Michael Wolf – Architecture of Density Hong Kong
120 pages, 31 x 24 cm , 1025 g.
Michael Wolf – Architecture of Density Hong Kong
€48.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
The long-awaited new edition of the photo book classic, from the award-winning series by the renowned German photographer - expanded with 9 new images from Michael Wolf’s archive!

Since its first publication in 2012, the photo book “Architecture of Density” has become an icon in the history of the medium. This series of photos has won many awards, becoming symbolic of the megacity of Hong Kong - the photographer’s adopted home from 2002 to 2019. The new edition also contains 9 additional unpublished images from the archive of this unique photo series. Marc Feustel, whom Michael Wolf called his “ghostwriter,” has contributed an essay for this edition.

Focusing on Hong Kong’s specific visual elements, Michael Wolf has depicted life in the architectural and social densification of one of the world’s most crowded cities, and developed a distinctive photographic style for “Architecture of Density.” He removes any traces of skyline or horizon from the images, achieving a flattening of space until it becomes a relentless abstraction of urban development from which the viewer’s eye can no longer escape from. With these jarring visual effects, Michael Wolf conveys a feeling of the buildings expanding into infinity, reflecting the possible spatial experience of Hong Kong residents.

These photographs have struck a nerve and have become part of our collective memory. With this new edition of “Architecture of Density Hong Kong,” this series is available again in book form, allowing its diverse effects to be experienced by everyone.

Pre-orders are now possible at the subscription price of 45,00 € (valid until 01.10.2022)!
EditorBarbara Wolf, Ana Druga, Thomas Gust
PublisherBuchkunst Berlin
Year
CoverHardcover
LanguageGerman, English
 More
ISBN978-3-9819805-1-6
ContributorsMarc Feustel
Article IDart-53970

 

Other books with these keywords:

€40.00  
Die utopische Stadt der Morgendämmerung
€39.95  
Foto-Auge—Neue Fotografie
€85.00  
One Week in Tokyo
€24.00  
Osram München
€43.00  
Split Seconds
€90.00 €19.95

Michael Wolf – Architecture of Density Hong Kong
120 Seiten, 31 x 24 cm , 1025 g.
Michael Wolf – Architecture of Density Hong Kong
48,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Die Neuauflage des Fotobuch-Klassikers der preisgekrönten Serie – erweitert um neue Bilder aus dem Archiv von Michael Wolf!

Das Fotobuch „Architecture of Density“ ist seit seiner Erstveröffentlichung 2012 zu einem Meilenstein in der Geschichte des Mediums geworden. Die Serie wurde vielfach ausgezeichnet und die Fotografien sind auch zu einem Symbol für die Megacity Hongkong geworden, welche in der Zeit von 2002 bis 20019 auch die Wahlheimat des Fotografen gewesen ist. Die Neuauflage enthält zusätzlich neun weitere unveröffentlichte Bilder aus dem Archiv dieser einzigartigen Fotoserie. Für das Buch hat Marc Feustel, den Michael Wolf als seinen „Ghostwriter“ bezeichnete, einen Essay geschrieben.

Fokussiert auf die spezifischen visuellen Elemente Hongkongs hat Michael Wolf das Leben in der architektonischen und sozialen Verdichtung in einer der überfülltesten Städte der Welt dargestellt und für „Architecture of Density“ einen unverwechselbaren fotografischen Stil entwickelt. Er entfernt jede Himmels- oder Horizontlinie aus dem Bild und erzielt so eine Verflachung des Raumes, bis dieser zu einer unerbittlichen Abstraktion der urbanen Entwicklung wird, welcher das Auge des Betrachters nicht mehr entkommen kann. Mit dieser visuellen Irritation vermittelt Michael Wolf das Gefühl einer Ausdehnung der Gebäude in das Unendliche, was unter Umständen auch die räumliche Erfahrung der Einwohner Hongkongs ist.

Diese Fotografien haben einen Nerv getroffen und sind mittlerweile Teil unseres kollektiven Gedächtnisses geworden. Mit der Neuauflage des Bildbandes „Architecture of Density Hong Kong“ ist die Serie wieder in Buchform erhältlich und ihre vielfältigen Wirkungen sind wieder für jedermann erfahrbar.

Vorbestellungen jetzt zum Subskriptionspreis (gültig bis 01.10.2022) möglich!
HerausgeberBarbara Wolf, Ana Druga, Thomas Gust
VerlagBuchkunst Berlin
Jahr
EinbandartFester Einband
SpracheDeutsch, Englisch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-9819805-1-6
Beiträge vonMarc Feustel
Artikel IDart-53970

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

40,00 €  
Photo-Eye—New Photography
85,00 € 19,95 €  
One Week in Tokyo
24,00 €  
98,00 € 58,00 €  
Split Seconds
95,00 € 19,95 €