Robert Knoth & Antoinette de Jong – Tree and Soil
112 pages, 19 x 28 cm , 592 g.
Robert Knoth & Antoinette de Jong – Tree and Soil
€45.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
Eight years after their by now legendary publication ‚Poppy – Trails of Afghan Heroin’, Robert Knoth and Antoinette de Jong finished their next long-term project ‘Tree and Soil’. After the nuclear disaster in 2011 they photographed and filmed the changing landscapes in the closed zones around Fukushima over a period of five years. They documented evacuated farmhouses, gardens, agricultural fields and the surrounding hills and forests and interviewed former inhabitants of the area.

For this book they combine their own landscape photography with historical material from naturalist and explorer Philipp Franz von Siebold’s collection. In the early 19th century Siebold had the opportunity to travel throughout the country and to take home not only vast quantities of artefacts, plant and animal specimens but also a treasure throve of woodblock prints made by artists like Kawahara Keiga. Siebold’s collections –-held in the Netherlands by Naturalis Biodiversity Center in Leiden – illustrate how Japanese culture is deeply rooted in and inspired by nature. He perfectly represents the Age of Exploration in which explorers travelled the globe to uncover the secrets of the natural world. This era can be seen as a prequel to the anthropocene, in which our planet has been profoundly changed by human activity. In ‘Tree and Soil’ Knoth and de Jong underline the intrinsic beauty and value of nature, connecting the past and present by documenting and interpreting the transformations of the deserted landscapes around Fukushima.

„At times we felt like archaeologists of the future, trying to understand what happened in a distant past when a mysterious force resulted in the evacuation of towns, villages, and forests, leaving only a residue of human presence.“

This book has been long in the making. It was carefully edited by the authors with curator Iris Sikking, designed by Kummer&Herrman, renowned Dutch designers of many award winning photobooks, and beautifully produced by printer Rob Stolk in a very limited one time edition.
PublisherHartmann Books
Year
CoverHardcover
LanguageEnglish
NoteHardcover with french-fold dust jacket. Edition of 925 copies
 More
ISBN978-3-96070-047-0
ContributorsErik A. de Jong
Article IDart-28980

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

(French/English edition)
€98.00 €48.00  
with Jennifer Baichwal and Nicholas de Pencier
€95.00  
€45.00 €15.00  
€35.00 €7.95  
2008 – 09
€118.00 €68.00  
One Picture Book #59
€150.00  
Pripiat et la zone d'exclusion de Tchernobyl
€65.00 €20.00

Robert Knoth & Antoinette de Jong – Tree and Soil
112 Seiten, 19 x 28 cm , 592 g.
Robert Knoth & Antoinette de Jong – Tree and Soil
45,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Acht Jahre nach ihrer inzwischen legendären Publikation »Poppy – Trails of Afghan Heroin« haben Robert Knoth und Antoinette de Jong ihr nächstes Langzeitprojekt “Tree and Soil” abgeschlossen. Nach der Atomkatastrophe von 2011 fotografierten und filmten Sie über einen Zeitraum von fünf Jahren die sich verändernden Landschaften in den Sperrzonen um Fukushima. Sie dokumentierten aufgegebene Bauernhöfe, Gärten, landwirtschaftliche Felder und die umliegenden Hügel und Wälder und interviewten ehemalige Bewohner des Gebiets.

Für dieses Buch kombinieren sie ihre eigene Landschaftsfotografie mit historischem Material aus der Sammlung des Naturforschers und Entdeckers von Philipp Franz von Siebold. Zu Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts hatte Siebold die Gelegenheit, Japan zu bereisen und nicht nur Unmengen von Artefakten, Pflanzen- und Tierpräparaten, sondern auch einen großen Zahl von Farbholzschnitten von Künstlern wie Kawahara Keiga nach Europa zu bringen. Siebolds Sammlungen – in den Niederlanden vom Naturalis Biodiversitätszentrum in Leiden aufbewahrt – veranschaulichen, wie tief die japanische Kultur in der Natur verwurzelt und von ihr inspiriert ist. Er repräsentiert perfekt das Zeitalter der Entdecker, die um den Globus reisten, um die Geheimnisse der Natur zu entdecken. Dieses Zeitalter kann als Vorläufer des Anthropozän betrachtet werden, in dem unser Planet durch menschliche Aktivitäten tiefgreifend verändert wird. In »Tree and Soil« unterstreichen Knoth und de Jong Wert und Schönheit der Natur und verbinden Vergangenheit und Gegenwart, indem sie die Veränderungen der menschenleeren Landschaften um Fukushima dokumentieren und auf ihre eigene Weise interpretieren.

»Manchmal fühlten wir uns wie Archäologen der Zukunft und versuchten zu verstehen, was in einer fernen Vergangenheit geschah, als eine geheimnisvolle Kraft zur Evakuierung von Städten, Dörfern und Wäldern führte und nur noch ein Rest menschlicher Präsenz zurückblieb.«

Dieses Buch hat eine lange Entstehungsgeschichte. Es wurde von den Autoren zusammen mit der Kuratorin Iris Sikking sorgfältig redigiert, von Kummer&Herrman, den renommierten, vielfach preisgekrönten niederländischen Designern, entworfen und vom Drucker Rob Stolk in einer sehr limitierten, einmaligen Auflage kongenial reproduziert.

VerlagHartmann Books
Jahr
EinbandartFester Einband
SpracheEnglisch
BemerkungHardcover mit amerikanischem Posterschutzumschlag. Auflage 925 Ex.
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-96070-047-0
Beiträge vonErik A. de Jong
Artikel IDart-28980

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

35,00 € 10,00 €  
45,00 € 15,00 €  
35,00 € 7,95 €  
Camera Obscura
24,80 € 9,90 €  
Pripiat et la zone d'exclusion de Tchernobyl
65,00 € 20,00 €  
Beyond the Post Military Landscape of the United Kingdom
44,00 €  
48,00 € 20,00 €