Frank Auerbach und Lucian Freud
104 pages, 20.5 x 24.5 cm , 348 g.
Frank Auerbach und Lucian Freud
Gesichter
Was €14.90 €7.95
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
Frank Auerbach (b. 1931) and Lucian Freud (1922–2011) are among the most prominent exponents of post-war English figurative art. This catalogue unites major works by the two artists, in particular portraits that are among the most uncompromising and most innovative in contemporary art.

The two artists were close friends for nearly four decades, until Lucian Freud’s death. It was not only mutual appreciation for each other’s work that bonded them; they also shared the fate of having been born as sons of Jewish families in Berlin. Already as children, they were compelled to emigrate/flee from Nazi Germany to England.

Their works are expressions of very personal vision and experience. And however different their formal approaches, Auerbach and Freud pursued surprisingly similar strategies: for weeks and sometimes years, they observed and portrayed the same people from among their circles of acquaintances. This repetition and limitation served them as means of concentration in the search for insight: into another person, into the self and into the world.
PublisherStädel Museum
Year
CoverSoftcover
LanguageGerman
 More
ISBN978-3-941399-81-5
Type of bookExhib'publication
Museum / PlaceStädel Museum, Frankfurt
Article IDart-46095
More books from Frank Auerbach view all

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

L'œuvre graphique/l'œuvre sculpté
€250.00 €25.00  
(World of art series)
€19.80  
Process and Collaboration
€49.95 €14.95  
€28.00 €9.95  
€35.00 €15.00  
40th Anniversary Edition
€20.00  
€38.00 €15.00

Frank Auerbach und Lucian Freud
104 Seiten, 20,5 x 24,5 cm , 348 g.
Frank Auerbach und Lucian Freud
Gesichter
Statt 14,90 € 7,95 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Frank Auerbach (geb. 1931) und Lucian Freud (1922–2011) zählen zu den bedeutendsten figurativen Künstlern der englischen Nachkriegskunst. Der Katalog versammelt erstmals Hauptwerke der beiden Künstler, insbesondere Bildnisse, die zu den kompromisslosesten und innovativsten der zeitgenössischen Kunst gehören.

Über nahezu vier Jahrzehnte, bis zum Tod von Lucian Freud, waren die Künstler eng befreundet. Sie verband nicht nur die Wertschätzung für die Kunst des jeweils anderen, sondern auch das Schicksal, in Berlin als Söhne jüdischer Familien geboren worden zu sein. Noch im Kindesalter mussten sie aus dem nationalsozialistischen Deutschland nach England flüchten beziehungsweise emigrieren.

Ihre Werke sind Ausdruck eines sehr persönlichen Sehens und Erlebens und entstanden trotz großer formaler und stilistischer Unterschiede nach überraschend gleichen Strategien: Über Wochen, manchmal Jahre hinweg beobachteten und porträtierten Auerbach und Freud beharrlich dieselben Menschen aus ihrer jeweils näheren Umgebung. Wiederholung und Beschränkung sind ihnen Mittel der Konzentration auf der Suche nach Erkenntnis: über das Gegenüber, über sich selbst und über die Welt.
VerlagStädel Museum
Jahr
EinbandartBroschur
SpracheDeutsch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-941399-81-5
BuchtypAusst'publikation
Museum / OrtStädel Museum, Frankfurt
Artikel IDart-46095
Weitere Bücher von Frank Auerbach alle ansehen

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

38,00 € 18,00 €  
L'œuvre graphique/l'œuvre sculpté
250,00 € 25,00 €  
35,00 € 5,00 €  
(World of art series)
19,80 €  
Process and Collaboration
49,95 € 14,95 €  
28,00 € 9,95 €  
48,00 € 19,80 €  
40th Anniversary Edition
20,00 €