Fred Herzog – Black and White
128 pages, 24 x 24 cm , 720 g.
Fred Herzog – Black and White
Was €34.00 €19.95
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
The city Fred Herzog documented over more than half a century has vanished—an early kind of urban flaneur, Herzog wandered the streets of Vancouver, creating an archive that encapsulates the essence of a bygone era. Considered today as one of the most important street photographers of the 20th century, he changed the international conversation about early color photography. However, it was only in the late 1950s that he decided to primarily shoot with Kodachrome color slides.

»Fred Herzog: Black and White« is the first acknowledgement of a lesser-known facet of the photographers’ work. Complementing the seminal Modern Color, it encompasses almost graphical urban scenes of shadow and light, alongside travel photographs and depictions of rural life. Evoking notions of melancholy, this book reveals that Herzog’s appeal lies in his ability to seize a condensation of a psychological state.

Fred Herzog (1930–2019) grew up in Stuttgart. In 1953 he settled in Vancouver, where he worked as a medical photographer. A pioneer of color photography, he was already in his 70s, when printing technology finally allowed him to recreate the texture and depth of his Kodachrome color slides. His first solo show at the Vancouver Art Gallery in 2007, gained him widespread international recognition.
EditorAndy Sylvester, Hannah Reinhart
PublisherHatje Cantz
Year
CoverCloth
LanguageEnglish
 More
ISBN978-3-7757-5322-7
ContributorsGeoff Dyer
Article IDart-55913
More books from Fred Herzog view all

 

Other books with these keywords:

40th Anniversary Edition
€25.00  
(Deutsche Ausgabe)
€125.00  
Stadt Land Hund. Photographs 1966-2010
€48.00

Fred Herzog – Black and White
128 Seiten, 24 x 24 cm , 720 g.
Fred Herzog – Black and White
Statt 34,00 € 19,95 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Die Stadt, die Fred Herzog mehr als ein halbes Jahrhundert lang dokumentiert hat, gibt es nicht mehr. Als Stadtflaneur durchstreifte Herzog die Straßen Vancouvers und schuf ein Porträt seiner Wahlheimatstadt, das im Zufälligen, im Spontanen die Essenz einer vergangenen Ära festhält. Die Szenen, die er einfing, zählen heute zu den bedeutendsten Serien der frühen Farbfotografie. Doch Herzog entschied sich erst in den späten 1950er-Jahren, fast ausschließlich mit Kodachrome-Diafarbfilmen zu arbeiten.

»Fred Herzog. Black and White« ist die erste Würdigung einer weniger bekannten Facette des Werks des Fotografen. Die wegweisende Veröffentlichung von Modern Color ergänzend, versammelt der Band fast grafische Szenen aus Licht und Schatten und Momente des Lebens außerhalb der Stadt. Die frühen Schwarz-Weiß Aufnahmen lassen ein Gefühl von Melancholie, nicht Nostalgie, entstehen, das zeigt, dass die Anziehungskraft von Herzogs Arbeit in seinem Gespür für die Verdichtung eines psychologischen Zustands liegt.

In Stuttgart aufgewachsen, ließ sich Fred Herzog (1930-2019) 1953 in Vancouver nieder, wo er als medizinischer Fotograf arbeitete. Erst digitale Pigmentdruckverfahren ermöglichten ihm in den frühen 2000er-Jahren die Farbintensität der mit seiner Leica aufgenommenen Kodachrome-Dias wiederzugeben. Seine farbfotografische Pionierleistung wurde mit seiner ersten großen Einzelausstellung in der Vancouver Art Gallery im Jahr 2007 bekannt und erlangte große internationale Anerkennung.
HerausgeberAndy Sylvester, Hannah Reinhart
VerlagHatje Cantz
Jahr
EinbandartLeinen
SpracheEnglisch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-7757-5322-7
Beiträge vonGeoff Dyer
Artikel IDart-55913
Weitere Bücher von Fred Herzog alle ansehen

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

69,95 € 39,80 €  
40th Anniversary Edition
25,00 €  
1952-1962
50,00 €  
98,00 € 58,00 €  
Stadt Land Hund. Photographs 1966-2010
48,00 €