The Book of Printed Fabrics
888 pages, 24.3 x 30.4 cm , 5140 g.
The Book of Printed Fabrics
From the 16th century until today
€150.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
Essential Material! Explore centuries of timeless textiles from the Musée de l’Impression sur Étoffes.

In the far east of France, close to the German and Swiss borders, lies the historic city of Mulhouse. During the early 19th century, it became one of the leading centres of textile manufacture in the country. Today it is home to the Musée de l’Impression sur Étoffes, a museum dedicated entirely to the history of fabric printing from the 17th century right up to the present day.

Few are the serious fashion designers who have not come to visit this astonishing temple to textiles. This book, however, gives you the key to those vaults, presenting on its broad pages perfectly captured images of its collections that span four different continents – recounting a fascinating artistic and technological adventure across the world, from its origins in India to the most contemporary creations.

Across two volumes, you’ll discover nine luxuriantly illustrated chapters that being to glorious life a chronological and thematic overview of the Musée’s unprecedented retrospective of the art of printed fabrics. And that journey begins in India, with the first volume devoted to the far east origins of the designs that made these prints famous, and how they came over to the factories of Europe. You’ll also find here stories and images detailing artistic innovations such as toile de Jouy and the development of new colour ranges.

In the second volume, the reader can look back at the incredible inventiveness of manufacturers and their designers throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Explore eye-catching cashmere motifs and the intense passion for nature and flowers that emerged under the Second Empire, before the artistic avant-gardes and modernity profoundly evolved the artistic creation of textile prints.

With nearly 900 pieces reproduced here to the highest possible standard, you will journey through the extraordinary tapestry of motifs and colours, that make this book such a peerless source of inspiration for textile enthusiasts of all kinds.
PublisherTASCHEN
Year
CoverHardcover in decorative slipcase
LanguageEnglish, French, German
 More
ISBN978-3-8365-6276-8
Author(s)Aziza Gril-Mariotte
Article IDart-61844

 

Other books with these keywords:

A Celebration of the Cathedral
€25.00 €12.95  
»Flash Sale! Ends soon!«
€60.00 €39.95  
€49.95  
*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*
The Shape of Sound | 100 Iconic Designs
€49.95 €24.95  
And Feel and Do Things
€37.50 €19.95  
And Feel and Do Things
€60.00 €29.95

The Book of Printed Fabrics
888 Seiten, 24,3 x 30,4 cm , 5140 g.
The Book of Printed Fabrics
From the 16th century until today
150,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Der Stoff, aus dem die Träume sind! Eine Zeitreise durch die Textilgeschichte des Musée de l’Impression sur Étoffes.

Im äußersten Osten Frankreichs, unweit der Grenze zu Deutschland und der Schweiz, liegt die historische Stadt Mulhouse. Im frühen 19. Jahrhundert wurde sie zu einem führenden Zentrum der Textilherstellung im Land. Heute ist hier das Musée de l’Impression sur Étoffes zu Hause – ein Museum, das sich voll und ganz der Geschichte des Textildrucks vom 17. Jahrhundert bis heute verschrieben hat.

Nur wenige namhafte Modeschöpferinnen und Modeschöpfer haben diesen Tempel für Textilien nicht besucht. Mit den zwei Bänden halten Sie den Schlüssel zu seinen Gewölben in den Händen. Virtuos eingefangene Aufnahmen der textilen Sammlungen von vier Kontinenten erzählen auf großformatigen Seiten die Geschichte eines faszinierenden künstlerischen und technischen Abenteuers von den Anfängen in Indien bis zu den allerneuesten Kreationen.

In zwei Bänden erwecken neun umfangreich bebilderte Kapitel die chronologisch und thematisch beispiellose Rückschau des Museums auf die Kunst des Textildrucks zu strahlendem Leben. Und diese Reise beginnt in Indien. Band eins geht den fernöstlichen Ursprüngen der Entwürfe nach, die den Textildruck berühmt gemacht haben, und folgt ihrem Weg in die Fabriken Europas. Hinzu kommen Geschichten und Bilder von der Entwicklung neuer Farbpaletten und künstlerischen Neuerungen wie der Toile de Jouy.
Der zweite Band blickt zurück auf den unglaublichen Einfallsreichtum der Hersteller und ihrer Designer im 19. und 20. Jahrhundert. Entdecken Sie Kaschmirmotive, die ins Auge springen, und die intensive Leidenschaft für Natur und Blumen unter Napoleon III. in Frankreich, bevor künstlerische Avantgarden und die Moderne die kreative Gestaltung des Textildrucks grundlegend veränderten.

Mit fast 900 Schaustücken, die in originalgetreu wiedergegeben sind, reisen Sie durch die außergewöhnliche Vielfalt der Motive und Farben, die dieses Buch für Textilfans jeglicher Couleur zu einer einzigartigen Quelle der Inspiration machen.
VerlagTASCHEN
Jahr
EinbandartFester Einband im Schmuckschuber
SpracheEnglisch, Französisch, Deutsch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-8365-6276-8
Autor(en)Aziza Gril-Mariotte
Artikel IDart-61844

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

Great Works from the LuEsther T. Mertz Library of The New York Botanical Garden
75,00 € 39,95 €  
A Celebration of the Cathedral
25,00 € 12,95 €  
60,00 €  
49,95 €  
and the Families that Owned Them
325,00 € 125,00 €  
*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*
The Shape of Sound | 100 Iconic Designs
49,95 € 24,95 €  
39,95 € 19,95 €  
And Feel and Do Things
37,50 € 19,95 €  
*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*
And Feel and Do Things
60,00 € 29,95 €