Bill Viola – Installationen
168 pages, 21.5 x 32.5 cm , 952 g.
Bill Viola – Installationen
Was €39.80 €17.95
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
On the occasion of the Reformation Anniversary 2017, Deichtorhallen Hamburg show a comprehensive exhibition by American artist Bill Viola (*1951 in New York) featuring 13 video installations created since 1992.

His work examines core themes of human life – birth, emotion, spirituality, love, and death. The artist is particularly interested in the mystical traditions of Christianity, Zen Buddhism and Islam. Reflected in ­almost all his video installations, there is a spiritual ­openness that addresses the viewers' bodies as a ­medium for borderline experiences, which contributes to their impressive aura. At times, their ultra-slow motion aesthetics allude to aesthetics influenced by the iconog­raphy of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance – with archaic force, yet formally highly sophisticated, these unique images convey the experience of the sublime and spiritual using the pictorial language of the global-ized 21st century.

After numerous projects and exhibi­tions, such as at the Grand Palais in Paris, the Museum of Modern Art in New York, as US representative at the 46th Venice Biennale, and currently at Palazzo Strozzi in Florence, Bill Viola is today one of the most important contemporary artists, and regarded as the leading re­presentative of video art.
EditorDirk Luckow
PublisherSnoeck
Year
CoverSoftcover
LanguageGerman, English
 More
ISBN978-3-86442-209-6
Author(s)Dorothee Böhm, Wulf Herzogenrath, Bill Viola et al.
Type of bookExhib'publication
Museum / PlaceDeichtorhallen, Hamburg
Article IDart-59264

 

Other books with these keywords:

€39.00 €10.00  
€58.00 €19.95  
€49.95 €15.00  
€100.00 €65.00  
€44.00 €14.80  
€49.00 €15.00  
»Flash Sale! Ends soon!«
€125.00 €75.00  
Life Death Rebirth
€50.00 €25.00

Bill Viola – Installationen
168 Seiten, 21,5 x 32,5 cm , 952 g.
Bill Viola – Installationen
Statt 39,80 € 17,95 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Im Rahmen des Reformationsjubiläums 2017 zeigen die Deichtorhallen Hamburg eine groß angelegte Ausstellung des amerikanischen Medienkünstlers Bill Viola (*1951 in New York) mit 13 seit 1992 entstandenen Videoinstallationen.

Sein Werk beschäftigt sich mit den zentralen Themen des menschlichen Lebens – Geburt, Emotion, Spiritualität, Liebe und Tod. Das übergreifende Interesse des Künstlers gilt dabei insbesondere den mystischen Traditionen von Christentum, Zenbuddhismus und Islam. Eine solche spirituelle Offenheit, die stets auch die Körper der Betrachterinnen und Betrachter als ein Medium für Grenzerfahrungen adressiert, spiegelt sich in allen Videoinstallationen Bill Violas wider, die durch ihre einprägsame Aura bestechen. Zuweilen ist ihre Bildästhetik in Ultra-Slow-Motion stark an die Ikonografie des Mittelalters oder der Renaissance angelehnt - urgewaltig und zugleich formal höchst anspruchsvoll vermitteln diese einzigartigen Bilder die Erfahrung des Erhabenen und Spirituellen mit den Mitteln der Bildsprache des globalisierten 21. Jahrhunderts.

Bill Viola zählt mit seinen zahlreichen Projekten und Ausstellungen – etwa im Grand Palais in Paris, im Museum of Modern Art in New York, als Vertreter der USA auf der 46. Biennale in Venedig sowie aktuell im Palazzo Strozzi in Florenz – zu den bedeutendsten zeitgenössischen Künstlern weltweit und gilt als der führende Vertreter der Videokunst.
HerausgeberDirk Luckow
VerlagSnoeck
Jahr
EinbandartBroschur
SpracheDeutsch, Englisch
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-86442-209-6
Autor(en)Dorothee Böhm, Wulf Herzogenrath, Bill Viola et al.
BuchtypAusst'publikation
Museum / OrtDeichtorhallen, Hamburg
Artikel IDart-59264

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

50,00 € 25,00 €  
100,00 € 65,00 €  
44,00 € 14,80 €  
58,00 € 15,00 €  
49,00 € 15,00 €  
1992-2022
125,00 €  
Life Death Rebirth
50,00 € 25,00 €  
44,00 € 14,95 €