Case Study Houses
440 pages, 33.2 x 25.7 cm , 3580 g.
Case Study Houses
The Complete CSH Program 1945-1966
€60.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
Redefining the Modern Home
A monumental retrospective of the Case Study Houses program
The Case Study House program (1945–66) was an exceptional, innovative event in the history of American architecture and remains to this day unique. The program, which concentrated on the Los Angeles area and oversaw the design of 36 prototype homes, sought to make available plans for modern residences that could be easily and cheaply constructed during the postwar building boom.

The program’s chief motivating force was Arts & Architecture editor John Entenza, a champion of modernism who had all the right connections to attract some of architecture’s greatest talents, such as Richard Neutra, Charles and Ray Eames, and Eero Saarinen. Highly experimental, the program generated houses that were designed to redefine the modern home, and thus had a pronounced influence on architecture—American and international—both during the program’s existence and even to this day.

TASCHEN brings you a monumental retrospective of the entire program with comprehensive documentation, brilliant photographs from the period and, for the houses still in existence, contemporary photos, as well as extensive floor plans and sketches.
EditorPeter Gössel
PublisherTASCHEN
Year
CoverHardcover
LanguageEnglish, German, French
 More
ISBN978-3-8365-1021-9
Author(s)Elizabeth A. T. Smith
Article IDart-50026

 

Other books with these keywords:

Volume 5
€50.00 €20.00  
€125.00  
€69.95 €35.00  
40th Anniversary Edition
€25.00  
Buildings and Projects 2010-2014
€58.00 €25.00  
A Marriage of Architecture and Craft
€48.00 €14.95

Case Study Houses
440 Seiten, 33,2 x 25,7 cm , 3580 g.
Case Study Houses
The Complete CSH Program 1945-1966
75,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Eine monumentale Retrospektive des Case-Study-House-Projekts
Das "Case-Study-House-Projekt" (1945-66) war ein außergewöhnliches, innovatives und bis zum heutigen Tag einzigartiges Ereignis in der Geschichte der amerikanischen Architektur. Es konzentrierte sich auf die Gegend um Los Angeles und sah die Gestaltung von 36 Prototypen vor, die im Bau-Boom der Nachkriegsjahre die einfache, günstige Konstruktion von modernen Wohnhäusern ermöglichen sollten.

Die treibende Kraft hinter diesem Projekt war John Entenza, der Herausgeber von Arts & Architecture und ein Verfechter des Modernismus, der mit seinen einschlägigen Verbindungen Talente wie Richard Neutra, Charles und Ray Eames und Eero Saarinen verpflichten konnte. Das äußerst experimentelle Projekt brachte Häuser hervor, durch die modernes Wohnen neu definiert werden sollte, hatte somit einen bedeutenden Einfluss auf die amerikanische wie auch die internationale Architektur, zu seiner Zeit und sogar heute noch.

Dieses Buch ist eine monumentale Retrospektive des gesamten Projekts, mit umfassender Dokumentation, ausgezeichneten Fotografien aus der Entstehungszeit und aktuellen Aufnahmen von den noch existierenden Häusern, sowie mit detaillierten Grundrissen und Skizzen.
HerausgeberPeter Gössel
VerlagTASCHEN
Jahr
EinbandartFester Einband
SpracheEnglisch, Deutsch, Französisch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-8365-1021-9
Autor(en)Elizabeth A. T. Smith
Artikel IDart-50026

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

125,00 €  
69,95 € 35,00 €  
40th Anniversary Edition
25,00 €  
75,00 €  
49,00 € 15,00 €  
135,00 € 95,00 €  
Mid-Century Modern Architecture
59,95 € 32,00 €  
55,00 € 19,95 €  
*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*
Mid-Century Modern Architecture
59,95 € 25,00 €  
The New York Times Best Art Book of 2018
125,00 € 75,00 €  
Artist & Architect
40,00 € 15,00 €