Helmut Newton – A Gun for Hire
240 pages, 23 x 30.5 cm , 1850 g.
Helmut Newton – A Gun for Hire
€50.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
Helmut Newton did not distinguish compositionally or stylistically between his magazine work and assignments for commercial clients. He ironically referred to himself as “a gun for hire.” That was also the title of June Newton's legendary book about his commercial photography, which is now available in a new edition revised by the Helmut Newton Foundation.

"Some people's photography is an art. Mine is not. If they happen to be exhibited in a gallery or a museum, that's fine. But that's not why I do them. I'm a gun for hire," Helmut Newton told Newsweek in 2004. This prosaic proclamation from one of the 20th century's most celebrated photographers may be perceived as shocking. Still it firmly positions Newton as the no-frills image-maker that he was. His work is so powerful and striking, that it defies categorization. In refusing to call his work "art," Newton leaves us free to do so. Judging from the amount of museum and gallery shows that have featured his work, it is clear that the option has been widely exercised.

A Gun for Hire brings together a selection of Newton's fashion catalog work from the early 1960s to 2003 including work for BiBA (the first fashion catalog in 1962), Chanel, Yves Saint Laurent, Versace, Thierry Mugler, Blumarine, Villeroy & Boch and Absolut Vodka, as well as his last editorial photographs for US and Italian Vogue—encompassing the body of work he made as a "gun for hire."

With an introduction by Matthias Harder and statements by Pierre Bergé, Tom Ford, Josephine Hart, June Newton, and Anna Wintour.

The exhibition HELMUT NEWTON. BRANDS, which will be presented at the Helmut Newton Foundation, Berlin, from December 3, 2022 to May 14, 2023, brings together over 200 photographs by Helmut Newton, including many unknown motifs from Newton's collaborations with internationally renowned brands such as Swarovski, Saint Laurent, Wolford, Blumarine, Chanel, Neiman Marcus, Picot Watches, Absolut Vodka, and Lavazza. These series of Helmut Newton are for the first time part of a comprehensive exhibition of his advertising photography and, with over 100 almost unknown photographs, offer an important contribution to Newton's well-known œuvre.
EditorJune Newton
PublisherTASCHEN
Year
CoverHardcover
LanguageGerman, English, French
 More
ISBN978-3-8228-4643-8
Author(s)Matthias Harder
Article IDart-58635

 

Other books with these keywords:

€24.50  
€45.00  
Photographs, Drawings and Photomontages
€39.90 €17.95  
Retrospektive 1930–1970
€58.00 €29.80  
N° 283
€60.00  
(Deutsche Ausgabe)
€59.00 €29.99  
To look without fear (MoMA-Katalog, deutsche Ausgabe)
€49.00  
€48.00 €19.95

Helmut Newton – A Gun for Hire
240 Seiten, 23 x 30,5 cm , 1850 g.
Helmut Newton – A Gun for Hire
50,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Helmut Newton unterschied kompositorisch und stilistisch nicht zwischen der Arbeit für Zeitschriften und den Aufträgen von Werbekunden. Selbstironisch nannte er sich „A Gun for Hire“ („Auftragskiller“)– und so hieß auch June Newtons legendäres Buch über seine kommerzielle Fotografie, das nun in einer von der Helmut Newton Stiftung überarbeiteten Neuausgabe erscheint.

„Die fotografische Arbeit mancher Menschen ist Kunst. Meine nicht. Wenn meine Fotos zufällig in einer Galerie oder einem Museum ausgestellt werden, soll es mir recht sein. Aber das ist nicht der Grund, warum ich sie mache. Ich bin ein „Auftragskiller“ sagte Helmut Newton 2004 zu Newsweek. Das schnörkellose Werk des vielleicht am meisten gefeierten Fotografen des 20. Jahrhunderts widersetzt sich jeder Kategorisierung. Newton sträubte sich stets gegen die Bezeichnung „Kunst“ und überlässt es nun dem Betrachter selbst, dies heute, in Anbetracht der zahllosen Schauen in Museen und Galerien, anders zu sehen.

A Gun for Hire vereint eine Auswahl von Newtons Auftrags- und Modefotografien der frühen 1960er-Jahre bis 2003, u.a. für BiBA (erster Modekatalog 1962), Chanel, Yves Saint Laurent, Versace, Thierry Mugler, Blumarine, Villeroy & Boch und Absolut Vodka, sowie seine letzten Bilder für die amerikanische und italienische Vogue – alles Auftragsarbeiten des "Gun for Hire".

Mit einer Einleitung von Matthias Harder und Statements von June Newton, Pierre Bergé, Tom Ford, Josephine Hart und Anna Wintour.

Die Ausstellung HELMUT NEWTON. BRANDS, die vom 3. Dezember 2022 bis 14. Mai 2023 in der Helmut Newton Stiftung, Berlin, präsentiert wird, vereint über 200 Fotografien Helmut Newtons, darunter viele unbekannte Motive aus seinen Kooperationen mit international renommierten Marken wie u.a. Swarovski, Saint Laurent, Wolford, Blumarine, Chanel, Absolut Vodka und Lavazza. Diese Werkgruppen von Helmut Newton sind erstmals Bestandteil einer Überblicksausstellung zu seiner Werbefotografie und bieten mit über 100 nahezu unbekannten Fotografien eine wichtige Ergänzung zu Newtons bekanntem Werk.
HerausgeberJune Newton
VerlagTASCHEN
Jahr
EinbandartFester Einband
SpracheDeutsch, Englisch, Französisch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-8228-4643-8
Autor(en)Matthias Harder
Artikel IDart-58635

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

24,50 €  
45,00 €  
Photographs, Drawings and Photomontages
39,90 € 17,95 €  
Retrospektive 1930–1970
58,00 € 29,80 €  
N° 283
60,00 €  
60,00 € 39,95 €  
To look without fear (MoMA-Katalog, deutsche Ausgabe)
49,00 €  
48,00 € 19,95 €