Lynn Goldsmith – Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band
364 pages, 26.9 x 37.3 cm , 4110 g.
Lynn Goldsmith – Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band
€600.00
Including VAT, plus Shipping
Transit time: 2 to 6 business days (worldwide)
“By the end of Darkness, I had found my adult voice.” In 1977, dismissed by the press as a one-hit wonder, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band entered the studio to record the album that transformed a “kid from New Jersey” into America’s poet laureate of life’s underdogs. The tour that followed would come to be regarded as one of the most legendary in rock ‘n’ roll history, propelled by the nervous intensity of a group determined to prove itself.

Present throughout the recording, release, and tour of Darkness on the Edge of Town, Lynn Goldsmith tracks these memorable steps in Springsteen’s journey to becoming an American icon. With illuminating forewords from both artists, the book gathers hundreds of photographs—classic, rare, and previously unseen—that bring to life a star at his hungriest. In Springsteen’s words, “These photos remain a record of a time when I truly played for my life, night after night.” It was a standard matched by the E Street Band, seen here in its historic lineup of Roy Bittan, Clarence Clemons, Danny Federici, Garry Tallent, Steven Van Zandt, and Max Weinberg. Spotlighted more here than in any previous photography collection, the electric presence of the E Street band allows Goldsmith to capture the often-overlooked social, collaborative side of the Boss’s creative process. Yet it’s not just the process she captures; it’s also the character of the music itself. As she writes in the foreword: “I saw firsthand how Bruce and the E Street Band dedicated their bodies, pulled notes out of the air, left everything on the stage to create a musical performance that suggested the failures and glories of being human.” Treading through an icy New York, or on tour visiting cinemas, diners, markets, and parks, her photos also serve as a document of the same Americana that Springsteen chronicled so vividly in his songs.

Contrasting between intimate and expansive, between pinball games and sold-out shows, Darkness on the Edge of Town tells the behind-the-scenes story of this transformative record and tour that led to Springsteen’s stadium-sized acclaim. The collection gives fans inside access that only Goldsmith had as one of Springsteen’s closest companions during a seminal moment in the history of rock music. With talent, sensitivity, and vision, Goldsmith illuminates a never-before-seen side to Bruce Springsteen and his “band of brothers,” the E Street Band.
Collector’s Edition (Nr. 201–1,978), each copy numbered and signed by Lynn Goldsmith
PublisherTASCHEN
Year
CoverHalf-Cloth in Clamshell Box
LanguageGerman, English, French
NoteCollector’s Edition (No. 201–1,978), each copy numbered and signed by Lynn Goldsmith
 More
ISBN978-3-8365-8993-2
Article IDart-61522

 

Other books with these keywords:

Sinatra's liitle book
€38.00 €15.00  
€40.00 €30.00  
A Year and A Day
€50.00  
Photographs from 1972 to 1982
€50.00  
Travels Among Hindus
€69.95 €39.95  
(English edition)
€125.00  
(Deutsche Ausgabe)
€125.00  
Live and Up Close (photos by Gijsbert Hanekroot)
€24.95 €12.95  
Fotografin zwischen Krieg und Glamour
€45.00

Lynn Goldsmith – Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band
364 Seiten, 26,9 x 37,3 cm , 4110 g.
Lynn Goldsmith – Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band
600,00 €
Inkl. MWSt., zzgl. Versandkosten
Lieferzeit: 2 bis 6 Werktage (weltweit)
"Am Ende von Darkness hatte ich meine erwachsene Stimme gefunden." Im Jahr 1977, als sie von den Journalisten bereits als One-Hit-Wonder abgetan worden waren, gingen Bruce Springsteen und die E Street Band ins Studio, um das Album aufzunehmen, das aus einem "Kind aus New Jersey" den amerikanischen Lieblingspoeten der Underdogs machen sollte. Die anschließende Tournee galt als eine der legendärsten in der Geschichte des Rock 'n' Roll, sie war angetrieben von der nervösen Intensität einer Band, die sich beweisen wollte.

Lynn Goldsmith war bei den Aufnahmen, der Tour und der Release von Darkness on the Edge of Town dabei und zeichnet diese unvergessenen Schritte auf Springsteens Weg zu einer amerikanischen Ikone nach. Neben detailreichen Vorworten von Goldsmith und Springsteen versammelt das Buch Hunderte von Fotos – klassische, seltene und bisher ungesehene –, die den Auftakt einer weltweiten Karriere zeigen.

In Springsteens Worten: “Diese Fotos bleiben als Dokumente eines Augenblicks, in dem ich wirklich um mein Leben spielte, Abend für Abend.” Ihm zu Seite stand dabei die E Street Band in ihrer Originalbesetzung mit Roy Bittan, Clarence Clemons, Danny Federici, Garry Tallent, Steven Van Zandt und Max Weinberg. Die aufgeladene Präsenz der E Street Band, die hier mehr im Mittelpunkt steht als in jeder anderen Fotostrecke zuvor, erlaubt es Goldsmith, die oft übersehene Teamleistung in dem kreativen Prozesses von “The Boss” einzufangen. Doch sie zeigt nicht nur die Musiker in Aktion, sondern auch den Charakter der Musik selbst. Wie sie im Vorwort schreibt: " Ich erlebte aus nächster Nähe mit, wie Bruce und die E Street Band vollen Körpereinsatz brachten, Noten aus der Luft zauberten, sich auf der Bühne verausgabten, um eine musikalische Darbietung zu liefern, in der die Schwäche und die Größe des Menschseins zum Ausdruck kamen." Ob auf dem Weg durch das eisige New York oder auf Tournee in Kinos, Restaurants, auf Märkten und in Parks, Goldsmiths Fotos sind auch ein Dokument des amerikanischen Traums – und Albtraums, die Springsteen in seinen Songs so anschaulich beschreibt.

Darkness on the Edge of Town erzählt die Geschichten hinter den Kulissen des Albums, mit dem Springsteen erstmals Stadien füllte. Die Sammlung gibt Fans den Einblick, den nur Lynn Goldsmith als einer von Springsteens engsten Weggefährtinnen hatte, während er Rockgeschichte schrieb. Mit Talent, Sensibilität und Weitblick beleuchtet Goldsmith eine nie zuvor gesehene Seite von Bruce Springsteen und seiner "Band of Brothers", der E Street Band.

Collector’s Edition (No. 201–1.978), nummeriert und von Lynn Goldsmith signiert
VerlagTASCHEN
Jahr
EinbandartHalbleinen in Schlagkassette
SpracheDeutsch, Englisch, Französisch
BemerkungCollector’s Edition (No. 201–1.978), nummeriert und von Lynn Goldsmith signiert
 Mehr
ISBN978-3-8365-8993-2
Artikel IDart-61522

 

Weitere Bücher mit diesen Schlagworten:

Sinatra's liitle book
38,00 € 15,00 €  
40,00 € 30,00 €  
A Year and A Day
50,00 €  
Photographs from 1972 to 1982
50,00 €  
60,00 € 35,00 €  
(English edition)
125,00 €  
(Deutsche Ausgabe)
125,00 €  
Live and Up Close (photos by Gijsbert Hanekroot)
24,95 € 12,95 €  
Fotografin zwischen Krieg und Glamour
45,00 €