amtsverzicht 1974 und dieTournee der Rolling Stones 1975. Zu den porträtierten Stars zählen u. a. Muhammad Ali, Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Ken Kesey, Patti Smith, Bruce Springsteen, Joan Didion, Debbie Harry und John Lennon und Yoko Ono, festgehalten in ihrer inzwischen ikonischen Umarmung wenige Stunden vor Lennons Ermordung.

Die Porträts und Reportagen in diesem Band sind verknüpft durch Bilder von Autos, vom Autofahren und kalifornischen Highwaypolizisten. So ist Annie Leibovitz: The Early Years, die Hommage an die Anfangsjahre einer legendären Fotografin, zugleich auch eine Hymne an das Leben on the road mit seinem spezifischen Rhythmus, zufälligen Begegnungen und meditativen Momenten.
VerlagTASCHEN
Jahr
EinbandartFester Einband
SpracheDeutsch, Französisch, Englisch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-8365-7189-0
Autor(en)Luc Sante, Jann S. Wenner
Artikel IDart-28872

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

A Book of Moments
30,00 € 10,00 €  
Photographs 1982-2011
50,00 €  
44,90 € 14,95 €  
55,00 €  
38,00 € 15,00 €  
40 Years of Photography
72,00 € 65,00 €  
24,95 €