Michael Wolf – Cheung Chau Sunrises
104 pages, 22 x 28.4 cm , 846 g.
Michael Wolf – Cheung Chau Sunrises
€38.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
The new series by photographer Michael Wolf shows the tremendous natural spectacle of the sunrises over the bay of Hong Kong and expands his work into the dimensions of painting and freedom.

For the past two years, Michael Wolf has taken a photo of the rising sun from his home above Hong Kong’s Cheung Chau shore. Every morning, between 5:30am and 7:30am, thereby developing the concept of a new series, inspired by both paintings and topographic photography.

These fascinating shots of timeless and transient natural spectacles, appear as a contrast to the previous work of Michael Wolf, which addressed the lack of space and the human adaptation to economic conditions in large cities. In the context of his socio-critical work, Wolfs "Discovery of Heaven and the Horizon" is to be understood as a draft of freedom, in a place that is synonymous with extreme working and living conditions.

Michael Wolf's "Cheung Chau Sunrises" have been celebrated by the Haus der Photographie in Hamburg, where they are on display for the first time during the solo exhibition "Michael Wolf – Life in Cities" (ends March 3rd 2019).

Wolf was awarded first prize in the World Press Photo competition in 2005 and 2010, as well an honorable mention in 2011. In 2010, and again in 2017 he was shortlisted for the Prix Pictet photography prize. His most famous book is "Tokyo Compression".
PublisherBuchkunst Berlin
Year
CoverCloth
LanguageEnglish, German
 More
ISBN978-3-9819805-5-4
Article IDart-20848

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

€58.00 €20.00  
Little Rann of Kutch, Gujarat, India
€58.00 €28.00  
€65.00 €30.00  
(English edition)
€45.00  
A Journey to Spitsbergen
€29.80 €9.95  
with Jennifer Baichwal and Nicholas de Pencier
€95.00  
€98.00 €48.00

Michael Wolf – Cheung Chau Sunrises
104 Seiten, 22 x 28,4 cm , 846 g.
Michael Wolf – Cheung Chau Sunrises
(Pub. Date 16 Feb 2019)
38,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
In seiner neuen Serie zeigt der Fotograf Michael Wolf das gewaltige Naturschauspiel der Sonnenaufgänge über der Bucht von Hongkong. Damit erweitert er seine Fotografien in die Dimension der Malerei und setzt sich mit dem Motiv der Freiheit auseinander.

Von seiner Wohnung auf der Hongkong vorgelagerten Insel Cheung Chau aus fotografierte Michael Wolf in den letzten zwei Jahren Sonnenaufgänge – jeden Morgen zwischen 5:30 und 7:30 Uhr. In diesem Rahmen entwickelt er das Konzept einer neuen malerischen sowie topografischen Fotoserie.

Die faszinierenden Aufnahmen dieser zeitlosen und vergänglichen Naturschauspiele erscheinen als ein Gegenentwurf zu den bisherigen Arbeiten von Michael Wolf, die den Platzmangel und die Anpassung an ökonomische Verhältnisse in Großstädten thematisieren. Im Kontext seines sozialkritischen Werkes ist diese Wolf’sche „Entdeckung des Himmels und des Horizonts“ als ein Entwurf von Freiheit zu verstehen, an einem Ort, welcher ein Synonym für ebenjene extremen Arbeits- und Lebensverhältnisse ist.

Innerhalb der retrospektiven Ausstellung „Michael Wolf – Life in Cities“ im Haus der Photographie in Hamburg wurden die Fotografien von „Cheung Chau Sunrises“ zum ersten Mal gezeigt.

Wolf gewann 2005 und 2010 den ersten Preis beim World Press Photo Award und erhielt 2011 eine ehrenvolle Erwähnung. 2010 und 2017 wurden seine Arbeiten für den Prix Pictet nominiert. Sein erfolgreichstes Buch ist "Tokyo Compression".
VerlagBuchkunst Berlin
Jahr
EinbandartLeinen
SpracheEnglisch, Deutsch
BemerkungJetzt vorbestellen. Versand Mitte Februar
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-9819805-5-4
Artikel IDart-20848

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

68,00 € 29,95 €  
68,00 € 29,95 €  
58,00 € 20,00 €  
39,80 € 14,95 €  
(English edition)
45,00 €  
58,00 € 19,95 €  
Travels in the World of Coffee
68,00 € 28,00 €  
A Journey to Spitsbergen
29,80 € 9,95 €  
Dirt Meridian & Detroit Disassemled
85,00 € 29,95 €  
with Jennifer Baichwal and Nicholas de Pencier
95,00 €  
Images from Ciman Village
68,00 €