Homes for Our Time
464 pages, 24.6 x 37.2 cm , 3750 g.
Homes for Our Time
Contemporary Houses around the World. Vol. 2
€60.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
When a House Is a Home
The second edition of TASCHEN's dazzling selection of contemporary houses around the world
Climate, environment, history, and technology are transforming architecture worldwide. The second volume in the Homes for Our Time series documents this housing revolution. What role do homes play in our endangered world? How can they innovate?

In Sri Lanka, Palinda Kannangara created the Frame Holiday Structure on a budget of $ 40,000. Built from steel scaffolding, exposed brick, and wood floors, the house can be easily disassembled and moved, adapting to the reality of the nearby floodplain. Luciano Lerner Basso’s Fortunata House in Brazil accommodates the surrounding nature: it was built around a tree of an endangered species and sits upon stilts so as not to disturb the forest floor. Miller Hull’s Loom House near Seattle has been called “the world’s most environmentally ambitious home renovation” because of its reliance on recycled materials and its efficient energy use.

Modern architectural history has been viewed primarily from a Western perspective and formed by men. More than 60 buildings from Vietnam, South Africa, India, China, and beyond—designed by men, women, and collectives—mark the end of this era. There is no longer a predominant style, and there probably never will be again. With photos by renowned architectural photographers, and precise descriptions as well as drawings from architectural offices, Philip Jodidio charts the diverse, sustainable architecture of the future. The private homes featured range from modest to extravagant. A beautiful house is always also a dream—and this book invites you to do just that.
PublisherTaschen
Year
CoverHardcover
LanguageEnglish, German, French
 More
ISBN978-3-8365-8700-6
Author(s)Philip Jodidio
Article IDart-50048

 

Other books with these keywords:

Ernsting Service Center
€29.50 €7.95  
40th Anniversary Edition
€25.00  
Building Bound to the Ground
€100.00  
Contemporary Houses around the World
€60.00  
Works of Carol A. Wilson Architect
€52.00 €25.00  
Villas and Houses 2015–2022
€77.00  
1975-Today
€150.00

Homes for Our Time
464 Seiten, 24,6 x 37,2 cm , 3750 g.
Homes for Our Time
Contemporary Houses around the World. Vol. 2
60,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Wohnkultur
Zeitgenössische Häuser aus aller Welt, Band 2
Klima, Umwelt, Geschichte und Technologie verändern die Architektur weltweit. Die Fortsetzung der Reihe Homes for Our Time dokumentiert eine Baurevolution. Welche Rolle spielen Privathäuser in unserer gefährdeten Welt? Wie entwickeln sie sich innovativ weiter?

In Sri Lanka schuf Palinda Kannangara die Frame Holiday Structure mit einem Budget von 40.000 Dollar. Da sich die Konstruktion aus Stahlgerüst, Sichtbackstein und Holzböden leicht zerlegen und an einen neuen Standort versetzen lässt, passt sie sich den Gegebenheiten des nahegelegenen Überschwemmungsgebiets an. Auch Luciano Lerner Bassos Fortunata House trägt seiner Umgebung Rechnung: Es wurde um einen Baum einer bedrohten Art herum und auf Stelzen errichtet, um den Waldboden zu schonen. Als "umweltfreundlichste Hausrenovierung der Welt" wiederum galt das Loom House von Miller Hull bei Seattle aufgrund der umfassenden Verwendung von Recycling-Materialien und der effizienten Energienutzung.

Die moderne Architekturgeschichte wurde bislang in erster Linie aus westlicher Perspektive betrachtet und von Männern geprägt. Mehr als 60 Bauwerke in Vietnam, Südafrika, Indien, China und weiteren Ländern – entworfen von Männern, Frauen und Kollektiven – bedeuten das Ende dieser Ära. Die Zeiten, in denen sich ein Baustil vor allen anderen durchsetzt, sind vorbei. Mit Fotos renommierter Architekturfotografen, präzisen Beschreibungen und Zeichnungen kartographiert Philip Jodidio die vielfältige und nachhaltige Architektur der Zukunft. Das Spektrum der vorgestellten Wohnhäuser reicht von bescheiden bis extravagant. Ein schönes Haus ist immer auch ein wahrgewordener Traum – und dieses Buch lädt zum Träumen ein.
VerlagTaschen
Jahr
EinbandartFester Einband
SpracheEnglisch, Deutsch, Französisch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-8365-8700-6
Autor(en)Philip Jodidio
Artikel IDart-50048

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

69,95 € 35,00 €  
40th Anniversary Edition
25,00 €  
40th Anniversary Edition
25,00 €  
Building Bound to the Ground
100,00 €  
Contemporary Houses around the World. Vol. 1
60,00 €  
Works of Carol A. Wilson Architect
52,00 € 25,00 €  
»Flash Sale! Ends soon!«
77,00 € 49,95 €  
60,00 €  
65,00 € 29,95 €