Tony Cokes – Fragments, or just Moments
224 pages, 21 x 28 cm , 1093 g.
Tony Cokes – Fragments, or just Moments
€36.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
For more than three decades, Tony Cokes (b. 1956, Richmond, USA; lives and works in Providence, USA) has been exploring in his work the ideology and affect politics of media and popular culture as well as their social impact. Starting from a fundamental critique of the representation and visual commodification of African-American communities in film, television, advertising, and music videos, Cokes has developed a unique form of video essay that radically rejects ­representational imagery. These fast-paced works consist of found text and sound material from diverse sources such as critical theory, online journalism, literature, and­ popular music.

The US artist’s first institutional solo exhibition in Germany also marks the first ­comprehensive collaboration between Kunstverein München and Haus der Kunst. The thematic starting point for Cokes’s new productions is the ideological and propagandistic entanglements of both exhibition venues during the Nazi era as well as their cultural-political role in the context of the 20th Olympic Games in Munich in 1972.

The publication Fragments, or just Moments accompanies the eponymous exhibition and translates stills from the newly produced video essays into a book format while examining the significance of Cokes’s work in terms of a contemporary approach to institutional critique. The essays are written by Tina M. Campt and Tom Holert, with an introduction by Emma Enderby and Elena Setzer (Haus der Kunst) as well as Maurin Dietrich, Gloria Hasnay, and Gina Merz (Kunstverein München).
EditorHaus der Kunst München
PublisherDistanz
Year
CoverSoftcover
LanguageGerman, English
 More
ISBN978-3-95476-502-7
Author(s)Tony Cokes
Article IDart-58682

 

Other books with these keywords:

€39.80 €9.95  
Works from the UBS Art Collection
€40.00 €15.00  
Identität und Transformation in der zeitgenössischen Kunst
€49.80 €19.80  
Life Death Rebirth
€50.00 €25.00

Tony Cokes – Fragments, or just Moments
224 Seiten, 21 x 28 cm , 1093 g.
Tony Cokes – Fragments, or just Moments
36,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Seit mehr als drei Jahrzehnten untersucht Tony Cokes (geb. 1956 in Richmond, USA; lebt und arbeitet in Providence, USA) in seinem Werk ­die Ideologie und Affektpolitik von Medien und Popkultur sowie ihre Auswirkungen auf Gesellschaften. Ausgehend von einer grundsätzlichen Kritik an der Darstellung und visuellen Kommodifizierung afroamerikanischer Gemeinschaften in Film, Fernsehen, Werbung und Musikvideos hat Cokes eine einzigartige Form des Videoessays entwickelt, die repräsentative Bilder radikal ablehnt. Diese schnell bewegten Arbeiten bestehen aus vorgefundenem Text- sowie Soundmaterial aus diversen Quellen wie Kritischer Theorie, Online-Journalismus, Literatur und Popmusik.

Die erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung des US-amerikanischen Künstlers in Deutschland markiert zugleich die erste umfassende Zusammenarbeit des ­Kunstvereins München mit dem Haus der Kunst. Inhaltlicher Ausgangspunkt der Neuproduktionen von Cokes ist die ideologisch-propagandistische Verknüpfung beider Ausstellungsorte während der NS-Zeit sowie deren kulturpolitische Rolle im Rahmen der 20. Olympischen Spiele 1972 in München.

Die begleitende und gleichnamige Publikation Fragments, or just Moments überträgt die neu produzierten Videoessays in Form von Stills in das Buchformat und untersucht das Werk von Cokes in seiner Bedeutung für eine zeitgenössische institutions­kritische Herangehensweise. Die Essays schrieben Tina M. Campt und Tom Holert. Mit einer Einführung von Emma Enderby und Elena Setzer (Haus der Kunst) sowie Maurin Dietrich, Gloria Hasnay und Gina Merz (Kunstverein München).
HerausgeberHaus der Kunst München
VerlagDistanz
Jahr
EinbandartBroschur
SpracheDeutsch, Englisch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-95476-502-7
Autor(en)Tony Cokes
Artikel IDart-58682

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

39,80 € 9,95 €  
20,00 € 10,00 €  
34,90 € 9,95 €  
100,00 € 65,00 €  
1998 - 2008
29,50 €  
128,00 € 98,00 €  
Identität und Transformation in der zeitgenössischen Kunst
49,80 € 19,80 €