The Computer
472 pages, 24.6 x 37.2 cm , 3892 g.
The Computer
€60.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
The story of the evolution of machines in computer history is full of the disruptive innovations that have led to today’s world. From the early beginnings of computing to the bulky mainframe to the personal computer era, we now live in an almost entirely digital age.

The Computer explores steps from the first ideas of a calculating machine in the 19th century and early experiments with autonomous driving in the 1920s to oversized office computers in the 1950s to laptops and wearables of today. Jens Müller delivers a visual understanding of the emergence of the Information Age that hasn’t been shown before. Tracing the stories of tech visionaries, pioneers, and entrepreneurs, the book combines compelling visuals, historical documents, and in-depth explanations to reveal significant events in computer history. Encompassing the invention of machines, coding, and software development, as well as technology's influence on today's political landscape.

This survey presents creations from Ada Lovelace, Charles Babbage, Alan Turing, Grace Hopper, Bill Gates, and Steve Jobs. Showcasing forgotten gadgets and prototypes connecting iconic products such as the Apple Macintosh and the Sony Play Station. As well as remembering milestones in software development, videogaming, and the web. Infographics explain wireless communication and other fundamental technical concepts, while the history of corporations such as IBM, Apple, Microsoft, Atari, Amazon, and Google is retraced through rare photographs and advertising campaigns.

A fascinating read, this book acknowledges the computer’s stupendous power and social impact. For techies and everyone interested in culture, economics, politics, and science, it illustrates how we got here today and helps us ask better questions about where we will be tomorrow.

 

Other books with these keywords:

From the 19th to the 21st Century
€59.00  
Other Things You Couldn't Do at Moss, the Design Store That Changed Design
€55.00 €15.00  
Photographs by Nicholas Alan Cope
€65.00 €25.00  
Album Covers by Artists
€50.00 €25.00  
*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*
The Shape of Sound | 100 Iconic Designs
€49.95 €24.95  
20th-Century Design
€75.00 €25.00  
From the 16th century until today
€150.00  
And Feel and Do Things
€37.50 €19.95

The Computer
472 Seiten, 24,6 x 37,2 cm , 3892 g.
The Computer
60,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Die Entwicklung der Maschinen des Computerzeitalters ist eine Geschichte bahnbrechender Innovation. Von den frühen Anfängen der Computertechnik über sperrige Großrechner bis hin zur Ära der Personal Computer münden mehr als 300 Jahre Technologiegeschichte in unsere heute nahezu vollständig digitalisierte Welt.

The Computer führt uns von den ersten analogen Rechenmaschinen im 19. Jahrhundert zu frühen Experimenten mit autonomem Fahren in den 1920er Jahren und überdimensionalen Bürocomputern der 1950er Jahre bis zu den Laptops und Wearables von heute. Mit mehr als 1000 Abbildungen schafft Jens Müller ein unvergleichliches visuelles Verständnis für den Aufstieg des Informationszeitalters. Dokumentarische Fotos, Schnappschüsse aus den Medien der Zeit, historische Dokumente und ausführliche Erläuterungen erzählen von Tech-Visionären, Pionieren und Unternehmern, deren Erfindungsreichtum in der Hard- und Softwareentwicklung zu Meilensteinen der Computergeschichte führte.

Entdecken Sie wegweisende Innovationen von Ada Lovelace, Charles Babbage, Alan Turing, Grace Hopper, Bill Gates und Steve Jobs, darunter nicht nur Klassiker wie der Apple Macintosh und die Sony PlayStation, sondern auch heute vergessene Gadgets, Prototypen und die Geniestreiche in der Entwicklung von Software, Videospielen und des WWW. Infografiken erläutern grundlegende technische Konzepte wie die drahtlose Kommunikation, während seltene Fotos und Werbekampagnen die Geschichte von Unternehmen wie IBM, Apple, Microsoft, Atari, Amazon und Google aufleben lassen.

Die faszinierende Lektüre würdigt die enorme Leistung des Computers sowie seinen Einfluss auf die soziale und politische Landschaft. Für Technikbegeisterte und alle, die sich für Kultur, Wirtschaft, Politik und Wissenschaft interessieren, veranschaulicht diese Reise in die Vergangenheit, wie wir Fragen der Zukunft nicht nur besser stellen, sondern vielleicht auch besser beantworten können.
HerausgeberJulius Wiedemann
VerlagTASCHEN
Jahr
EinbandartFester Einband
SpracheDeutsch, Englisch, Französisch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-8365-7334-4
Autor(en)Jens Müller
Artikel IDart-59190

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

From the 19th to the 21st Century
59,00 €  
Other Things You Couldn't Do at Moss, the Design Store That Changed Design
55,00 € 15,00 €  
Photographs by Nicholas Alan Cope
65,00 € 25,00 €  
Vom 18. bis zum 20. Jahrhundert
60,00 €  
The Atlas of Infographics
50,00 €  
49,95 €  
Die neue Sammlung Fotografie
36,00 € 9,95 €  
Designed to Keep
69,95 €  
*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*
The Shape of Sound | 100 Iconic Designs
49,95 € 24,95 €  
39,95 € 19,95 €  
20th-Century Design
75,00 € 25,00 €