Julius Shulman – Modernism Rediscovered
576 pages, 19.6 x 25.5 cm , 1810 g.
Julius Shulman – Modernism Rediscovered
€30.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
Discoveries from the Julius Shulman vaults

​The buildings burned in our memories, which to us represent the spirit of ’50s and ’60s architectural design, were those whose pictures were widely published in magazines and books; but what about those that got lost in the process, hardly or never appearing in publication?

The exchange of visual information is crucial to the development, evolution, and promotion of architectural movements. If a building is not widely seen, its photograph rarely or never published, it simply does not enter into architectural discourse. Many buildings photographed by Julius Shulman suffered this fate, their images falling into oblivion. With this book, TASCHEN brings them to light, paying homage to California Modernism in all its forms.

The abandoned files of Julius Shulman show us another side of Modernism that has stayed quiet for so many years. Bringing together nearly 300 forgotten masterpieces, Modernism Rediscovered pays tribute to these lesser known yet outstanding contributions to the modern architectural movement. It’s like sneaking into a private history, into homes that have rarely been seen and hardly appreciated as of yet.
PublisherTASCHEN
Year
CoverHardcover
LanguageEnglish, French, German
 More
ISBN978-3-8365-9255-0
Author(s)Pierluigi Serraino
Article IDart-59187

 

Other books with these keywords:

€125.00  
€79.95 €39.95  
€69.95 €35.00  
The Complete CSH Program 1945-1966
€75.00  
The New York Times Best Art Book of 2018
€125.00 €75.00  
A Memoir with Letters from Louis Kahn
€35.00 €12.95  
3rd, comprehensively revised and expanded edition
€48.00  
€40.00 €19.95  
€80.00 €39.95

Julius Shulman – Modernism Rediscovered
576 Seiten, 19,6 x 25,5 cm , 1810 g.
Julius Shulman – Modernism Rediscovered
30,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Entdeckungen aus den Archiven Julius Shulmans

​Die Gebäude, die in unserer Erinnerung den Geist der Architektur der 50er und 60er Jahre verkörpern, sind die, deren Abbildungen überall durch Magazine und Bücher verbreitet wurden. Doch was ist mit denen, die irgendwo auf der Strecke geblieben und kaum oder nie veröffentlicht wurden?

Der Austausch von visuellen Informationen ist ausschlaggebend für die Entwicklung und Förderung von Architekturströmungen. Wenn ein Gebäude nicht weithin bekannt ist und seine Fotos kaum oder nie publiziert werden, so wird es niemals Gegenstand des architektonischen Diskurses werden. Viele der von Julius Shulman fotografierten Bauten erlitten dieses Schicksal - sie wurden vergessen. Mit diesem Buch bringt TASCHEN sie zurück ans Licht und würdigt den kalifornischen Modernismus in all seinen Formen.

Das bisher wenig beachtete Archiv von Julius Shulman zeigt uns eine andere Seite des Modernismus, um die es so viele Jahre lang ruhig gewesen ist. Modernism Rediscovered versammelt beinahe 300 vergessene Meisterwerke und zollt den weniger bekannten, doch hervorragenden Vertretern der modernen Architekturbewegung Tribut. Es ist, als schleiche man sich in eine private Geschichte und in Häuser hinein, die bis jetzt nur selten wahrgenommen und kaum geschätzt wurden.
VerlagTASCHEN
Jahr
EinbandartFester Einband
SpracheEnglisch, Französisch, Deutsch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-8365-9255-0
Autor(en)Pierluigi Serraino
Artikel IDart-59187

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

125,00 €  
69,95 € 35,00 €  
A Marriage of Architecture and Craft
48,00 € 14,95 €  
The Complete CSH Program 1945-1966
75,00 €  
Artificial Land in Japan 1954–2202
48,00 €  
1975-Today
150,00 €  
A History of the World's Best-Known Apartment Building
55,00 € 25,00 €  
40,00 € 19,95 €  
80,00 € 39,95 €