The Illustrator
664 pages, 21 x 31.5 cm , 3420 g.
The Illustrator
100 Best From Around The World
€50.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
For the last ten years, Steven Heller and Julius Wiedemann have traced the latest developments in illustration across the globe—and for all those who thought digital heralded the end of an era, they’re here to set the record straight.

There were extraordinary eras before mass media changed our viewing habits, back in the day when illustration was the most primary means of illuminating the word on paper, to today when we get our words and images on screens as small as a watch face. And in this environment, today’s designers and artists are holding their own brilliantly. Illustration is more free and varied than ever, and it is ubiquitous in all kinds of media from paper to screen, books, packages, clothing, cars, and restaurants.

This book celebrates the sheer quality, diversity, intensity, comedy, vivacity, and exceptionality of the work being created by illustrators right now. From veteran artists like Brad Holland, whose oblique and metaphorical paintings for the New York Times’ op-ed section revolutionized illustrative content in the 1970s, to up-and-coming stars like Robin Eisenberg, her pastel-skinned alien belles cruising in spaceships on indie-rock album covers, the 100 artists in this collection are just the tip of the proverbial iceberg, but they represent a compelling snapshot of the styles, techniques, and use of color by artists across the world. We dare you to pick your favorites.

Includes:
an introduction and foreword by editors Julius Wiedemann and Steven Heller
664 pages of brilliantly reproduced works
a biography for each artist detailing their background, philosophy, motivations, and contact details
an index of illustration agencies
EditorSteven Heller, Julius Wiedemann
PublisherTASCHEN
Year
CoverHardcover
LanguageEnglish, German, French
 More
ISBN978-3-8365-7336-8
Article IDart-28344

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

The Most Famous Illustrators and Their Work
€39.90 €10.00  
Politikerporträts
€30.00 €10.00  
Plakate und Provokationen
€20.00  
Detachables cards
€14.90 €5.00  
Creative Advertising that Cares
€42.00 €15.00  
500 iconic designs in a box
€175.00 €35.00  
€34.00 €14.95  
Graphic Design, 1920 to 1960
€42.00 €18.00  
1954-2014. Graphics, Packaging, Architecture, Interiors, Furniture, Products
€95.00 €29.95  
€38.00 €15.00

The Illustrator
664 Seiten, 21 x 31,5 cm , 3420 g.
The Illustrator
100 Best From Around The World
50,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
In den letzten zehn Jahren verfolgten Steven Heller und Julius Wiedemann die weltweit neuesten Entwicklungen in der Illustration. All diejenigen, die dachten, digitale Gestaltung bedeute das Ende eines ganzen Berufsfeldes, werden in diesem Band eines Besseren belehrt.

Bevor Massenmedien unsere Sehgewohnheiten für immer veränderten, war Illustration das effektivste Mittel, um die Wirkung von Worten auf Papier zu verstärken. Heute starren wir auf Bildschirme, die teilweise klein wie ein Ziffernblatt sind, was heutige Illustratoren und Designer aber glänzend parieren: Illustrationen sind freier und vielfältiger denn je. Sie sind allgegenwärtig in sämtlichen Arten von Medien, vom Papier bis zum Bildschirm, über Verpackungen, Bücher bis hin zur Kleidung. Es gibt aktuell mehr Illustratoren, die zur Populärkultur beitragen als jemals zuvor.

Dieser Band feiert die schiere Qualität, Vielfalt, Intensität, Komik, Vitalität und Einzigartigkeit der gezeigten Arbeiten. Von etablierten Künstlern wie Brad Holland, dessen metaphorische Bilder für die Meinungsseite der New York Times in den 1970ern die Illustration revolutionierten, bis hin zu aufstrebenden Stars à la Robin Eisenberg, deren pastellhäutige Weirdo-Space-Chicks auf Indierock-Covern herumcruisen – die hier vertretenen „100 Besten“ sind nur die Spitze des sprichwörtlichen Eisbergs, bieten aber eine überzeugende Momentaufnahme der weltweit angesagtesten Stile, Techniken und Farbgestaltungen. Wählen Sie Ihre Favoriten!

Dieser Band enthält:
eine Einführung und ein Vorwort der Herausgeber Julius Wiedemann und Steven Heller
664 Seiten mit hochwertigen Abbildungen
Biografien sämtlicher Künstler mit Hintergründen, Philosophien und Kontaktdaten
ein Verzeichnis aller Agenturen
HerausgeberSteven Heller, Julius Wiedemann
VerlagTASCHEN
Jahr
EinbandartFester Einband
SpracheEnglisch, Deutsch, Französisch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-8365-7336-8
Artikel IDart-28344

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

150 Years of Photography from India, Pakistan and Bangladesh
48,00 €  
Time-Saving Templates for Graphic Design
35,00 € 15,00 €  
Politikerporträts
30,00 € 10,00 €  
Plakate und Provokationen
20,00 €  
58,00 € 15,00 €  
38,00 € 10,00 €  
34,00 € 14,95 €  
Graphic Design, 1920 to 1960
42,00 € 18,00 €  
1954-2014. Graphics, Packaging, Architecture, Interiors, Furniture, Products
95,00 € 29,95 €  
from the Monroe Wheeler Archive
45,00 € 10,00 €