***SIGNED***                    
Erik Kessels – Archive Land (sign.)
15 x 12.4 cm , 790 g.
Erik Kessels – Archive Land (sign.)
Was €35.00 €19.95
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
With the exhibition Archive Land the Dutch artist Erik Kessels opens the hitherto unpublicized template collection of the MAKK.

A kind of encyclopaedic image archive, it once served as a guide to artistic designs for the Fine and Applied Arts. Kessels will use the (photo)graphic plates, which recall oversized playing cards, to build ruins for a walk-through room installation and create a temporary “dig site”. A sound installation by the British artist Robin Rimbaud alias ‘Scanner’ translates the archive into sound.

The installation resembles an archetypal dilapidated historical building. Just like an archive, these structures are often hidden away and difficult to access – relics from bygone times. Walking through these motifs ranging from the Middle Ages to the 19th century and letting the mind wander encourages visitors to perceive these usually hidden visual worlds in a new way.

Erik Kessels (born 1966 in Roermond, Netherlands) lives and works in Amsterdam. He is creative director and head of the KesselsKramer advertising agency in Amsterdam, which he founded together with Johan Kramer in 1995 as a “legendary and unorthodox” communications agency. Since 2000, he has also published the Useful Photography magazine and has edited several books, for example Missing Links (1999), The Instant Men (2000), In almost every picture (2001-2013) and Wonder (2006). www.kesselskramer.com

The exhibition will be accompanied by playing cards and a music cassette in a collector's box (200 copies, signed by Erik Kessels and Scanner).
Year
CoverBox
LanguageEnglish
NoteCardboard Box with card set and music tape, signed & numbered, edition of 200
 More
ContributorsSoundinstallation von Scanner alias Robin Rimbaud
Type of bookExhib'publication
Museum / PlaceMAKK Cologne
Article IDart-51536

 

Other books with these keywords:

Book + Print #8: HABS AK-16: Jet Lowe
€99.00

***SIGNED***                    
Erik Kessels – Archive Land (sign.)
15 x 12,4 cm , 790 g.
Erik Kessels – Archive Land (sign.)
Statt 35,00 € 19,95 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
Mit der Ausstellung Archive Land öffnet der niederländische Künstler Erik Kessels die bis dato unveröffentlichte Vorlagensammlung des Museums für Angewandte Kunst Köln.

Als eine Art enzyklopädisches Bildarchiv diente sie als Leitfaden der künstlerischen Gestaltungen für die Bildenden und Angewandten Künste. Als überdimensionale Spielkarten verbaut Kessels die (foto)-grafischen Platten als Ruinen zu einer begehbaren Rauminstallation und schafft eine temporäre "Ausgrabungsstätte". Eine Klanginstallation des britischen Künstlers Robin Rimbaud alias Scanner übersetzt das Archiv in Klang.

Die Installation ähnelt einer archetypischen historischen Ruine. Eine Ruine ist ebenso wie ein Archiv oftmals versteckt und schwer zugänglich – ein Relikt aus früheren Zeiten. Das freie Wandern und Assoziieren in und mit den Motiven aus dem Mittelalter bis ins 19. Jahrhundert, lädt die Besucher zu einer eigenen neuen Wahrnehmung dieser sonst verborgenen Bilderwelt ein.

Erik Kessels (*1966 in Roermond, Niederlande) lebt und arbeitet in Amsterdam. Als Creative Director leitet er die Werbeagentur KesselsKramer in Amsterdam, welche er zusammen mit Johan Kramer 1995 als „legendäre und unorthodoxe“ Kommunikationsagentur gründete. Seit 2000 ist er außerdem Herausgeber des Fotografie-Magazins „Useful Photograpy“ und hat zahlreiche Bücher herausgegeben, wie beispielsweise "Missing Links" (1999), "The Instant Men" (2000), "In almost every picture" (2001-2013) und "Wonder" (2006). www.kesselskramer.com

Zur Ausstellung erscheinen Spielkarten und eine Musikkassette in einer Sammlerbox (Auflage 200 Stück, signiert von Erik Kessels und Scanner).
Jahr
EinbandartBox
SpracheEnglisch
BemerkungPappschachtel mit Spielkarten Set und Musikkassette, signiert & nummeriert, Auflage 200
 Mehr
Beiträge vonSoundinstallation von Scanner alias Robin Rimbaud
BuchtypAusst'publikation
Museum / OrtMAKK Cologne
Artikel IDart-51536

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

49,95 €