Besler – The Garden at Eichstätt
1096 pages, 24.3 x 30.4 cm , 6540 g.
Besler – The Garden at Eichstätt
Famous First Edition
€200.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
A complete facsimile edition of the three-volume Hortus Eystettensis

When Prince-Bishop Johann Konrad von Gemmingen (1593/95–1612) undertook a radical renovation of the Willibaldsburg Castle, overlooking the Altmühl River in Eichstätt, Bavaria, he also created a surrounding palatial pleasure garden of magnificence and grandeur. To preserve the garden for future generations – and provide an ‘evergreen’ record of its contents, compiling plants from all four seasons and presenting them in that order – he commissioned the garden’s director, Nuremberg apothecary Basilius Besler (1561–1629), and a team of engravers to immortalize its treasures in print.

The resulting Hortus Eystettensis, published in Nuremberg in 1613 and containing 367 hand-colored plates and detailed descriptions, was a work of meticulous execution and spectacular diversity, and remarkably expensive for its time. As the garden contained a variety of plants imported from exotic locales, the three volumes exhibited a remarkable range, covering a total of 90 families and 340 genera. Due to the decorative, stylized execution of these illustrations, which began to see plants in aesthetic, rather than merely practical or medicinal terms, the book is seen as a milestone in the art of botanical illustration. While published before a time of standardized classification systems, it was nonetheless later described by Carl Linnaeus as an “incomparable work”.

Besler’s catalog long outlived the gardens, which were destroyed in 1634 by invading Swedish troops during the Thirty Years’ War. However, a lengthy redevelopment project at the historic site has culminated in the opening of the modern Bastion Garden in 1998, containing many of the plants shown in the Hortus Eystettensis.

Offering high-quality reproductions of these arresting illustrations, based on the copy of the Hortus Eystettensis at the University Library of Eichstätt-Ingolstadt, this facsimile edition is accompanied by detailed plate descriptions of each plant’s botanical, pharmaceutical, and symbolic significance and an appendix of further essays which place the garden and the book in their historical contexts.

This edition presents a valuable piece of botanical literature which, on the rare occasions where a copy appears on the market, can fetch prices of over $1,000,000 at auction. In line with Besler’s original intentions, this facsimile unfurls the garden to a wider audience and captures it for posterity.
PublisherTASCHEN
Year
CoverHalfcloth in slipcase
LanguageGerman, English, French
NoteFamous First Edition of 7.500
 More
ISBN978-3-8365-9433-2
Author(s)Klaus Walter Littger, Werner Dressendörfer
Article IDart-61491

 

Other books with these keywords:

Gesichte | Die Zauberflöte | Lederstrumpf
€40.00 €15.00  
(SA)
€69.95 €34.00  
Die Ära Velázquez in Malerei und Skulptur
€49.90 €19.95  
(Sonderausgabe)
€45.00  
Ausgabe im Schmuckschuber
€69.95  
Une fiction
€40.00  
€35.00 €15.00  
€500.00  
L'oeuvre picturale et littéraire en dialogue | Das bildnerische und literarische Werk im Dialog
€65.00 €25.00  
A History
€125.00 €78.00  
Idea Et Inventio (Band 2)
€49.95 €14.95  
€49.90 €24.95  
Kunst für eine neue Zeit
€48.00

Besler – The Garden at Eichstätt
1096 Seiten, 24,3 x 30,4 cm , 6540 g.
Besler – The Garden at Eichstätt
Famous First Edition
200,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Bei der Neugestaltung seiner Residenz auf der Willibaldsburg über dem Altmühltal ließ der Eichstätter Fürstbischof Johann Konrad von Gemmingen (1561–1612) Anfang des 17. Jahrhunderts durch den Nürnberger Apotheker, Botaniker und Verleger Basilius Besler (1561–1629) einen prachtvollen Lustgarten anlegen. Um den Garten und seine Schätze für die Nachwelt zu bewahren, beauftragte er Besler, die Gewächse nach Jahreszeiten geordnet in Beschreibungen und Kupferstichillustrationen zu dokumentieren.

Frucht dieser Arbeit war der 1613 in Nürnberg im Druck erschienene Hortus Eystettensis, ein dreibändiger Prachtkatalog mit 367 handkolorierten Pflanzenillustrationen und detaillierten botanischen Beschreibungen von insgesamt 90 Pflanzenfamilien und 340 Gattungen, nicht wenige davon exotischer Herkunft. Das in seiner Zeit einmalige Werk spiegelt nicht nur die außergewöhnliche Artenvielfalt des Eichstätter Gartens. In der ausgefeilt eleganten Darstellungsweise verrät es den neuartigen Ansatz, die Welt der Pflanzen aus ästhetischer Sicht und nicht wie zuvor allein aus praktisch-heilkundlichem Blickwinkel zu betrachten. Noch vor dem Aufkommen der modernen botanischen Taxonomie verfasst, pries Carl von Linné den Hortus Eystettensis dennoch als “unvergleichlich”.

Beslers Pflanzenkatalog hatte deutlich länger Bestand als der Eichstätter Garten, der im Dreißigjährigen Krieg 1643 von Schwedischen Truppen verwüstet wurde. Nach langjähriger Vorbereitung – nicht zuletzt auf Grundlage des barocken Botanik-Klassikers – konnte 1998 an historischer Stätte mit dem Eichstätter Bastionsgarten ein Nachfolgeort seine Pforten öffnen, an dem zahlreiche Gewächse aus dem Hortus Eystettensis versammelt sind.

Die hochwertigen Reproduktionen dieser Faksimile-Edition nach einem Originalexemplar aus den Beständen der Universitätsbibliothek Eichstätt-Ingolstadt werden ebenso wie die auf ihnen dargestellten Gewächse in botanischer, heilkundlicher und symbolischer Perspektive fachkundig erläutert; ein Anhang mit ausführlichen Texten zur historischen Bedeutung des Gartens von Eichstätt und des ihm gewidmeten Hortus Eystettensis runden den Band ab.

Die vorliegende Edition des Hortus Eystettensis (dessen äußerst rare Originaldrucke bereits im Millionenbereich gehandelt werden) dokumentiert einen Meilenstein der botanischen Wissenschaft und Illustrationskunst und macht – ganz im Geiste seines Verfassers Basilius Besler – die Schätze des Eichstätter Gartens einem größeren Publikum zugänglich.
VerlagTASCHEN
Jahr
EinbandartHalbleinen im Schuber
SpracheDeutsch, Englisch, Französisch
BemerkungNummerierte Erstauflage von 7.500
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-8365-9433-2
Autor(en)Klaus Walter Littger, Werner Dressendörfer
Artikel IDart-61491
Weitere Bücher von Basilius Besler alle ansehen

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

1885-1906
999,00 € 299,00 €  
(Sonderausgabe)
45,00 €  
Ausgabe im Schmuckschuber
69,95 €  
Cristiano Raimondi, Simone Menegoi (ed.)
40,00 € 25,00 €  
Great Works from the LuEsther T. Mertz Library of The New York Botanical Garden
75,00 € 39,95 €  
Seventeenth-Century French Drawings from the École des Beaux-Arts, Paris
48,00 € 19,95 €  
500,00 €  
Neues über den Zentrodada aus Köln
20,00 €  
Women Artists from the Louvre, Versailles and Other French National Collections
45,00 € 12,95 €  
49,90 € 24,95 €  
Kunst für eine neue Zeit
48,00 €