Mark Ludwig – Our Will To Live
328 Seiten, 21,5 x 26,5 cm , 1420 g.
Mark Ludwig – Our Will To Live
The Terezín Music Critiwues of Viktor Ullmann
38,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
In Terezín, a Nazi camp where 33,000 people died, imprisoned musicians and artists created a remarkable cultural community that persevered against all odds. Our Will to Live brings us into this astonishing world. It presents the first full translation of concert critiques written by accomplished musician, scholar—and Terezín prisoner—Viktor Ullmann. He describes Terezín performances by ensembles, youth choirs and solo artists including luminaries of European cabaret and opera, plus works by a generation of promising composers silenced too soon: Gideon Klein, Pavel Haas, Hans Krása and others. Paired with Ullmann’s critiques are more than 250 rarely seen concert posters, programs, portraits and scenes rendered by imprisoned artists; these are from a trove of hidden artworks recovered after liberation. Our Will to Live also offers an original collection of vintage and modern recordings performed by Terezín survivors and contemporary masters. Essays and annotations by scholar Mark Ludwig set the historical context, introduce the artists and deepen what we know of this extraordinary chapter in World War II history. Terezín survivors helped guide this project, the result of more than 30 years of research and writing. Shortly after Ullmann authored his final concert critique, Terezín’s cultural community was decimated: nearly all the artists were murdered in Auschwitz. Our Will to Live is a tribute to their creative will.
Artikel IDart-49750


Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

(French edt.)
40,00 €  
Alexej von Jawlensky & Marianne von Werefkin
45,00 € 19,95 €  
(English edition)
45,00 € 19,95 €  
12,95 € 6,95 €  
1916 - 1919
45,00 € 19,95 €  
38,00 € 15,00 €  
Graphic Works by the Master of Film
85,00 € 39,95 €  
(Deutsche Ausgabe)
45,00 € 15,00 €  
28,00 € 12,00 €  
Eine visuelle Geschichte der Sowjetunion von 1917 bis zum Tode Stalins
39,90 € 14,95 €  
Geschichte eines Meisterwerks
19,80 € 7,95 €  
39,80 € 19,95 €  
Facsimile of El Lissitzky's Edition of 1919
25,00 € 9,95 €