Ticket to the Moon
176 pages, 21 x 21 cm , 544 g.
Ticket to the Moon
Was €26.90 €9.95
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
The Moon, often sung about, often painted, a subject of longing, a place with magic powers. The face of the Moon, light in the darkness of night, a poetic metaphor and, as it were, a visible projection of our desire to discover and investigate the world beyond our planet.

The “Sputnik Shock” of the 1950s was followed by a race by the two superpowers that were the Soviet Union and the USA. Which would be the first to land on the Moon? In the end, it was NASA that was to succeed in pulling off this coup in 1969. Neil Armstrong was the first man on the Moon and he planted an American flag there.

2019 is the 50th anniversary of the lunar landing. Kunsthalle Krems is taking advantage of the occasion to mount a multifaceted exhibition on the subject of the Moon. To accompany the exhibition, Ticket to the Moon devotes itself to artistic commentaries on the lunar landing and the Moon as a symbol of man’s dreams, longings and speculations. It shows and discusses works as of the race to the Moon in the 1950s, direct reactions to the lunar landing as of 1969, as well as current artistic positions, some of them by younger artists.
PublisherVerlag für moderne Kunst
Year
CoverPaperback with flaps
LanguageEnglish, German
 More
ISBN978-3-903269-86-6
ContributorsRebekka Reuter, Florian Steininger, Erwin Uhrmann et al.
Type of bookExhib'publication
Museum / PlaceKunsthalle Krems
Article IDart-49548

 

Other books with these keywords:

Cristiano Raimondi, Simone Menegoi (ed.)
€40.00 €25.00  
The Story of the BritArt Revolution
€44.00 €17.95  
Identität und Transformation in der zeitgenössischen Kunst
€49.80 €19.80  
The Art of Everyday Life in the DPRK
€29.95 €19.80  
*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*
Art and Mourning in America
€69.95 €32.00  
Women Portraying Women
€50.00 €15.00  
€49.95  
Die neue Sammlung Fotografie
€36.00 €9.95  
The New Photography Collection
€36.00 €15.00  
Rebuilding Musa Dagh in Lebanon
€40.00 €9.95  
*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*
The Art of Everyday Life in the DPRK
€29.95 €16.95

Ticket to the Moon
176 Seiten, 21 x 21 cm , 544 g.
Ticket to the Moon
Statt 26,90 € 9,95 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Der Mond, oft besungen, oft gemalt, ein Sehnsuchtsort, Ort magischer Kräfte. Das Mondgesicht, Licht in der Nacht, eine poetische Metapher und gleichsam sichtbare Projektion für den Wunsch, die Welt außerhalb unseres Planeten zu entdecken, zu erforschen.

Nach dem „Sputnikschock“ der 1950er Jahre beginnt ein Wettlauf der beiden Großmächte Sowjetunion und USA. Wer landet als erster auf dem Mond? Der NASA gelingt schließlich 1969 dieser Coup. Neil Armstrong ist der erste Mensch auf dem Mond und hisst dort die amerikanische Flagge. 2019 jährt sich die Mondlandung nun zum 50. Mal. Die Kunsthalle Krems nimmt dieses Jubiläum zum Anlass für eine vielgesichtige Ausstellung zum Thema „Mond“. „Ticket to the Moon“ widmet sich künstlerischen Kommentaren zur Mondlandung und dem Mond als Symbol für menschliche Träume, Sehnsüchte und Spekulationen.

Gezeigt und besprochen werden Werke ab dem Wettlauf zum Mond in den 1950er Jahren, direkte Reaktionen auf die Mondlandung ab 1969 sowie ganz aktuelle künstlerische Positionen auch jüngerer Künstlerinnen und Künstler.
VerlagVerlag für moderne Kunst
Jahr
EinbandartKlappenbroschur
SpracheEnglisch, Deutsch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-903269-86-6
Beiträge vonRebekka Reuter, Florian Steininger, Erwin Uhrmann et al.
BuchtypAusst'publikation
Museum / OrtKunsthalle Krems
Artikel IDart-49548

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

Art and the Performative in Postwar France
65,00 € 15,00 €  
Photography from The Walther Collection
85,00 €  
Die Gruppe SPUR, der Pop und die Politik
28,00 € 14,00 €  
38,00 € 9,95 €  
Portrait of a City
50,00 €  
A Semi-serious A-to-Z Archive
95,00 € 29,95 €  
40th Anniversary Edition
25,00 €  
(EN) Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam / Martin-Gropius-Bau, Berlin
45,00 € 25,00 €  
25 Years in 200 Pivotal Artworks
69,95 € 39,80 €  
A Celebration of Independent Bookstores
44,00 €