Andy Warhol – The LIFE Years
196 pages, 24 x 32 cm , 1485 g.
Andy Warhol – The LIFE Years
1949-1959
Was €34.90 €19.95
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
In 2011 a sensational find came to light in Andy Warhol's estate: an extensive collection of drawings that provides impressive evidence of Warhol's artistic talents. He used iconic photographs and magazine illustrations, many of which were taken from LIFE magazine, as inspiration. This publication explores these sources and presents them in juxtaposition.

Drawing was an essential element of Warhol's everyday life during his early years in New York. He was particularly inspired by the blossoming magazine culture and its pictorial language. Extensive research has now identified the majority of the sources he used. Warhol drew a large number of subjects from the world-famous LIFE magazine.

This publication presents notable examples of the copying technique developed by Warhol, known as "blotted line", and presents the drawings in direct juxtaposition with the sources that he used. The accompanying essays explore Andy Warhol's unique design process and his very own method for making transfers between the media of photography and drawing.
PublisherHirmer
Year
CoverHardcover
LanguageGerman, English
 More
ISBN978-3-7774-2438-5
ContributorsPaul Tanner, Olaf Kunde et al.
Article IDart-59325

 

Other books with these keywords:

Celebrities and Self-Portraits
€50.00  
€39.95 €15.00  
€39.80  
.. and Dolls 1948-1985. Warhol's Small World
€50.00  
€46.00 €19.80  
A Retrospective
€78.00 €68.00  
€60.00 €39.95

Andy Warhol – The LIFE Years
196 Seiten, 24 x 32 cm , 1485 g.
Andy Warhol – The LIFE Years
1949-1959
Statt 34,90 € 19,95 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
2011 wurde im Nachlass von Andy Warhol ein sensationeller Fund entdeckt: Ein umfangreiches Konvolut an Zeichnungen, die eindrucksvoll Warhols künstlerische Fähigkeiten belegen. Als Vorlage dienten ihm Fotografien und Magazinabbildungen – insbesondere aus der Zeitschrift LIFE. Die Publikation, die in Zusammenarbeit mit der Graphischen Sammlung der ETH Zürich entsteht, spürt diesen Motiven nach und zeigt sie in Gegenüberstellung.

Zeichnen war essentieller Bestandteil von Warhols Alltag während seiner ersten Jahre in New York. Inspirieren ließ er sich dabei vor allem durch die aufkommende Magazin-Kultur und deren Bildsprache. In einer aufwendigen Recherche konnte nun ein Großteil der verwendeten Vorlagen identifiziert werden. Viele Motive entnahm Warhol dabei dem weltberühmten LIFE Magazin.

Die Publikation zeigt herausragende Beispiele der von Warhol entwickelten Kopier-Technik, der sogenannten „blotted line“, und präsentiert die Zeichnungen in direkter Gegenüberstellung zu den verwendeten Vorlagen. Die begleitenden Essays beleuchten das singuläre gestalterische Verfahren von Andy Warhol und seine ureigene Methode des Transfers zwischen den Medien Fotografie und Zeichnung.
VerlagHirmer
Jahr
EinbandartFester Einband
SpracheDeutsch, Englisch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-7774-2438-5
Beiträge vonPaul Tanner, Olaf Kunde et al.
Artikel IDart-59325

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

Celebrities and Self-Portraits
50,00 €  
39,95 € 15,00 €  
39,80 €  
35,00 € 9,95 €  
.. and Dolls 1948-1985. Warhol's Small World
50,00 €  
300,00 € 120,00 €  
46,00 € 19,80 €  
A Retrospective
78,00 € 68,00 €  
60,00 € 39,95 €