Extra! Weegee
336 pages, 30 x 24 cm , 1867 g.
Extra! Weegee
Was €49.90 €19.90
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
No other photographer has caught the sensations, scandals and catastrophes of the 1930s and 1940s in New York City with his camera as captivatingly as Weegee. He was always directly on the spot when it happened and documented the events and the onlookers. All the works come from the N.E.A. agency archive, which was only rediscovered in 2012; most of the vintage prints are being published for the very first time in this volume.

Weegee (1899–1968) was the first photographer to receive official permission in 1938 to listen in live to the New York police radio. From then onwards he sometimes even arrived at the trouble spot before the police and took countless photographs. From the hardened police officer to the loud-mouthed crook; from the midnight boozer to the dancing jazz musician; from a dramatic conflagration to the celebrations at the end of the Second World War: Weegee immortalised all these moments in unforgettable pictures.

The volume also shows a hitherto unknown side of the famous photographer – happy people enjoying themselves. The works are complemented by the exciting story of the rediscovery of the archive, which was missing for decades.
EditorDaniel Blau
PublisherHirmer
Year
CoverHardcover
LanguageEnglish
 More
ISBN978-3-7774-2813-0
ContributorsR. Adams, H. Corey et al.
Type of bookExhib'publication
Museum / PlaceFotografiska, Stockholm
Article IDart-59813

 

Other books with these keywords:

The WPA National Research Project Photographs, 1936-37
€40.00 €15.00  
€65.00 €29.95  
€11.95 €5.00  
The Human Clay
€65.00 €35.00  
The Human Clay
€58.00  
Fotografin zwischen Krieg und Glamour
€45.00

Extra! Weegee
336 Seiten, 30 x 24 cm , 1867 g.
Extra! Weegee
Statt 49,90 € 19,90 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Kein anderer Fotograf hat die Sensationen, Skandale und Katastrophen der 1930er- und 1940er-Jahre von New York City mit seiner Kamera so mitreißend eingefangen wie Weegee. Stets war er unmittelbar am Ort des Geschehens und dokumentierte die Ereignisse und die Schaulustigen. Alle Werke stammen aus dem erst 2012 wiederentdeckten Agenturarchiv N.E.A., und die meisten der Vintage Prints werden in diesem Band erstmals publiziert.

Weegee (1899–1968) erhielt 1938 als Erster offiziell die Erlaubnis, den New Yorker Polizeifunk live mitzuhören. Seither traf er teilweise noch vor der Polizei am Krisenherd ein und machte unzählige Aufnahmen. Vom hartgesottenen Polizisten bis zum großmäuligen Ganoven, von der mitternächtlichen Schnapsdrossel bis zum tanzenden Jazzer, vom dramatischen Großbrand bis zu den Feierlichkeiten zum Ende des Weltkrieges: Weegee bannte all diese Momente in unvergessliche Bilder.

Der Band zeigt auch die bisher unbekannte Seite des berühmten Fotografen – feiernde, glückliche Menschen. Ergänzt werden die Werke durch die spannende Geschichte der Wiederentdeckung dieses jahrzehntelang verschollenen Archivs.
HerausgeberDaniel Blau
VerlagHirmer
Jahr
EinbandartFester Einband
SpracheEnglisch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-7774-2813-0
Beiträge vonR. Adams, H. Corey et al.
BuchtypAusst'publikation
Museum / OrtFotografiska, Stockholm
Artikel IDart-59813

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

38,00 € 9,95 €  
The WPA National Research Project Photographs, 1936-37
40,00 € 15,00 €  
Un autre Robert Doisenau
38,00 € 10,00 €  
65,00 € 29,95 €  
1970–1983
40,00 €  
Road Trips USA
45,00 € 25,00 €  
The Human Clay
58,00 €  
The March on Washington
29,95 € 12,95 €  
1970 - 1983
40,00 €  
(Spanish edition)
49,90 €  
Fotografin zwischen Krieg und Glamour
45,00 €