*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*
Hopper A–Z (*Hurt)
120 pages, 13.8 x 20.3 cm , 320 g.
Hopper A–Z (*Hurt)
Was €22.00 €9.95
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
That incomparable melancholy in Edward Hopper’s pictures occasionally leads us to look at the details of his life. Where exactly did this master of loneliness live and work? What were his most important influences while he was working on his great paintings of America? In this wonderful, simply structured, A-to-Z book, Ulf Küster pursues these themes, which say a great deal about the painter and his interests, and yet he never loses sight of the artist and the necessary distance to his inimitable pictures.
Thus, Küster strolls through the ABCs of Hopper’s life and work, from the “American landscape,” “Buick” “Goethe,” and “shadow and sunlight” to the key word, “zero.” On the way he opens up many new doors or insights, enriching the views of Hopper’s paintings and making it possible to interpret them in new ways. An entertaining and informative book.

EDWARD HOPPER (1882–1967) is the master of American Realism. His paintings captured life during his era. His method of painting rapidly became the stylistic foundation of a type of American modernism. A source of inspiration for countless painters, photographers, and filmmakers, his body of work continues to be influential to this very day.

The art theoretician and curator ULF KÜSTER (*1966, Stuttgart) has worked at the Fondation Beyeler in Riehen since 2004. He produces many internationally respected exhibitions and publications. Hatje Cantz has published a number of these, including his essay on Louise Bourgeois in the series Reading Art.
PublisherHatje Cantz
Year
CoverHardcover
LanguageEnglish
Note(*Hurt) Corners slightly bumped, see last photo
 More
ISBN978-3-7757-4656-4
ContributorsUlf Küster
Article IDart-67693

 

Other books with these keywords:

€25.00 €10.00  
Paintings, drawings, and other Works (5 vols.)
€2,800.00  
€49.95 €19.95  
€11.90 €5.99  
*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*
Paintings, drawings, and other Works (5 vols.)
€1,800.00  
*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*
The Restless Years, 1922-1968
€40.00 €12.95  
Kunst im öffentlichen Raum: 1933-1992
€49.00 €19.95  
(Deutsche Ausgabe)
€38.00 €14.95  
€59.95 €39.95

*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*
Hopper A–Z (*Hurt)
120 Seiten, 13,8 x 20,3 cm , 320 g.
Hopper A–Z (*Hurt)
Statt 22,00 € 9,95 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Jene unvergleichliche Melancholie im bildnerischen Werk von Edward Hopper lenkt bisweilen den Blick auch auf biografische Details. An welchen konkreten Orten hat dieser Meister der Einsamkeit gelebt und gewirkt? Was waren die für ihn wichtigen Einflüsse, während er an den großen Bildern Amerikas gearbeitet hat? Ulf Küster geht in diesem wunderbar klug und leicht geschriebenen A bis Z genau den Themen nach, die zugleich viel über den Maler und seine Interessen erzählen und dabei doch nie den Künstler und die gebotene Distanz zu seinen unvergleichlichen Bildern aus dem Blick verlieren.
So flaniert Küster entlang dem ABC von der »Amerikanischen Landschaft« über »Buick«, »Goethe« oder »Schatten und Sonnenlicht« bis zum Stichwort »Zeit« durch Leben und Werk von Edward Hopper und öffnet dabei viele neue Türen oder Einsichten, die wiederum den Blick auf Hoppers Bilder bereichern und neue Lesarten ermöglichen. Ein ebenso unterhaltsames wie informatives Buch.

EDWARD HOPPER (1882–1967) ist der Meister des Amerikanischen Realismus. In seinen Gemälden fing er das Leben seiner Zeit ein. Seine Malweise wurde schnell zum stilbildenden Ausdruck einer amerikanischen Moderne. Als Inspirationsquelle für zahlreiche Maler, Fotografen und Filmemacher übt sein Werk bis heute großen Einfluss aus.

Der Kunsthistoriker ULF KÜSTER (*1966, Stuttgart) arbeitet seit 2004 bei der Fondation Beyeler in Riehen. Er kuratiert international beachtete Ausstellungen und verfasst zahlreiche Publikationen. Bei Hatje Cantz erschien u.a. sein Text zu Louise Bourgeois in der Reihe Kunst zum Lesen.
VerlagHatje Cantz
Jahr
EinbandartFester Einband
SpracheEnglisch
Bemerkung(*Hurt) Ecken leicht bestoßen, siehe letztes Foto
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-7757-4656-4
Beiträge vonUlf Küster
Artikel IDart-67693

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

Paintings, drawings, and other Works (5 vols.)
2.980,00 €  
49,95 € 9,95 €  
58,00 € 25,00 €  
11,90 € 5,99 €  
*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*HURT*
Paintings, drawings, and other Works (5 vols.)
1.800,00 €  
Kunst im öffentlichen Raum: 1933-1992
49,00 € 19,95 €  
(Deutsche Ausgabe)
38,00 € 14,95 €