Ute Behrend – Bärenmädchen
128 pages, 22 x 29.7 cm , 1238 g.
Ute Behrend – Bärenmädchen
Bear Girls (sign.)
€45.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
Adolescence is the subject of Ute Behrend's new photo book. It tells the story of a fictitious Indian tribe that keeps its pubescent girls in separation and dresses them in bearskins to protect them from premature sexualization.

She draws parallels to our society, where free spaces for adolescent girls are constantly diminishing.

Many young women try to evade the stereotypes of sexualised identification that are shaped by society and the media.



The result is a photo book full of poetic image compositions. The bear girls move in it in an archetypically nature-oriented environment. They seem sensitive, fragile, timeless and lost. Ute Behrend has also photographed animals. Like in fables or fairy tales, they seem to be ambassadors for human qualities. Often far away and very small in size within the picture. They neither want to be seen nor touched. Just like the bear girls in this book.

Many of the girl-portraits look as if Behrend accidentally ran into them. However, locations and actors were often carefully researched and staged. It all looks as if you could find it by yourself at any time. Behrend loves to capture the universal in the fugitive. And this is what art is all about, making it look as if it's easily thrown in, even though it's hard work.

In the interview at the end of the book, Ute Behrend refers to the psychologist Barbara Kerr, who in "Smart Girls, Gifted Women" examines the characteristics of girls who later emerged as strong women. Kerr found that all girls had time for themselves, the ability to fall in love with an idea, and had a "protecting shield". None were particularly popular and most remained relatively isolated in their group of age, not because they wanted to, but because they were disliked. Interestingly, it was precisely this rejection that granted them the space they needed to unfold their uniqueness.
PublisherBUMMBUMM BOOKS
Year
CoverHardcover
LanguageGerman, English
NoteTranslation: Tom Ashforth Illustrations: Karla-Jean v. Wissel
 More
ISBN978-3-948059-00-2
ContributorsBarbara Hofmann-Johnson, Ute Behrend
Article IDart-24271

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

€40.00  
A Different Vision on Fashion Photography
€60.00  
English edition
€45.00 €20.00  
signiert | signed
€15.00  
Solch ungeahnte Tiefen
€24.00 €10.00  
€125.00 €49.95

Ute Behrend – Bärenmädchen
128 Seiten, 22 x 29,7 cm , 1238 g.
Ute Behrend – Bärenmädchen
Bear Girls (sign.)
45,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Adoleszenz ist das Thema von Ute Behrends neuem Bildband. Sie erzählt von einem fiktiven „Indianerstamm“, der seine pubertierenden Mädchen separiert und sie in Bärenfelle kleidet, um sie vor verfrühter Sexualisierung zu schützen.

Dabei zieht sie Parallelen zu unserer Gesellschaft, in der Freiräume für heranwachsende Mädchen ständig kleiner werden.

Viele junge Frauen versuchen, sich den durch Gesellschaft und Medien geprägten Stereotypen sexualisierter Identifikation zu entziehen.


Entstanden ist ein Fotobuch voller poetischer Bildkompositionen. Die Bärenmädchen bewegen sich darin in einem archetypisch an der Natur orientierten Umfeld. Sie wirken sensibel, zeitlos und verloren. Auch Tiere hat Ute Behrend fotografiert. Wie in Fabeln oder Märchen scheinen sie Stellvertreter für menschliche Eigenschaften zu sein. Oft weit weg und nur ganz klein im Bild. Sie wollen nicht gesehen und nicht angefasst werden. Ganz wie die Bärenmädchen in diesem Buch.

Viele der Mädchenportraits sehen aus, als wäre Behrend ihnen zufällig begegnet. Oft wurden Orte und Darstellerinnen aber sorgfältig recherchiert und inszeniert. Behrend liebt es, das Allgemeingültige im Flüchtigen festzuhalten. Und darin besteht die Kunst, dass es so aussieht, als wäre es leicht hingeworfen, auch wenn es harte Arbeit ist.

Im Interview am Ende des Buches bezieht sich Ute Behrend auf die Psychologin Barbara Kerr, die in „Smart Girls, Gifted Women“ die Gemeinsamkeiten von Mädchen untersucht, aus denen später starke Frauen geworden sind. Kerr stellte fest, dass alle Mädchen in der Vergangenheit Zeit für sich selbst gehabt hatten sowie die Fähigkeit, sich in eine Idee zu verlieben. Auch besaßen alle eine „schützende Hülle“. Keines der Mädchen war in seinem Umfeld besonders beliebt und die meisten blieben in ihrer Altersgruppe relativ isoliert – nicht, weil sie es wollten, sondern weil sie abgelehnt wurden. Interessanterweise schuf genau diese Ablehnung einen Freiraum, in dem sie ihre Einzigartigkeit entfalten konnten.
VerlagBUMMBUMM BOOKS
Jahr
EinbandartFester Einband
SpracheDeutsch, Englisch
BemerkungÜbersetzung: Tom Ashforth Illustrationen: Karla-Jean v. Wissel
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-948059-00-2
Beiträge vonBarbara Hofmann-Johnson, Ute Behrend
Artikel IDart-24271

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

48,00 € 10,00 €  
N° 206 english Edition
52,00 €  
40,00 €  
signiert | signed
15,00 €  
39,90 € 19,90 €  
29,90 € 5,00 €  
Print: The Death of Coltelli
680,00 € 300,00 €