Jenseits von Brasilien
199 pages, 24.5 x 29.5 cm , 1188 g.
Jenseits von Brasilien
Johann Natterer und die ethnographischen Sammlungen der österreichischen Brasilienexpedition 1817 bis 1835
Was €29.95 €10.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
Until the early 19th century, Brazil was something of a terra incognita for Europeans. Following the marriage of Archduchess Leopoldine to Dom Pedro, the Portuguese crown prince, in 1817, Austria sent a scientific expedition to Brazil to study the country’s people, flora and fauna.

Johann Natterer (1787–1843) joined the expedition as a zoologist, travelling the country a total of eighteen years. As he died young and most of his notes were destroyed in a fire at Hofburg Palace in 1848 his collection and scientific work was long overlooked.

Thanks to his efforts the Museum of Ethnology houses the world’s most important ethnographic collection on early 19th century Brazil. Comprising over 2400 objects, it is among the most important of its kind but is little-known to the general public.

The exhibition catalogue „Beyond Brazil“ presents the first comprehensive survey of these fascinating collections and offers much more than a mere historical summary. The objects are placed in different contexts and linked to contemporary topics.
EditorClaudia Augustat
PublisherKunsthistorisches Museum Wien
Year
CoverPaperback with flaps
LanguageGerman
 More
ISBN978-3-99020-023-0
Illustrationswith mostly col. ills
ContributorsChristian Feest, Gabriele Herzog-Schröder et al.
Type of bookCatalogue
Museum / PlaceWien
Article IDart-11447

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

In the Twentieth Century
€49.80 €10.00  
Photographer of India and Burma 1852-1860
€58.00 €28.00  
The Palace Museum Collection
€58.00  
The Congress of Vienna 1814/1815
€45.00 €20.00  
Volume 1 & 2
€150.00 €50.00  
Cooking - Serving - Eating. Emblems of Abundance
€45.00 €15.00  
The Trumpf Collection
€98.00 €29.95  
From the 19th to the 21st Century
€59.00  
Designing Modern Vienna 1897-1907
€59.00 €29.95

Jenseits von Brasilien
199 Seiten, 24,5 x 29,5 cm , 1188 g.
Jenseits von Brasilien
Johann Natterer und die ethnographischen Sammlungen der österreichischen Brasilienexpedition 1817 bis 1835
Statt 29,95 € 9,95 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Brasilien galt bis ins frühe 19. Jahrhundert in Europa weitgehend als Terra incognita. Anlässlich der Vermählung von Erzherzogin Leopoldine mit dem portugiesischen Thronfolger Dom Pedro im Jahre 1817 entsandte der österreichische Hof eine naturkundliche Expedition nach Brasilien, um das Land und seine Menschen, aber auch Flora und Fauna wissenschaftlich zu erschließen.

Johann Natterer (1787 – 1843) war Zoologe auf dieser Expedition und bereiste das Land insgesamt 18 Jahre lang. Da er früh verstarb und ein großer Teil seiner Aufzeichnungen beim Hofburg-Brand im Jahre 1848 vernichtet wurde, blieb seine Sammeltätigkeit lange Zeit ohne Würdigung.

Das Museum für Völkerkunde in Wien verdankt ihm heute die weltweit bedeutendsten ethnographischen Sammlungen aus dem Brasilien des frühen 19. Jahrhunderts. Sie zählen mit über 2.400 Objekten zu den bedeutendsten ihrer Art, sind jedoch dem Publikum und der Fachwelt bis heute kaum bekannt.

Der Ausstellungskatalog „Jenseits von Brasilien“ präsentiert nun erstmals diese faszinierenden Objekte und bietet dabei weit mehr als eine historische Nacherzählung. Die Sammlungsbestände werden in unterschiedlichen Kontexten gezeigt, wobei die Einbindung in aktuelle Themen eine Brücke in die Gegenwart schlägt.
HerausgeberClaudia Augustat
VerlagKunsthistorisches Museum Wien
Jahr
EinbandartKlappenbroschur
SpracheDeutsch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-99020-023-0
Abbildungenmit meist farb. Abb
Beiträge vonChristian Feest, Gabriele Herzog-Schröder et al
BuchtypKatalog
Museum / OrtWien
Artikel IDart-11447

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

55,00 € 15,00 €  
Von der Forschungszeichnung zur ethnografischen Fotografie
46,00 € 19,95 €  
Art Nouveau from 1899 to 1905
99,80 € 39,95 €  
Art Nouveau Porcelain from Sweden
39,80 € 15,00 €  
Vom Menschenbildnis zum Spielzeug
22,80 € 5,00 €  
Mechanics of Passion (English edition)
55,00 € 15,00 €  
55,00 € 19,95 €  
Johann Natterer and the Ethnographic Collections from the Austrian Expedition to Brazil (1817-1835)
29,95 € 9,95 €  
The Karun Thakar Collection
49,80 € 19,95 €  
An Artistic And Cultural History
75,00 € 19,95 €  
In the Twentieth Century
49,80 € 15,00 €  
Guyane
29,00 € 16,00 €