Fashion History
632 pages, 24 x 33.6 cm , 3760 g.
Fashion History
From the 18th to the 20th Century
€60.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
Clothes define people. A person’s attire, whether it’s a sari, kimono, or business suit, is an essential code to his or her culture, class, personality, even faith. Founded in 1978, the Kyoto Costume Institute recognizes the importance of understanding clothes from sociological, historical, and artistic perspectives. With one of the world’s most extensive clothing collections, the KCI has amassed a wide range of historical garments, underwear, shoes, and fashion accessories dating from the 18th century to the present day.

Showcasing the Institute’s vast collection, Fashion History is a fascinating excursion through clothing trends from the 18th to the 20th century. Featuring impeccable photography of clothing expertly displayed and arranged on custom-made mannequins, it is a testimony to attire as “an essential manifestation of our very being” and to the Institute’s passion for fashion as a complex and intricate art form.

The authors include some of the smartest minds and sharpest eyes in fashion studies: Akiko Fukai (Director and Curator Emeritus of the Kyoto Costume Institute), Tamami Suoh (Curator of The Kyoto Costume Institute), Miki Iwagami (Lecturer of fashion history at Bunka Gakuen University, Tokyo), Reiko Koga (former professor of fashion history at Bunka Gakuen University, Tokyo), and Rie Nii (Curator of The Kyoto Costume Institute).
EditorThe Kyoto Costume Institute
PublisherTASCHEN
Year
CoverHardcover
LanguageEnglish
 More
ISBN978-3-8365-7791-5
Article IDart-58646

 

Other books with these keywords:

Photographs by Nicholas Alan Cope
€65.00 €25.00  
One Hundred People and Ideas from a Century in Fashion
€95.00 €48.00  
Vom 18. bis zum 20. Jahrhundert
€60.00  
A Century of Fashion
€24.90 €9.95  
»Flash Sale! Ends soon!«
€60.00 €39.95  
A History of Photography in Fashion Magazines
€85.00 €39.95  
*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*
A History of Photography in Fashion Magazines
€85.00 €39.95  
*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*
The Shape of Sound | 100 Iconic Designs
€49.95 €24.95  
€49.95 €39.95  
And Feel and Do Things
€60.00 €29.95

Fashion History
632 Seiten, 24 x 33,6 cm , 3760 g.
Fashion History
From the 18th to the 20th Century
60,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Kleider machen Leute. Die Kleidung eines Menschen – egal ob Sari, Kimono oder Anzug – ist ein essenzieller Code seiner Kultur, Schicht, Persönlichkeit oder sogar Religion. Das 1978 gegründete Kyoto Costume Institute würdigt die Bedeutung der Mode aus soziologischer, historischer und künstlerischer Sicht. Mit ihrem breiten Spektrum an historischer Ober- und Unterbekleidung sowie Schuhen und Accessoires, vom 18. Jahrhundert bis in die Gegenwart, zählt die Kleidersammlung des KCI zu den größten der Welt.

Geschichte der Mode begibt sich anhand dieser umfangreichen Sammlung auf eine faszinierende Reise durch Modetrends vom 18. bis zum 20. Jahrhundert. Brillante Fotografien zahlloser Kleidungsstücke, fachkundig drapiert an speziell gefertigten Ankleidepuppen, dokumentieren Kleidung als „einen wesentlichen Ausdruck unseres Dasein“ und bezeugen die Leidenschaft des Instituts für Mode als komplexe und vielschichtige Kunstform.

Zu den Verfassern des Buches gehören einige der klügsten Köpfe und schärfsten Augen im Bereich der Modeforschung: Akiko Fukai (Direktorin des Kyoto Costume Institute und Kuratorin em.), Tamami Suoh (Kuratorin am Kyoto Costume Institute), Miki Iwagami (Dozentin für Modegeschichte an der Bunka Gakuen University, Tokio), Reiko Koga (ehem. Professorin für Modegeschichte an der Bunka Gakuen University) und Rie Nii (Kuratorin am Kyoto Costume Institute).
HerausgeberThe Kyoto Costume Institute
VerlagTASCHEN
Jahr
EinbandartFester Einband
SpracheEnglisch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-8365-7791-5
Artikel IDart-58646

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

Straßenfotografie in Wien
39,80 €  
Great Works from the LuEsther T. Mertz Library of The New York Botanical Garden
75,00 € 39,95 €  
Photographs by Nicholas Alan Cope
65,00 € 25,00 €  
One Hundred People and Ideas from a Century in Fashion
95,00 € 48,00 €  
Vom 18. bis zum 20. Jahrhundert
60,00 €  
40th Anniversary Edition
25,00 €  
60,00 €  
A History of Photography in Fashion Magazines
85,00 € 39,95 €  
49,95 €  
*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*
A History of Photography in Fashion Magazines
85,00 € 39,95 €  
*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*
The Shape of Sound | 100 Iconic Designs
49,95 € 24,95 €  
49,95 € 39,95 €