The Secret Teachings of All Ages
612 pages, 33.5 x 47.5 cm , 13000 g.
The Secret Teachings of All Ages
Famous First Edition
€500.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
The Wisdom of the Ancients
The classic encyclopedia of the arcane in an expanded edition
Renowned philosopher and lecturer Manly P. Hall’s masterful encyclopedia of ancient symbols, hidden rituals, and arcane practices has remained a classic since first published in 1928. Hall’s densely detailed writings explore topics ranging from Hermeticism to Tarot, Egyptian mythology to Pythagorean theory. Each chapter is accompanied by the vivid illustrations of artist J. Augustus Knapp, with additional images by Mihran Serailian found in the companion volume, each taking their own unique approach to nearly 60 artworks depicting occult subject matter.

The initial concept for what became known as Hall’s “Great Book”, first began in 1923 when the young Los Angeles-based orator began a months-long trip around the globe. Circumnavigating by ship, Hall visited Egypt, China and India, immersing himself in the philosophical and religious history of each country. Upon his return he spent the next five years penning his massive compendium of philosophy and myth.

Nearly a century after its release, this iconic masterwork has been reproduced for the first time from the rare and extravagant original edition. This meticulously-restored version of Hall’s “Great Book” is also accompanied by an expansive companion book, featuring condensed summaries of each chapter of The Secret Teachings, alongside newly-discovered artworks, rare photography from Hall’s archives as well as essays from journalists Mitch Horowitz and Jessica Hundley.

The four special edition prints were selected from the many artworks originally created for the first edition of The Secret Teachings of All Ages. Rarely seen and only recently discovered in the archives at the Philosophical Research Society, these works were first commissioned by Manly P. Hall and were created by his frequent artistic collaborators, J.A. Knapp and M.K. Serailian.
PublisherTASCHEN
Year
LanguageEnglish
NoteWith leatherette-bound spine and gold foil embossing; 4 prints in a portfolio, each 33.5 x 47.5 cm
 More
ISBN978-3-8365-9446-2
Author(s)Manly Palmer Hall
Article IDart-58670

 

Other books with these keywords:

The Depiction of Cast Shadows in Western Art
€15.00 €7.95  
Jüdische Schriftkultur aus der Braginsky Collection
€54.00 €19.95  
1898–1903
€55.00 €39.80  
Great Works from the LuEsther T. Mertz Library of The New York Botanical Garden
€75.00 €39.95  
€55.00 €25.00  
€30.00  
A Celebration of the Cathedral
€25.00 €12.95  
from Giotto to Warhol
€29.90 €9.95  
Teatro Comunale di Bologna
€59.00 €25.00  
Des origines à la fin de la restauration (1794-1830)
€69.00 €19.95  
Tradition einer Samurai-Familie
€39.90 €19.95

The Secret Teachings of All Ages
612 Seiten, 33,5 x 47,5 cm , 13000 g.
The Secret Teachings of All Ages
Famous First Edition
500,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Das verborgene Wissen
Die Enzyklopädie der okkulten Lehren in einer erweiterten Ausgabe
Die grundlegende, enzyklopädische Abhandlung des bekannten Philosophen und Dozenten Manly P. Hall über antike Symbole, verborgene Rituale und arkane Praktiken ist seit ihrer Erstveröffentlichung im Jahr 1928 ein Klassiker. Seine detailreichen Schriften erforschen Themen, die von der griechischen Hermetik bis zum Tarot, von der ägyptischen Mythologie bis zur Theorie des Pythagoras reichen. Jedes Kapitel wird begleitet von den anschaulichen Illustrationen des Künstlers J. Augustus Knapp und zusätzlichen Abbildungen von Mihran Serailian, die im Begleitband zu finden sind. Sie bieten einen einzigartigen Zugang zu den fast 60 Kunstwerken zu okkulten Themen.

Das ursprüngliche Konzept für das, was als Halls "Großes Buch" bekannt wurde, entstand 1923, als der junge Redner aus Los Angeles eine monatelange Reise um den Globus unternahm. Mit dem Schiff umrundete Hall Ägypten, China und Indien und vertiefte sich in die philosophische und religiöse Geschichte von diesen Ländern. Nach seiner Rückkehr verbrachte er fünf Jahre damit, sein umfangreiches Kompendium über Philosophie und Mythen zu verfassen.

Fast ein Jahrhundert nach seiner Erstveröffentlichung wurde dieses ikonische Meisterwerk nun zum ersten Mal von der seltenen und kostbaren Originalausgabe ausgehend reproduziert. Unsere minutiös restaurierte Version von Halls "Großem Buch" wird außerdem durch ein umfangreiches Begleitbuch ergänzt, das Zusammenfassungen der einzelnen Kapitel der Secret Teachings sowie neu entdeckte Kunstwerke, seltene Fotografien aus Halls Archiven und Essays von den Journalisten Mitch Horowitz und Jessica Hundley enthält.
VerlagTASCHEN
Jahr
SpracheEnglisch
BemerkungMit kunstledergebundenem Rücken und Goldfolienprägung; 4 Drucke in einem Portfolio, je 33,5 x 47,5 cm
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-8365-9446-2
Autor(en)Manly Palmer Hall
Artikel IDart-58670

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

Great Works from the LuEsther T. Mertz Library of The New York Botanical Garden
75,00 € 39,95 €  
A Celebration of the Cathedral
25,00 € 12,95 €  
59,95 € 39,95 €  
Poussin, Watteau, Fragonard, David, and Ingres
120,00 € 55,00 €  
49,95 €  
Die Kunst der großen Gefühle
48,00 € 14,95 €  
39,95 € 19,95 €  
39,00 € 14,95 €  
From the 16th century until today
150,00 €