Frédéric Chaubin – Stone Age
416 pages, 26 x 34 cm , 3445 g.
Frédéric Chaubin – Stone Age
€50.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
Follow photographer Frédéric Chaubin as he embarks on a unique, century-spanning journey through Europe. Featuring images of more than 200 buildings in 21 countries, Stone Age presents the history and architecture of the most magical medieval castles of the continent in an unprecedented collection.

Building on the success of his foray into Soviet design with CCCP, Chaubin once again documents the afterlife of highly rational structures that seem out of place in a modern-day world. Precursors of Brutalism, these castles value function over form and epitomize the raw materials and shapes that would go on to define so much of architectural history.

Shot on film with a Linhof view camera, the collection is the outcome of five years of travel and investigation. Complete with a practical map and explanatory essay, its castles tell the story of 400 years, unfolding through the feudal Middle Ages into the 15th century.

A photographic study of decay as much as endurance, Stone Age traces the history of some of these singular structures that continue to enchant their audiences today and that occupy a distinct, mystical place in our collective imagination.
PublisherTASCHEN
Year
CoverHardcover
LanguageEnglish, German, French
 More
ISBN978-3-8365-8501-9
Article IDart-45046

 

Other books with these keywords:

A Cultural Timeline from Camera Obscura to Instagram
€25.00  
€45.00 €15.00  
20th Century European Battlefields
€39.80 €19.95  
A Celebration of the Cathedral
€25.00 €12.95  
€49.95  
Die neue Sammlung Fotografie
€36.00 €9.95  
*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*
Mid-Century Modern Architecture
€59.95 €25.00  
Rebuilding Musa Dagh in Lebanon
€40.00 €9.95  
€39.00 €14.95

Frédéric Chaubin – Stone Age
416 Seiten, 26 x 34 cm , 3445 g.
Frédéric Chaubin – Stone Age
50,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Begleiten Sie den Fotografen Frédéric Chaubin auf dieser einzigartigen, Jahrhunderte umspannenden Reise durch Europa. In einer beispiellosen Sammlung mit Bildern von mehr als 200 Gebäuden in 21 Ländern präsentiert Stone Age Geschichte und Architektur der dramatischsten mittelalterlichen Burgen des Kontinents.

Nach dem Erfolg von CCCP, seinem Streifzug durch das sowjetische Design, dokumentiert Chaubin erneut das Nachleben höchstrationaler Strukturen, die in unserer modernen Welt überholt scheinen. Diese Schlösser, gewissermaßen Vorläufer des Brutalismus, stellten die Funktion über die Form und verkörpern die rohen Materialien und Formen, die später einen Großteil der Architekturgeschichte prägen sollten.

Die mit einer Linhof-Fachkamera aufgenommene Sammlung ist das Ergebnis von fünf Jahren Reise und Recherche. Eine praktische Übersichtskarte und ein erläuternder Essay runden den Band ab, dessen Burgen die Geschichte von rund 400 Jahren erzählen – vom feudalen Mittelalter bis ins 15. Jahrhundert.

Als fotografische Studie sowohl des Verfalls als auch der Beständigkeit zeichnet Stone Age die Geschichte dieser einzigartigen Bauwerke nach, die den Betrachter auch heute noch verzaubern und in der kollektiven Vorstellungskraft einen besonderen, geheimnisvollen Platz einnehmen.
VerlagTASCHEN
Jahr
EinbandartFester Einband
SpracheEnglisch, Deutsch, Französisch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-8365-8501-9
Artikel IDart-45046

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

Photography from The Walther Collection
85,00 € 58,00 €  
A Cultural Timeline from Camera Obscura to Instagram
25,00 €  
From the 19th to the 21st Century
59,00 €  
45,00 € 15,00 €  
A Celebration of the Cathedral
25,00 € 12,95 €  
Mid-Century Modern Architecture
59,95 € 32,00 €  
49,95 €  
Die neue Sammlung Fotografie
36,00 € 9,95 €  
The New Photography Collection
36,00 € 15,00 €  
39,95 € 19,95 €