Frida Kahlo
480 pages, 15.6 x 21.7 cm , 934 g.
Frida Kahlo
40th Anniversary Edition
€25.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
Among the women artists who have transcended art history, none had a meteoric rise quite like Mexican painter Frida Kahlo (1907–1954). Her unmistakable face, depicted in over fifty extraordinary self-portraits, has been admired by generations; along with hundreds of photographs taken by notable artists such as Manuel and Lola Álvarez Bravo, Nickolas Muray, and Martin Munkácsi, they made Frida Kahlo an iconic image of 20th century art.

After an accident in her early youth, Frida became a painter of her own free will. Her marriage to Diego Rivera in 1929 placed her at the forefront of an artistic scene not only in the cultural Renaissance of Mexico, but also in the United States. Her work garnered praise from the poet André Breton, who added the Mexican painter to the ranks of international surrealism and exhibited her work in Paris in 1939 to the admiration of Picasso, Kandinsky, and Duchamp.

We access the intimacy of Frida’s affections and passions through a selection of drawings, pages from her personal diary, and an extensive illustrated biography featuring photos of Frida, Diego, and the Casa Azul, Frida’s home and the center of her universe.

This book allows readers to admire Frida Kahlo’s paintings like never before, including unprecedented detail shots and famous photographs. It presents pieces in private collections and reproduces works that were previously lost or have not been exhibited for more than 80 years.
PublisherTASCHEN
Year
CoverHardcover
LanguageEnglish
 More
ISBN978-3-8365-9485-1
Author(s)Luis-Martín Lozano, Andrea Kettenmann, Marina Vázquez Ramos
Article IDart-59186

 

Other books with these keywords:

€22.00 €9.95  
€39.00 €19.95  
€75.00  
The Dynamics of Portraiture
€52.00 €25.00  
Verschollene, zerstörte und kaum gezeigte Bilder
€49.95  
Women Portraying Women
€50.00 €15.00  
€59.95  
Paintings and Works on Paper
€125.00 €55.00  
Notebook No. 1 – 1936-1944
€165.00 €75.00

Frida Kahlo
480 Seiten, 15,6 x 21,7 cm , 934 g.
Frida Kahlo
40th Anniversary Edition
25,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Kaum eine Künstlerin stieg so kometenhaft in der Kunstgeschichte auf wie die mexikanische Malerin Frida Kahlo (1907–1954). Ihr unverwechselbares Antlitz hielt sie in über fünfzig außergewöhnlichen Selbstporträts fest, die seit Generationen bewundert werden. Diese Werke und zahlreiche Aufnahmen namhafter Fotokünstler wie Manuel und Lola Álvarez Bravo, Nickolas Muray und Martin Munkácsi machten Frida Kahlo zu einer Ikone der Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts.

Nach einem Unfall in ihrer frühen Jugend entschied sich Frida, Malerin zu werden. Ihre Heirat mit Diego Rivera im Jahr 1929 katapultierte sie an die Spitze der Kunstszene, nicht nur in Mexiko, sondern auch in den Vereinigten Staaten und in Europa. Kein geringerer als André Breton lobte ihr Werk und nahm die Malerin in den internationalen Kreis der Surrealisten auf. 1939 stellte er ihre Arbeiten in Paris aus, wo Picasso, Kandinsky und Duchamp sie bewunderten.

Dieser Band bietet Gelegenheit, Frida Kahlos Gemälden nahe wie nie zuvor zu kommen – in brillanten Reproduktionen und im Zusammenspiel mit berühmten Fotografien. Das Buch präsentiert Werke aus Privatsammlungen, die für die breite Öffentlichkeit schwer zugänglich sind, und zeigt Arbeiten, die bislang als verschollen galten oder seit mehr als 80 Jahren nicht mehr ausgestellt waren.

Zeichnungen, Tagebuchseiten sowie eine umfangreich illustrierte Biografie mit Fotos von Frida, Diego und der Casa Azul – ihrem Zuhause – erlauben einen intimen Einblick in Frida Kahlos Leben und ihr künstlerisches Universum.
VerlagTASCHEN
Jahr
EinbandartFester Einband
SpracheEnglisch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-8365-9485-1
Autor(en)Luis-Martín Lozano, Andrea Kettenmann, Marina Vázquez Ramos
Artikel IDart-59186

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

Paintings & Provocations
49,95 €  
22,00 € 9,95 €  
38,00 € 12,95 €  
1900-1918
49,95 € 19,95 €  
75,00 €  
The Dynamics of Portraiture
52,00 € 25,00 €  
To look without fear (MoMA-Katalog, deutsche Ausgabe)
49,00 €  
Verschollene, zerstörte und kaum gezeigte Bilder
49,95 €  
59,95 €  
Paintings and Works on Paper
125,00 € 55,00 €  
Notebook No. 1 – 1936-1944
165,00 € 75,00 €