Komar & Melamid – The Most Wanted | The Most Unwanted Painting
72 pages, 21 x 28.5 cm , 390 g.
Komar & Melamid – The Most Wanted | The Most Unwanted Painting
Was €19.43 €5.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
What kind of art do you prefer? Should it be realistic or abstract? Do you favor red or blue pictures? On the basis of a demoscopic survey begun in 1993 in which they asked people from 14 different countries to name the pictures they liked the most and the least, Komar and Melamid have created "most wanted" und "most unwanted pictures".

Komar & Melamid, "outcasts" of official Soviet art who have lived in New York since 1978, provoke with their rigorous eclectic system, an unorthodox conglomeration of techniques, materials and media, just as they irritate with their satirical, critical discourse on art and their highly discerning, probing examination of social structures in both East and West.

This publication provides an overview in sketch form of the life's work of Komar and Melamid, from their family portraits done in the style of official likenesses of Lenin and Stalin to "Soz-Art" and "Desire for Art", the duo's current project, which not only promises clear, statistical results but raises questions of its own while posing a challenge to contradiction.
EditorEvelyn Weiss
PublisherCantz Verlag
Year
CoverPaperback with flaps
LanguageGerman
 More
ISBN978-3-89322-344-2
ContributorsAstrid Mania, Christian Heiliger
Type of bookExhib'publication
Museum / PlaceMuseum Ludwig, Köln
Article IDart-28365

 

Other books with these keywords:

Volume 4: 1988–1992
€165.00  
A Retrospective
€45.00  
€10.00  
€100.00 €65.00  
€50.00 €25.00  
€45.00 €15.00  
Not Everyone Will Be Taken Into The Future
€35.00 €15.00  
€15.00

Komar & Melamid – The Most Wanted | The Most Unwanted Painting
72 Seiten, 21 x 28,5 cm , 390 g.
Komar & Melamid – The Most Wanted | The Most Unwanted Painting
Statt 19,43 € 5,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Welche Art von Kunst favorisieren Sie? Sollte sie realistisch oder abstrakt sein? Bevorzugen Sie blaue oder rote Bilder? Auf der Grundlage ihrer 1993 begonnenen demoskopischen Erhebung, die vierzehn Nationen nach Motiv, Farbe und Format ihres beliebtesten und unbeliebtesten Bildes befragte, kreierten Komar & Melamid die aus kollektivem Geist und Geschmack ermittelten »most wanted« und »most unwanted pictures«.

Komar & Melamid, die seit 1978 in New York lebenden »Outcasts« der offiziellen sowjetischen Kunst, provozieren mit ihrem rigoros eklektizistischen System, dem unorthodoxen Sammelsurium von Techniken, Materialien und Medien wie sie mit ihrem satirisch-kritischen Diskurs zur Kunst und der differenzierten Hinterfragung gesellschaftlicher Strukturen in Ost und West irritieren.

Die Publikation skizziert das Gesamtschaffen Komar & Melamids von den Familienporträts im Stil offizieller Lenin- und Stalinbildnisse bis hin zu »Soz-Art» und dem »Kunstbegehren«, dem aktuellen Projekt des Duos, das statistisch-eindeutige Resultate verspricht wie es Fragen aufwirft, zu Widerspruch herausfordert.
HerausgeberEvelyn Weiss
VerlagCantz Verlag
Jahr
EinbandartKlappenbroschur
SpracheDeutsch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-89322-344-2
Beiträge vonAstrid Mania, Christian Heiliger
BuchtypAusst'publikation
Museum / OrtMuseum Ludwig, Köln
Artikel IDart-28365

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

49,95 € 19,95 €  
32,00 € 10,00 €  
Moderna Musset
25,00 €  
50,00 € 25,00 €  
45,00 € 15,00 €  
Erträumte Paradiese | Dreamed Paradises
29,80 € 9,95 €  
Not Everyone Will Be Taken Into The Future
35,00 € 15,00 €